We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Relaxed Environment”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Hotel Alegria is a very good place to stay in Cabarete. It is the best Hotel in the area in terms of convenience to food, beach access and safety. The edifice it self is in a lush tropical setting and if you get the right room, ocean views in the distance are nice. The owner is a solicitous conscientious dude that will address any needs and concerns his renters may have. The only reason I don't give this place 5 STARS is because the AC goes off erratically due to short circuitry or environmental conditions; but other than that the place is tip top.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2016

When you arrive it looks very sketchy, but usually it's only the first look. At Alegria, unfortunately, it's not! The spiral staircase makes it very difficult to climb with big luggage (board bag).
The whole building is surrounded by big trees, that makes it seem quite nature oriented and "ecologic", whats fine.
The room itself shocked me deeply. The paint on the walls was falling off, the balcony window door wasn't closing properly, the bathroom was having a "dirty" look, even it might have been cleaned.
We found a soap bar from the previous owner (it wouldn't cost too much replace it with a new one).
The fridge was smelly and the bed's mattress wasn't the latest model (hammock style).
The last day Wifi was not working (the day i needed it to check in to the flight etc.) and the staff didn't seem to care much about it - but no Wifi is not the end of the world.

The "gym" is a dirty, rusty machine on the roof top... looks like a torturing tool and the Jaccuzzi is ok, as well as the small terrasse on the roof.

The beach is quite far, as the 3 minutes walk to the beach leads to a really dirty bit of it, where yo have no wish to set up your "camp".

Good point, it is quite and really close to Janet's Supermarket, the best/biggest grocery store in town. in 5-10 minutes walk you're in downtown.

No Parking at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rossihoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

We are sorry the guest was not satisfied with his stay with us. We follow up on all pertinent critiques we see in reviews so as to maintain and improve guest satisfaction. IF the guest found an old soap bar when he checked in that would be an unacceptable aberration.

We prefer that someone booked in an upper floor room store their long surf board in our storage area, but we accede to the guest’s wishes if he wants to take it up the spiral stair case to his room.

The guest was apparently unaware that the hotel has its own entrance to the beach and that a few yards from the entrance is a groomed beach area.

We have not had a gym for many years, and we have now removed the one piece of remaining equipment that caused the guest to critique the “gym”.

We promptly replaced the router that malfunctioned the last day the guest was here and have added an additional broadband line and router.

Parking is on our side street in front of our 24-hour reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

I have something to say in regards to the very unpleasant comment that was written about this location. I was there the same day the supposedly Minerva G was there and said the place was dirty. This person used my family as her excuse to write this bad review. This place is not only clean, very comfortable, but also pet friendly. I will totally recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a good vacation and if i ever have to go to Cabarete this will absolutely be the first place i will think of staying. Thanks to the owner and his staff for a very pleasant place and friendly location.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Babelicious1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the location.
THERE IS NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE..!!!
The there isn't parking lot. The owner Doesn't know anything about customer service.

The owner even Doesn't know What modals are. I'm really disappointment about this place.

When I got inside the room, and went to the bathroom the toilet was dirty and also the sheets of the bed, they were full of sand.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Minerva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Regrettably the reviewer and the seven companions did not appreciate that we do not permit noisy gatherings late at night. The group was only with us one day and had freshly laundered sheets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I was scheduled with my brother for one week at hotel Alegria. Had a windsurfing accident about halfway during my stay. With the help of my brother, Peter Orr the owner came to the rescue site and hospital to make sure that we had the right care from the medical staff in the Dominican Republic. It was way beyond his duties as hotel manager and showed outstanding level of care.

Beside that, the location was optimal for all we had to do, yards from the beach and a grocery store. Prices are a fraction of nearby hotels that are considered beachfront nevertheless not more convenient than Alegria anyway. Peter was also very flexible in terms of adjustments that had to be done.

Room Tip: great for windsurfers, kitesurfers on a lower budget
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank 71raal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Alegria over the Easter weekend, there was a massive stage with music blaring all weekend, we were pleased to be close enough to the action, bars and restaurants but further enough away not to hear it! Very handy having Janet's supermarket a minutes walk away, 4 mins stroll along the beach to the beach restaurants, everything in Cabarete is a Wal away. Rooms were spacious & clean and it was lovely to have the rooms cleaned each day. Highly recommend!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LBD_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

great place close to everything. friendly staff and clean rooms would definitely stay again very clean rooms and no need for air conditioning a constant breeze . for the money you can't go wrong staying here.. we stayed at two other hotels in the area and nothing came close to what we got at Hotel Alegria

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
365 reviews
1.6 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
2.5 km away
Kite Beach Hotel
Kite Beach Hotel
#10 of 19 in Cabarete
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 19 in Cabarete
135 reviews
0.1 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
382 reviews
1.2 km away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Callejon de los Perez s/n | Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $39 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete
Hotel Alegria Cabarete, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing