We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Great operation and team

I signed up for the intro package 1 month in advance. Unfortunately no wind. They returned my... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed March 22, 2024
charleyj767
Excellent

I was extremely impressed with LEK even from the very first e mail correspondence. They were... read more

Reviewed March 14, 2024
Daniel S
Read all 369 reviews
  
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
345
19
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
345
19
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 369 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

really great welcoming and give you trust in yourself for kiteboarding all over the world !!!

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank Bamboo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Laurel and her team are knowledgeable, professional and very friendly, making sitesurfing from scratch an awesome adventure.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank KirstenLM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I spent a week in Cabarete with a group from Washington DC. All six of us who took lessons were more than pleased by the cool vibe and professionalism of this place. Laurel, Miguel, Merijn, and company took great care of us and were patient as we tried our best to learn this challenging sport.

We also rented SUP boards two days and hung out with the rockstar himself-- Peter Pan.

Highly recommend this place for kiting lessons and SUP rentals.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank CroftGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very friendly professional staff. Good restaurant and hangout next door.

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank SteinB190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

It's hard to imagine any other place will make you feel more safe, comfortable, well-equipped and cared for than LEK. She and her staff maintain a very clean and reputable shop that will give you confidence that you are doing things right. The instructors are all certified by the IKO; during my stay I had 3 and they all spoke excellent English. (Many other languages are supported as well). Laurel and the others can set you straight about the area restaurants, too.

LEK is closer to the "center" of cabarete hotels and restaurants than several of the other schools (Google Maps gets it right, take a look) and may be more convenient for you if you are staying on the Cabarete end of town. It's about a 30 minute walk on the beach from Cabarete to Kite Beach where Kitexcite and The Kite Club are located, for example. And staying close by your school is handy for being prepared for changing weather conditions.

Here are a couple of tips for the first-timer:
-cover yourself well with strong sun block. You will be out there for a while, and burning, say, the tops of your feet, will make it uncomfortable on subsequent days to put the board on your feet. So go a little overboard with protection.
-if you have half an hour, sit in LEK's shop and watch the instructional video before beginning.
-be aware that weather can change rapidly; even if a storm stops your session in the afternoon, hang around because you may be able to pick up again after it passes.
-i would recommend changing instructors now and then; a fresh perspective help fill in some gaps
-i would recommend buying a sporty but inexpensive pair of sunglasses and a croaky-type strap to keep them on, at home before coming; this stuff is much cheaper at home. You need sunglasses because you will constantly be looking up, often directly at the sun, to control your kite.

Date of experience: March 2012
1  Thank keithk_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews