We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22,911)
Filter reviews
22,911 results
Traveller rating
15,812
4,577
1,539
567
416
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15,812
4,577
1,539
567
416
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elegance club sea and see sea restaurant limited gourmand flavors buffet butler arling punta cana french restaurant club section bali beds funjestic team our honeymoon pool bar swim up suite michael jackson show club members sushi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8,950 - 8,955 of 22,911 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Majestic Elegance in Punta Cana was a beautiful resort from top to bottom. The endless swimming pools and beautiful palm trees lined the entire resort. Their customer service was excellent from bartenders, to waiters, and of course our Butler Arling was extremely personable and helpful with dinner reservations, spa appointments, and golf tee times. His recommendations helped navigate the large resort brilliantly. The beach was not as large as some of the other resorts, but they made up for it by providing plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas for all (other resorts appeared to be way over crowded). Overall, the food was good and there was plenty of variety for all tastes. Enjoyed Lobster at several meals, but was somewhat disappointed in the quality of the steakhouse (only disappointing meal). Also very nice that there was no shortage of Top Shelf Liquor. I would certainly recommend this resort to anyone and hope to return soon!

Room tip: I would recommend the Majestic Elegance Club which includes a pool area for adults only and enough cabana beds for all - worth the price!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Elegance Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear Bryan C.,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana as a preferred vacation destination. It pleases us to learn that you had a great time during your stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our food and the outstanding service provided by our staff.

Thank you for your compliments towards the helpfulness and dedication demonstrated by Arling, your butler.

We will be glad to welcome you again in the near future,
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Stayed over Christmas week - I guess the busiest time of the year.
It's not a 5-star resort, but a solid 4, taking everything into account.

Grounds - 4. A nice place, with some native touch.

Beach - 5. lot of space, no issues with recliners or towels, NO kids/noise/music in adult-only section (enforced). Haven't seen any weed.

Pool - 5. Adult-only section was just perfect even on the busiest week of the year.

Room - 4. We stayed at Elegance Club adult only) 100 sq.m. room with 2 Jacuzzi (indoor/outdoor).
The main problem with the floor plan was that there's no door between bedroom and a toilet area. Never seen anything like this. It was not a big issue with just 2 people, but I can't imaging how to deal with it if you have kids or more adults.

Cleaning - 4. One day they didn't clean by unknown reason.

Service - 4. Mostly good, haven't noticed any real difference from Cancun (unlike some people posted here).

Food - 4. It was the best food in all all-inclusive resorts with comparable $$ we've been so far. Cancun is trailing behind.
The only significant issue was dessert (nice looking, but no that good on taste), but it's kind of a general problem we've seen everywhere there.

Booze - 5. Very good selection of $30-40 spirit (Stoli, Finlandia, Grey Goose, Remy Martin VSOP, ...), and decent barmen in the central bar - martini and cosmo were well balanced there. We've also got 2 bottles of sparkling wine in the room over the week. The house wine was decent enough too (European mix).

Wi-Fi - 4. Not very fast, but reliable, and even available at the pool and some spots of the beach.

Tennis - 4. We played every day - they have 4 courts total and equipment if you need.
Courts are in different shape, with some issues (mostly pools of water after nightly rain), but playable for most players.
Local pro (Yohalis, see picture) was pretty good for our level, so we took some drills with him (moderately priced too).

Entertainment - 3?. 2 local cover bands were decent, nothing much else. But I think it's kind of the same everywhere except Cancun Hotelera zone.
Kids have 2 water parks, and some activities in the main pool (adults too), but we haven't seen that much from the adult-only area (good!).

Overall it was a very nice stay, and we possible will be back someday.

p.s. - they are currently building the 3rd section there (Mirage?) to be open for 2016 winter season. Will see.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Peterhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Elegance Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2016

Dear Peterhoff,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana as a preferred vacation destination. It pleases us to learn that you had a great time during your stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our food and the outstanding service provided by our staff.

Thank you for your compliments towards the helpfulness and dedication demonstrated by Yohalis.

We will be glad to welcome you again in the near future,
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Our decision to choose Majestic Elegance Club to spend our New Years celebrations was due to reviews we read on Trip Advisor and so off we went with high expectations. We would normally choose an Adults Only Resort, however, given the reviews that we read about the Elegance Club upgrade we thought why not!

ARRIVAL
We arrived at the Majestic Elegance lobby and was provided a cold towel, a refreshing house drink called 'Majestic' and escorted a few feet from the main reception desk to a room for the Elegance Club members. We were asked to have a seat at the table, offered a small selection of snacks and asked to fill out a small form. We waited 30 mins until someone approached us to take us to our room. We booked an Elegance Club Jr Suite with Jacuzzi...what we got was a dark room facing construction and construction workers! Quite disappointing as we paid extra $$ to upgrade to this room type when we booked. We told our Butler and was told he could not do anything as the resort was fully booked. After he left we called the Club check-in to request a room change and was told to come back tomorrow and try again. So as soon as they opened the next day we walked over to the Club desk and requested a change to the Ella building far away from the construction area. Thankfully they accommodated our request at no extra charge but if we had to stay in the old room I would not have been able to open the drapes as there were construction workers across the laneway on the same level as the room! And this will probably go on until 2017 as this is the expected completion date of the new resort.

ELEGANCE CLUB LOUNGE
Once we settled into our new room on the Ella building, our vacation officially started! If you are looking for quiet space, I recommend choosing this building as it is the farthest away from the construction site and the pool is a lot quieter and cleaner than the other Club building 'Elle' on the other side. There is also an Elegance Club Lounge (2 floors) on both the Ella and Elle buildings, however, the quality and cleanliness was better in the Ella building. These 2 lounge areas offered light breakfast, light lunch and snacks which we used for days when we didn't want to deal with the buffet crowds.

DINING
This resort offers the typical International Buffet restaurant for all guests and for Elegance Club members, you can use the Italian restaurant for a quieter setting, an A La Carte menu or use an entrance to the shared buffet area. We, however, enjoyed breakfast and lunch at the See & Sea outdoor restaurant overlooking the beach. Depending on what time you go, it does get quite busy and they seem to have some issues with flies especially when they serve seafood! You just need to be careful in your food selection but it had a lot of variety and it offered freshly grilled meats and seafood, made to order pasta along with the typical hamburgers, hotdogs and wraps.

We were, however, disappointed in the A La Carte restaurants in the quality and flavour of the food. In fact, when we went to a few of the restaurants, we ended up in the Flavours Buffet restaurant after our meal and even saw other families from the A La Cartes in the Buffet restaurant sitting beside us!! The Japanese restaurant was the typical Tepanyaki style cooking that one would encounter at an All Inclusive.

NIGHTLY SHOWS
Prior to the nightly 10:00 show that starts with a Pre-Show at 9:30, there is normally a live house band that starts at 8:00 outside the Flavours Buffet restaurant. This was quite entertaining! We certainly appreciated the effort that went into putting on the nightly entertainment with different performances every night. We enjoyed the Circus and the Michael Jackson shows. Other nights were filled with Guest Karaoke, Newlywed/Couple type games and a Rock Show.

BEACH
There were certainly enough chairs to go around in the beach areas, both in the Elegance Club section and the regular sections and no need to reserve unless you are looking for specific locations. We stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Ambar 2 years ago which was the resort next to the Majestic Elegance and found the the beach area at Majestic a lot busier. We thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable Bali beds on the beach and pool area at the Elegance Club section!

Overall, if you are looking for an Adults Only vacation, choose a different resort! Unlike other Adults Only All Inclusive resorts we stayed at in Dominican Republic, there are no dedicated restaurants in the Majestic Elegance Club catering to Adults Only. The Limited Gourmand allowed children 12 years and older in this restaurant which was the closest to an Adults Only experience.

While this resort may not have been particularly suited for us in what we look for in an Adults Only vacation, there seemed to be a number of large families that visit this resort on a regular basis and they looked like they were having a ton of fun especially with the Animation Crew. There are a ton of activities available for kids and teens on a daily basis. In our opinion, the best part of this resort was the Bali beds, the Club Lounge and the Beach!

Hopefully someone finds this review helpful!

Room tip: Rooms on the Ella building facing the pool are the best rooms in the Resort for Elegance Club members.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank firehorse88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Elegance Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear firehorse88,

First of all, thank you so much for selecting Majestic Elegance Punta Cana for your vacations. We regret that the hotel did not fit your needs. In any case, we would like to thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your opinion in tripadvisor.

We will be delighted to attend you in future if you give us a second opportunity. We would like to see you again in our hotel Majestic Elegance Punta Cana as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I went over New Years with friends. We had a great time. The weather was beautiful, the beach was peaceful and the people watching was great. Arling was the Butler for our room and he was a real pro - took great care of us and we loved talking with him. The spa was fantastic; we had an amazing massage there. The food wasn't exactly top of the line - the steakhouse was bad - but there was enough good food there to keep me full and happy. The lunch buffet at the seafood restaurant was my favorite. The Japanese steakhouse was also really good.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank Tighe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Elegance Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear Tighe G.,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Elegance Punta Cana as a preferred vacation destination. It pleases us to learn that you had a great time during your stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our food and the outstanding service provided by our staff.

Thank you for your compliments towards the helpfulness and dedication demonstrated by Arling, your butler.

We will be glad to welcome you again in the near future,
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Took the family here for the week after Christmas. The atmosphere, rooms and food were all pretty good. The staff was excellent, very friendly and go out of their way to help. There was usually a show or something to do each night so if you're open to trying new things it's a good place to go. The food was good, sort of like higher end cafeteria food. One thing to note is that there is nothing in Punta Cana besides the resorts so you should really like the beach, pool and whatever the resort has to offer. Going offsite for excursions or things to do is very hit or miss, and the hotel doesn't have notebooks or guides that tell you what you can do at the beach or otherwise. Up to you to know that before you get there or find it using your room wifi

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssvmi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Elegance Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear ssvmi91,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Majestic Elegance Punta Cana. We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort. We hope to see you here at Majestic Elegance Punta Cana in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews