We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place as base for adventures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Cabarete
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed there with three generations of family ranging from age 8 to 80. We had three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a couch/living area, kitchen, and large patio which was great! We ate a few times by the pool and charged to our room which was OK, happy hour was really fun-- kids got vigin pina coladas... the pool was small but perfect. Surprisingly laid back feel to the place, no loud music, no screaming kids, just very relaxing for everyone; not at all crowded feeling.
We had a rental van and went on day trips, most days- totally worthwhile. The nearby town of Cabarette seemed great- went there for dinnera couple of times and grocery shopping. Some went horseback riding arranged by hotel, which they enjoyed.
Playa Encuentro was easy to get to for all but the grandparents, who we had to drive down. (10 minute walk in very hot sun was too much)
The water at the beach was quite rough, again, fun for kids who are strong swimmers, but not grandparents.
Only real down side was the noise.
Our bedroom faced the swimming pool and even though we were on the 3rd floor, I woke up often in the night to what sounded like partying and music. Flourescent lights from outside also shown into our room all night but we figured out how to turn them off at the end of the hallway (outside). Stil, it was loud at night- late into the night. Not everyone was affected by it though, since their rooms didn't face the pool area.
Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumad33103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here for two weeks. The rooms are in need of renovation, but still loved the ocean view and staff! Nice country side walk to a wonderful beach. Free shuttle or very cheap local ride to Cabarete or Sosua. Hubby had a great dive with Northern Coast Divers at Sosua.
Food and entertainmant at hotel five stars! Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The people there're your new friends . Just like family they work to make your stay easy and care free . All you have time for are tours and just relaxing .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidmillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My Husband and I were at the Coconut Palms in early Febuary. We had bought a package deal from Living Social called Surf Camp in Cabarete. It was a five days, two meals included with three days of surf lessons.
We had a blast. Surfing was DEFINATLY the highlight. The beach "Playa Encuectro" is a huge surfing beach. Our lessons were from Chino's surf school but all of the five or so surf shops seem to be a friendly co op environment. The beach has a flat rock bottom for the first ten feet or so. It makes for good beginning to intermediate level surfing. But not ideal for sun bathers or children. I am not saying there weren't kids or people on the beach. They were, it is just a very ACTIVE area. If you do want to go to the beach walk the 15 minute road and rent some water socks from the many shops. They would love the business. There is also a tiki bar to grab a beer or food and watch the water.
Cocnut palms was a restful place for our post surf mornings. The air conditioning was great and the pool and rooms were clean. People were so nice and very good service. The food was good, the Dominican buffet on Thursday night was great. And there coffee was FANTASTIC! Yummy. We met wonderful people and surfed with another couple who had bought the same package. I thoght the prices for the drinks were very resonable for the quality. Try the Caparina- Lime suger and rum. Tart and refreshing.
If we had not been surfing we would have been bored. It is not close to town and we did not have a car. Taxi to Cabarete was $500 pesos one way(like $13 american) Cabarete is such a beach tourist town. Very active with tons of walkable shops and resturants. Cabarete beach is a kid and sunbather mecca so you could do taxis there for that type of experience.
We will be back to Cabarete!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MeganHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

After reading the negative reviews, I wasn't expecting much. However, I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed every minute of my stay.

For the people who said there was no hot water; there is a switch on the wall to turn on the heater.

Tiki bar was great to chill and watch local baseball and Victor has tons of great tunes.

Staff were super friendly and very helpful. The guys at the resort took us to the disco is Susua, and took care of us, insuring we returned home safe.

Would love to return to this little resort again.

Don't expect a 5 Star resort but know you will meet great people and have an amazing time.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank UglyGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Imagine what a hip and cool spot looked like circa 1989...Coconut Palms will give you that retro style with all the kindness you can possibly take. Judy who runs the hotel is always accessible, always curious what you think of your stay- the folks who work there have spent their adult lives employed at the Coconut Palm Hotel which says tons about the way employees are treated.
The rooms are simple and clean clean clean. They offer nothing special just a clean place to lay your head or hang out.
Noise: there is a bit of that. all the rooms circle the pool and bar and restaurant. so the place can get a bit lively but everything seems to quiet doen by 11pm.
Clientele: 50+ Canadian and Upstate NY folk, timesharers, working class or younger but not in the expendable money category.
It was a great place to start our trip, we had a combo pack with surf lessons from Chino's Surf School-this is a must! If you can read this, walk a little, then get on that surf board and let Chino's Surf School teach you the rest!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teisterschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Be sure to ask for a thrid floor room. The views of the ocean from the balacony are great. The pool was cold. Surprising because the ocean was like bath water. This is a very laid back resort with little activities. To really enjoy the area I would recommend renting a car (Just don't drive in Santo Domingo). The beach was a hike from the resort and the town was a couple of miles.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
3.7 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
5.3 km away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
0.2 km away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#5 of 19 in Cabarete
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
376 reviews
4 km away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,605 reviews
4.3 km away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Vista del Caribe, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range: $141 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Cabarete
Coconut Palms Cabarete
Coconut Palms Resort Cabarete, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing