We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bahia Residence Cabarete(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Velero Beach Resort(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabarete Maravilla Eco Lodge & Beach(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barefoot Beach Pad(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$85
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabarete Surfcamp(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Laguna Beach(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agualina Kite Resort(Cabarete)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
109
62
22
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
62
22
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful long beachhome away from homeair conditioningbang for your bucksmall hotelpetersupermarketnightlifebreezekitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 204 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2010

The atmosphere was great...very laid back. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Adrian, one of the bartenders at the hotel. It is walking distance to all the good beach clubs and has a wonderful top floor outdoor jacuzzi that is perfect after a long night of clubbing or watersports. I highly recommend it for any traveler.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank latintravelerMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My friends and I stayed at this place for about a week. It couldn’t have been a better experience. Safe to say, it's one of the best affordable hotels I've stayed in throughout Latin America. The staff and owners make it a very welcoming atmosphere and if you want to be left alone that's alright as well. And thank God, it’s far away enough from the loud music emanating from the bars but still close to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atleticofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Hotel Alegria was outstanding. The people and service, location, food, rooms and amenities were all superb. Allow me to elaborate.
The owners and staff at Hotel Alegria were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Silvia and Peter, the owners and managers, answered all our questions and gave us contact information for anything we could think of to do. Andre, the bartender, made great drinks and ended up helping us find tickets for a bachata concert in the next town over. Mike, Peter's brother and renaissance man, had a couple beers with us and pointed us in the right direction to some great caves... And Kia, the resident white German Shepard, could possibly be the coolest dog in all of Hispanola.
The restaurant is small and quaint, with delicious food. The breakfast options are varied and all great, I would recommend the french toast. The dinners there were out-of-sight, we decided to eat there almost every night. The shrimp pasta and beef cuts were unreal. Most importantly, the beer was ice cold, it literally had small icicles hanging from the bottoms, perfect.
The location could not have been better for me. Hotel Alegria is right between the main road and the beach (not more than 200 feet), which is perfect because we were protected from the loud noise of traffic from the street and the techno thumping bass beats emanating from the beach bars. Our walk to the market to buy bananas or gin took 30 seconds, and even less to get to the waves and wind of the beach. Its only 3 minutes to the Casino and popular bars.
The rooms each had a bathroom with hot water, small refrigerator, fans and comfortable beds. They were cleaned daily. And most importantly, the rooms were extremely affordable.
My favorite was the rooftop jacuzzi and balcony, built by Mike. The view from the roof is gorgeous and being in the jacuzzi simply puts it over the top. The jacuzzi is well maintained with some serious jets. Though I didn't use it, the rooftop setup also has a nice outdoor gym.
Overall, I truly think Hotel Alegria was the best hotel I've been to outside the States for the price. Everyone who works there is very hospitable, the location perfect, the rooms clean, the rooftop unbeatable, the food excellent and the price is right. What else is does one need or want?

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2010

The staff is friendly and great the chat up at the hotel bar while you relax over a drink at the end of the day. The owners are very helpful; they really go out of their way to extend themselves to their guests, going far beyond the call of duty. The restaurant has beautifully decorated and has the best food for you dollar in Cabarete. I can't tell you how many times we regretted eating somewhere else where we payed twice as much for inferior food. Even if you don't stay at Hotel Alegria, be sure to find the hidden gem of a restaurant!

Stayed: December 2009
Thank jjrachiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Pretty cheap prices for the nice location. No frills at all but if you are looking for a place to sleep and relax after a day at the beach this is really nice. Bring your bug spray as the grounds are tropical and mosquitoes were in the room. Free internet in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2vacation14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews