We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Cabarete”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Would you like to stay in a hotel at a couple seconds from the beach, a couple minutes from the center, with a nice tropical garden in the back, super nice people: Joseph, Eveline, Wilson and the owner....not to forget Kia the gard! Well Alegria Hotel is for you. I have stayded 1 month in the studio with the kitchen simply a great time calme relax in the best place you can find CABARETE. If you want to live Cabarete go to ALEGRIA HOTEL if not well....just have a vacation :) Thank you to everybody. for a great time .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rmonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alegria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2010

I stayed in the hotel only for two nights. Room and bathroom was clean, but very small and all equipment was obsolete. Fitness area on the top was rusted. Hotel has good location, but if you are not kite/suft boarding fun, look for different place.
Access to the beach is little unwelcome and depresive.
Breakfast was good. Too much light into the room from the glass wall during night.
The owner was friendly and helped me with information about near by attractions.
We got what we paid for :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zale76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlegriaOwner, Owner at Hotel Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Hotel Alegria has a range of room types from $30 to $90 low season. The 4 standard rooms are the smallest and cheapest, but are fully equiped with cable TV, safe, private bath, wifi access and refrigerator. For the active guests who spend most of their time out on the waves, the beach or the town, and are looking to economize on the room, most agree that our standard rooms are a great value. For those looking for more spacious quarters, a balcony and view of the ocean we also offer a good value, but it costs a bit more, as does a studio with kitchenette or the two bedroom apartment. We do our best to understand what a prospective guest is looking for and recommend the room that will best fit their expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My boyfriend and his family enjoyed our stay at this hotel over the Cabarete jazz festival weekend. Thank you to Michael, Rafael and Ramon and all the staff who made us feel welcome and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms are of an older style, but the gardens are beautiful and the beachside access straight to Cabarete beach is awesome.
Our rooms each had a television, mini fridge and private bathroom with one having air conditioning. The rooftop jacuzzi and seating area was a favourite spot as well.
We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bexstar_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Close to everything but far from road noise
Can access the beach directly or via a shortcut to the beach restaurants to the west.
Supermarket just up the road with an ATM or a Scotiabank ATM a wee bit to the west. Restaurant onsite & more just behind the hotel.

Nice jaccuzi on top of the hotel, good morning coffee spot overlooking the buildings, trees to the beach.
Very nice staff & friendly pets
Decent WiFi speeds

Cabarete has a nice vibe to it...not a resort, it's a community

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank shredder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My wife and I just got back from Cabarete and we had a great time. Staying at Hotel Alegria was definitely one of the reasons. The rooms offer more than enough space and have cabled TV along with a patio. But it was definitely the service that made our stay so memorable. Mike, the maintainer, is super cool and the staff follows his lead. They get you what you want when you want it and they make you feel like nothing is a big deal-perfect attitude. If you go to Cabarete this is the only place you should stay-plus it's conveinently located feet away from a supermarket and Ocean Sands Casino.
As far as thing to do, please go Horseback riding at Rancho Pinto- another family owned business, Yvo and Morena, who set out to show you the best time. We trekked on horses through the woods down to a 60 ft. or so waterfall and then went for a swim and a facial scrub. It was so much fun, yet a little bit adventurous as this was our first time riding horses.

Also hit up Ziplining-it's not as scary as it looks once you're in the air- We did with Yusika company and they were pretty nice and more affordable than the competitors.
As fas as cheap eats hit up restaurante Pallarrada Luis-the food is delisiously bbq'd and the side dishes rock. Anyway please go to cabarete and say hi to Cheap,cheap funnny,funny Peter- he hooked us up on some good souveiners.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominic525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our 10 day trip to Cabarete was fantastic thanks to the folks at Hotel Alegria. Upscale rooms and a great patio restaurant provide an excellent environment for after hours.

We went for the Kiteboarding and had many productive lessons with their staff instructor. My skills improved a lot on this trip and I’m looking forward a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Had a blast,

the owners cool!, say hi to kia the white husky

The staff is super nice, hustled to get me what ever I needed

The crew at the bar/restaurant always had a cold beer waiting for me 
Food was great, im now a big fan of potato pancakes

Joe Seppe the owner of the kite school (water passion) was great, thanks for the kite lessons!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsggsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabarete
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 22 in Cabarete
351 reviews
1.6 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
150.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 22 in Cabarete
129 reviews
0.1 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 22 in Cabarete
371 reviews
1.2 km away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 22 in Cabarete
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Address: Between Velero and Sans Souci, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cabarete
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $37 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located family-run hotel with ideal beach location, ocean-view rooms, studios with kitchenettes, two-bedroom apartment, rooftop terraza with Jacuzzi, 24-hour front desk, great atmosphere and prices. All rooms have refrigerators, cable TV, free safes and free Wi-Fi Internet. Select rooms with A/C. Biggest grocery store in town and bank ATM just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Cabarete
Hotel Alegria Cabarete, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing