We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel, but cabarete didn´t impress”
Review of Hotel Villa Taina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taina
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

really nice and clean hotel, with helpful staff. we got a room with view over a the big road and some roof tops, not so nice, but other rooms had ocean views..
nice restaurants with grill buffet. breakfast wasn´t all that fun, a small buffet with bread, fruits, omelettes etc. the location was really good, in the end of the big road and close to everything...
the bar was really nice with great n funny staff behind, making lovely santo libres.
unfortunaly cabarete wasn´t the place for us. you couldn´t swim because of the big waves and there wasn´t really not much to do. we had rain for 10 days and it wasn´t hot either, but you can´t control the weather...

Room Tip: the buildnings closes to the beach has got the best views and are more quiet than the room in the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0dette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Overall I like the place...great location.

Have the following concerns:

Very uncomfortable bed
Outdated TV
No facial napkin and stuff!
Over Priced
Tiny pool!

Loved the employees and the service!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OohOoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villataina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Taina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

We appreciate your stay with us!
Our room prices range from USD 96,-- for a Standard room to USD 119,-- for a beach front Standard room for two persons including taxes and Breakfast Buffet. We believe that is an excellent value for the location and services we offer.
Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I vacationed to the Dominican in January. We went to Puerto Plata for two days and stayed in Cabarete for 4 or 5. Cabarete was muuuuuuuuuuch better by far. All of the Puerto Plata hotels are all-inclusive, and there is basically nothing to do other than what your hotel offers, and you can't really go to the other hotel attractions. Cabarete is a fun and lively place to stay with lots of great restaurants along the beach. It is not a place that you would want to do all-inclusive because you would miss out on all the great food everywhere else. Hotel Villa Taina was a safe bet for us and affordable. We liked it enough, but it was very basic. For example, just one thin blanket and a sheet. Not all of the nice comforters that you may be used to in the states. We couldn't really figure out the television stations, but really didn't want to watch tv much anyway. It is a fine place for children, but Cabarete isn't really a kid destination. The pool is super tiny, and basically no one uses it. We ate breakfast everyday, and it was always good. The internet service there was not very good. The rooms were clean, and the beds were fine. There is a small safe in the room for valuables. The staff were helpful. The people on the beach selling stuff won't bother you much if you just show that you are not interested.
If you stay in Cabarete try out Mojito Bar...super cheap and great food and drinks. La Casita De Dom Alfredo Papi has amazing food. Try the baby lobster ala papi...I am still dreaming about it. Don't plan to do too much shopping in Cabarete. Oh, if you want to get basics like milk, water, etc go down the beach near El Magnifico and Velero hotels, and you will find Janet's supermarket. They have everything.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midwestgirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband & stayed at the Villa Taina for a quick getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the penthouse room which was a great choice. The room was spacious, had a coffee maker, fridge, tv and had a roof top deck with outdoor shower. We had morning coffee and pre-dinner cocktails outside and it was great. Our rate included breakfast which was the usual hotel buffet assortment with an omelet station cooked to order. The beach chairs/umbrellas were plentiful (off-season) and we did a little windsurfing. The location is great, dinner restaurants just down the beach, but no worries of nighttime party noise. It is a German owned hotel and it feels like a well run, efficient property. The bar by the beach was convenient and friendly & reception was pleasant and helpful. Franz the owner was cheerful and ever present.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in the newer building are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peru-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed in #403 the King Penthouse Suite. There are 3 penthouse suites on the top floor that share a huge deck with loungers, table, outdoor shower, and pretty view. We were the only room in use up there during our stay so it was all ours.The room was clean and very large but not over-the-top fancy. Simple, but nice. Wifi worked perfectly from our room. There is a little safe for valuables. We left a tip early on for the maid and she didn't even take it. The front staff are very nice and helpful. The money exchange at the front desk is fair and competitive. We exchanged $ here the first day, then used the ATM for cash after that. There was an armed guard at the ATM closest to the hotel and also down by Janet's Supermercado. We did not feel unsafe during our trip.

Out the front door is the main street. You will be constantly bothered by locals to come into their shops. It's understandable but very annoying after a few days. There are a few nice shops if you go left then cross the street. Further down is a market to buy water and your own Presidente for your fridge. Presidente at the bar is 100 pesos and you can buy a 6 pack for 250 at the store.

Walking out back of the hotel is a bar, Serenade for dining, volleyball, windsurfers, kite surf school and a great beach. The bar has a good 2 for 1 happy hr from 5-7pm. The food at Serenade was wonderful and fairly priced. There were never many people there but it is great for lunch or dinner. Breakfast there was included in our stay. It never varied and the eggs were dripping with the oil they fry/scramble them in. The coffee was really good.

When the wind is blowing the bay is amazing.... filled with kiters! The venders once again are very annoying and non stop. Just say thank you and they will move on. We did buy a necklace for my son from Lao after getting to know him a bit. We took some kite surfing lessons from LEK just a couple minute walk down the beach but you can also take lessons right next to Taina. There are some scrappy body boards that hotel patrons are free to use. There water is very nice, but the surf gets bigger when the winds pick up in the afternoon.

Walk down the beach to visit the bars and food places. Papi's has wonderful shrimp as you have probably heard. La Casa del Pescador was also very good. Lax was ok. The outdoor atmostphere was cool. They have a tapas happy hr (100 pesos per plate) from 6-7pm. It was good and the servings were big. Jose O'Shays was a great atmosphere but not the cheapest. Next down was Kahuna's-- one of our favorite places to drink. We met interesting, fun people there. It was busy later in the evening and set up like a sports bar. The bartender is an expat from USA and had some great dinner suggestions a little off the beaten path. We did have some meatballs and wings at Kahuna's on our last nite because we were starved and they were really good.

We took the locals transport to Sosua to snorkel with Superior Diving. These vans stop for people on the road and cram you in. It was a fun experience. Don't pay more than 25 pesos per person. That's what everyone pays! Superior Diving was a good outfit.... owned by expats from Texas. They were nice and knowledgeable. We were the only 2 snorkelers on our trip! $30 US per person for one site.

Overall, we really enjoyed Cabarete. It would have been perfectly safe to take our children. If we visit again we would definitely go back to Villa Taina.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We decided to stay in cabarete for an extra night and the hotel we were originally booked in was fully booked. So we ventured in Cabarete to find a room for the night and found villa taina. The staff are very friendly, the service good the location ideal as it is right on the beach and their restaurant bar one of the best places to chil out in the afternoons.

The hotel is quite old...and the rooms could do with a bit of updating.. the swiming pool is very small. if you are looking for a place to stay in cabarete for a long comfortable holiday there are may be nicer places to stay..

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brandychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I have stayed many weekends at this location. The rooms are fine, but the beds are simply unacceptable; small, and roll around.
It is right on the beach, and that makes it ideal for Cabarete.
Besides all the faults, the restaurant is exceptional and the drinks are served well.

I would suggest staying across the street at the Kaoba for half the price and spend your time at the Taino for the drinks and beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skawonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
1.1 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
0.8 km away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
4.9 km away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 19 in Cabarete
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
374 reviews
0.5 km away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
260 reviews
0.7 km away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taina

Address: Apartado Postal 337, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabarete
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $97 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Taina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Cabarete, an intimate tourist destination and windsurfers paradise, you find the OCEAN FRONT Hotel Villa Taina, an exclusive, modern hotel right on the golden beach of Cabarete Bay, which is the site of world famous windsurfing tournaments and the hip kitesurfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Taina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taina Hotel Cabarete
Hotel Villa Taina Cabarete, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing