We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Laurel Eastman Kiteboarding (LEK)
from US$566.16
More Info
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
297
18
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
297
18
2
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 320 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

During the whole visit I had the same instructor (Wilder). He was patient, friendly and I've learned a lot. Also the rest of the staff was always courteous and helpful and when I was asking to buy a kite incl. board they even offered me a good discount.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank NicolaB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Millenium hotel for 8 days and LEK was the perfect choice for renting kitesurfing gear. Just a few steps from the hotel and a few steps to the water.The conditions were perfect every single day and everyone at LEK was very friendly and helpful. I absolutely recommend it to anyone with wife and/or kids: they can stay at the hotel pool/restaurant while you're out in the water.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank DenisBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a week learning how to kiteboard. The teachers were very professional and we always felt that safety was a priority. And the office staff were really great too.The school was right next to our hotel so we ended up spending a lot of time socializing with the teachers and staff as well. Can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I wanted to learn kiteboarding for quite a while now but never got to it. We originally choose LEK out of all the other schools in Cabarete because we stayed at the Millenium and it seemed so convenient. Great choice! Maxine and Ricardo in the store are very friendly and fun talking to and Merijn, who was my instructor, is the best. He is really good in explaining things, knows a lot and is very patient. I had a lot of fun (swallowing ocean water ) and always felt safe. Another plus for beginners is that - at least to the time of year we went (low season) - the stretch of the LEK beach is way less crowded compared to kite beach. Bottom line: I would go back there in a second for more lessions!

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Dangerous, because of bad equipment. My first day on the water the line to the kite broke(bad equipment) and left me about 150 yards from shore with a “life jacket” that was in fact a big bag of water. (bad equipment) The instructor swam in and I managed to get in, but the life jacket dragged me down. I just made it in. The next day with enough wind, I was given an old seat harness that lacked two straps from the leg straps to the metal bar that holds the kite. I pointed this out and was told to just tighten it around my waist tighter. (BAD Equipment) The force of the bar riding up under my ribs, bruised my ribs, tore stomach muscles and wrenched my back. For the next three days of my vacation I could hardly move. Two weeks later my back still hurts.

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank Roy-In-Transit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEKCabarete, Owner at Laurel Eastman Kiteboarding (LEK), responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Roy-In-Transit,

Thank you for your feedback, please accept our sincerest apologies, we feel terribly upset you didn’t enjoy your kiteboarding, and we are so so sorry. We really care about our students, and their safety and happiness is our main priority.

Moving forward, we will offer a higher volume vest to students who feel more comfortable with extra flotation. Also I have scheduled a company-wide training on tips to finding the best possible harness for every student. At LEK we inspect our school equipment daily, but we take your feedback very seriously, and are working on ways to improve our process.

We hope to see you again in Cabarete and wish you all the best in your kiteboarding and travel adventures. You can always contact us by email: info (at) laureleastman (com). I will also follow up with you via PM/email.

Best regards,

Laurel Eastman
Founder and Director of LEK Kiteboarding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews