We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining at the Hotel Alegria”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed 21 May 2012

After traveling for a few days in the Dominican Republic with my friend Peter, he insisted that we visit the Hotel Alegria for dinner. The ambiance, service and meal were wonderful. The price for it all made it taste and smell even better. That was quite a feat itself because the food was sublime.

Peter and I had the grilled Dorado Fish, which was fresh and flavorful because it had been caught that day. Peter's entree came with mixed vegetables, tomato salsa and mango chutney. I enjoyed the coconut rice and mixed vegetables with my mango chutney. Pete had a couple of Presidente Beers and I had a rum and coke.

The entire meal ended with Mamajuana drinks. This is a home-made brew of mamajuana spices, honey, rum and red wine. It was fabulous and put plenty of wind in your sales.

John, the restaurant manager and Peter Orr the hotel owner-manager were wonderful hosts and I believe I made a couple of friends along my journey. I will definitely travel all the way from Kansas City to eat, drink, laugh and enjoy a tasty slice of life again. It was definitely worth the trip.

Good luck to all and I will see you again real soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillies W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

I came here with four girlfriends for a spring break/bachelorette type trip and it was a great mix of everything we wanted - direct beach access; proximity to restaurants, bars, and nightlife, iand cheap but cute accomodations! John was fantastic and made us feel very welcome. The beach isn't pristine and it was a little cooler and more overcast than we would have liked, but we still managed to get sunburned! This is a hub for kiteboarding/wind surfing but we didn't try it, just drank margartias on the beach and chatted. Overall a very fun vacation.

Room Tip: We loved our huge two bedroom villa, which fit all five of us comfortably. There was a full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimousineBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Areerefter staying next door for three loud leaky days,I moved in to the Alegria.
The owner peter hooked me up.The room was quiet clean and dry.I did the 27
waterfalls on john and valerias recomendation,One of the coolest things ive
done in years.Its a bargain and I highly recomend the hotel Alegria.
ps helloeverybody including Kia the dog.see you in another month

john Weiss port st lucie FL

Room Tip: because of the trees noise levels very low all rooms pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I just returned from a great trip to the DR and stayed (while in Cabarete) at Hotel Alegria. To say that the staff in the bar and restaurant are warm and friendly really does not capture what great hosts actually they are. From the very beginning to the end of the stay, John and Valeria made our time at Alegria (literally just hanging out at the bar and eating at the hotel restaurant) one of the best experiences of our whole trip to the Dominican Republic.

Unbelievable lobster, ice cold post-surfing afternoon beers, local insight, bacon, fresh fruit, eggs, and a fair degree of fun craziness combine to create an environment somewhere between a scene from Cheers, a full moon party in Thailand, and anthesis of a sterile and routine resort experience. Definitely the best approach is to go with the flow, and stay away if you're not up for creative conversation. Also, if you are high (or medium) maintenance, think twice. The hotel is also great -- Peter is a very friendly manager. The room is okay, and the bed was a touch on the hard side, but for the cost and location and interactions with the staff, this is a steal. Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here 7 days in March,2012.Carried our luggage up to 3rd floor as i had a broke foot. Good location.Safe.Owner meet us. very friendly. we had a nice stay.Best grocery store i seen in the 6 weeks i was in D.R..My wife walked everywhere and was quite safe.I limped up to corner and took scooer taxi to center of town.FUN.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIGR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very quiet place!. A little far away to walk to discos at night.
At restaurant the should have a place for smokers.
Staff very gently and helpful.
Clean rooms and hot water.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Location can be an important factor in choosing accomodations in Cabarete. The jurisdiction of Cabarete is 14km long with the town of Cabarete in the center. So many accomodations that are located in Cabarete may be several kilometers from the center of town where the discos and night life are concentrated. Hotel Alegria is located on the beach about 350m from the night life strip in the center of town. There are accomodations closer to the center, but they would not be characterized as quiet places for a good night's sleep. Most of our guests consider that Hotel Alegria has an ideal location. Close to the center, but still quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Not fancy - old furnishings, noisy AC, and small room. BUT...............hot showers! clean room, and really helpful staff. We spent our first night in the DR here and didn't realise what a little gem it was. The WiFi worked nicely, the AC worked well and those hot showers - nothing to be scoffed at in this country. Quiet, easy to walk around, off the sex tourist route in town, reasonably priced food and close to a nice beach. We paid $40/noc for 2 with AC - $35 without. If we return to the DR - this will be a place to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

We are pleased to provide our guests with a range of room options. For the most budget conscious we have the standard rooms which this guest chose where you get the same amenities as in our more upscale rooms in a smaller size and without the view and balconies afforded by our ocean view rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
365 reviews
1.6 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
2.5 km away
Kite Beach Hotel
Kite Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Cabarete
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 19 in Cabarete
135 reviews
0.1 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
381 reviews
240.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Callejon de los Perez s/n | Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $39 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete
Hotel Alegria Cabarete, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing