We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this small, charming, family-run hotel.”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed 16 January 2010

My girlfriend and I went to Hotel Alegria during the "high season" of the week between Christmas and New Year's Eve. Very easy to get to via about a 30 minute cab ride from the Puerto Plata airport. The couple that runs the hotel are very friendly and accommodating ex-pats that will hang out with you at the relaxed but very nice hotel bar/restaurant every night. Made friends easily with other hotel guests due to the friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We were some of the only Americans there (many guests were Canadians and Europeans) which was actually quite refreshing. Hotel Alegria is really affordable too for the location, great service and everything else. We didn't do any of the kite-surfing or wind-surfing activities but never felt out of place.

We stayed in two different rooms both of which were simple but clean and pleasant. The hotel is right on the beach and a 10 minute walk to town, either via the main street or the beach itself. Supermarket Janet right around the corner from the hotel is convenient for water, beer, snacks, etc.

On a small road adjacent to the hotel near Supermarket Janet is a small open-air restaurant (can't remember the name) that serves one of the most amazing pork sandwiches we've ever had in our lives. Went there multiple times it was so good! Also a little further down the road, another small open-air restaurant/bar with great roasted chicken.

Avoid the massage parlor directly across from Hotel Alegria... worst massage ever.

Definitely recommend Alegria over other higher-priced hotels and all-inclusive resorts. Talking to other visitors staying at other places, we always felt like we made the right decision. Would definitely return if we visit Cabarete again.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank vinceneilstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alegria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2010

The atmosphere was great...very laid back. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Adrian, one of the bartenders at the hotel. It is walking distance to all the good beach clubs and has a wonderful top floor outdoor jacuzzi that is perfect after a long night of clubbing or watersports. I highly recommend it for any traveler.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank latintravelerMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My friends and I stayed at this place for about a week. It couldn’t have been a better experience. Safe to say, it's one of the best affordable hotels I've stayed in throughout Latin America. The staff and owners make it a very welcoming atmosphere and if you want to be left alone that's alright as well. And thank God, it’s far away enough from the loud music emanating from the bars but still close to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atleticofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Hotel Alegria was outstanding. The people and service, location, food, rooms and amenities were all superb. Allow me to elaborate.
The owners and staff at Hotel Alegria were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Silvia and Peter, the owners and managers, answered all our questions and gave us contact information for anything we could think of to do. Andre, the bartender, made great drinks and ended up helping us find tickets for a bachata concert in the next town over. Mike, Peter's brother and renaissance man, had a couple beers with us and pointed us in the right direction to some great caves... And Kia, the resident white German Shepard, could possibly be the coolest dog in all of Hispanola.
The restaurant is small and quaint, with delicious food. The breakfast options are varied and all great, I would recommend the french toast. The dinners there were out-of-sight, we decided to eat there almost every night. The shrimp pasta and beef cuts were unreal. Most importantly, the beer was ice cold, it literally had small icicles hanging from the bottoms, perfect.
The location could not have been better for me. Hotel Alegria is right between the main road and the beach (not more than 200 feet), which is perfect because we were protected from the loud noise of traffic from the street and the techno thumping bass beats emanating from the beach bars. Our walk to the market to buy bananas or gin took 30 seconds, and even less to get to the waves and wind of the beach. Its only 3 minutes to the Casino and popular bars.
The rooms each had a bathroom with hot water, small refrigerator, fans and comfortable beds. They were cleaned daily. And most importantly, the rooms were extremely affordable.
My favorite was the rooftop jacuzzi and balcony, built by Mike. The view from the roof is gorgeous and being in the jacuzzi simply puts it over the top. The jacuzzi is well maintained with some serious jets. Though I didn't use it, the rooftop setup also has a nice outdoor gym.
Overall, I truly think Hotel Alegria was the best hotel I've been to outside the States for the price. Everyone who works there is very hospitable, the location perfect, the rooms clean, the rooftop unbeatable, the food excellent and the price is right. What else is does one need or want?

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The staff is friendly and great the chat up at the hotel bar while you relax over a drink at the end of the day. The owners are very helpful; they really go out of their way to extend themselves to their guests, going far beyond the call of duty. The restaurant has beautifully decorated and has the best food for you dollar in Cabarete. I can't tell you how many times we regretted eating somewhere else where we payed twice as much for inferior food. Even if you don't stay at Hotel Alegria, be sure to find the hidden gem of a restaurant!

Stayed: December 2009
Thank jjrachiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Pretty cheap prices for the nice location. No frills at all but if you are looking for a place to sleep and relax after a day at the beach this is really nice. Bring your bug spray as the grounds are tropical and mosquitoes were in the room. Free internet in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2vacation14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I should have written this review sooner. My husband, two twenty something sons and I stayed at the Hotel Alegria for a week in June and had a wonderful time. We are not the all-inclusive type people and wanted a hotel with charm in a location that was convenient and safe. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. As was stated in other reviews, everything worked and the rooms, though basic were large and clean. Definitely get a room with air conditioning in the summer. While you do have a very short walk to towncenter (3-5 minutes) with all the activity and noise you probably wouldn't want to be any closer and with the heat in the summer it wouldn't matter how far you had to walk you would be hot and sweaty by the time you got there. That is the Caribbean in the summer. The housekeeping staff is particularly good. The two women who cleaned our two rooms were wonderful. The owners are very welcoming and the food is good and fairly priced. We ate at the restaurant twice for dinner and twice for breakfast. There are plenty of other restaurants within an easy walk as well. Cabarete is a charming small town. There are plenty of things to do in the area, especially if you are into hiking, nature, etc. Ocean World in Puerta Plata is worth a trip as is Santiago. There is a hot tub and a small gym on the roof of the hotel that we also enjoyed. We all had a wonderful time and my two sons in particular loved the trip. We not only would recommend this hotel to friends, but already have.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 22 in Cabarete
351 reviews
1.6 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
150.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 22 in Cabarete
129 reviews
0.1 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 22 in Cabarete
371 reviews
1.2 km away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 22 in Cabarete
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $37 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete
Hotel Alegria Cabarete, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing