We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
45 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$483
View deal
Iberostar.com
US$377
View deal
Destinia.com
US$278
View deal
Booking.comUS$483
TravelocityUS$483
Hotels.comUS$483
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13,031)
Filter reviews
13,031 results
Traveller rating
10,844
1,536
428
143
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10,844
1,536
428
143
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf and turf boom boom star friends lobster dinner reservations cigar bar butler service star prestige pool bar our honeymoon other resorts specialty restaurants lunch buffet bubble bath all inclusive resort pina colada rose petals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4,539 - 4,544 of 13,031 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Came here for my graduation trip and had an amazing vacation! This was my first trip out of the country and had an awesome experience. Our butlers Felix and Oscar were amazing and did everything from drawing us a bath to making dinner reservations to reserving pool cabanas and everything in beween!!Iberostar Grand Bavaro was a wonderful resort and would love to come back!!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank hannahcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and the entire staff of IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bávaro we thank you for choosing us for your holidays.

You cannot imagine how happy we are to know that your first trip outside of your country was truly amazing.

Thank you so much for highlighting the beautiful details of your stay and for recommend our site to all the travelers who are seeking for a unique experience in the Caribbean.

Our doors are wide open waiting for your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016

My new husband and I just stayed at the Iberostar for a week for our honeymoon, and it couldn't have been better! The resort was gorgeous, and the staff were wonderful. They all seemed to know it was our honeymoon, and made a point to treat us extra specially. This was an awesome experience, and my husband (who typically hates travelling) is already wanting to plan our next trip back!

ROOM/BUTLER------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We brought a copy of our marriage license and wedding program, so they gave us a free upgrade and had rose petals on our bed every night! Our room was a little warm even when we had the air as cold as possible, but every resort I've been to in the Caribbean or Mexico is always a bit warm compared to how cool we keep it at home. We had a two-person Jacuzzi tub that overlooked the pool/ocean, and they had bath salts in the room for us. There was also a marble waterfall shower, double sinks, robes, and slippers for us.

We had several different butlers assist us throughout the week. The one that helped us during the tail end of the week was the best. The one at the beginning promised to customize our mini bar, but never followed through. It wasn't a big deal, but it would have been a nice touch.

FOOD--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Out of all the all-inclusive resorts I've ever stayed at, this had the best food by far. We had a reservation at the specialty restaurants 6 of the 7 nights we were there (we had an excursion one evening), and loved them. Our travel agent sent our reservations to the hotel before our arrival and confirmed them 5 days before we got there, so we were able to get all of the reservations and times we wanted. I would highly recommend doing this if you want the specialty restaurants, although the dinner buffet is awesome too! It has fresh seafood (including lobster!) and steak cooked to order!!

The buffet had something different at lunch each day and they also had a snack bar. One thing to note about the food is that it has an international flair, and the restaurants are more gourmet. The Dominican Republic also isn't Mexico, so you're not going to have Mexican food unless they are having a Mexican night at the buffet. If you are looking for down-home cooking, burgers, fries, etc., you won't find that here. Some people were complaining that they didn't like the food because they don't like seafood or it was too "fancy"; we loved it!

POOL AND BEACH----------------------------------------------------------------
Gorgeous. Plenty of chairs, shaded cabanas, and people serving drinks. We brought plenty of dollar bills to tip the waiters, but we were told this was optional. We were able to buy a pool float in the gift shop for $30, and they have a pump at the pool house. A nice touch is that they have free sunscreen at the pool house if you run out.

ENTERTAINMENT--------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are nightly shows in the theater at 10pm by the Star Friends - these are quality performances with beautiful costumes and talented performers! It's held in a lounge setting with waitresses that bring you drinks. Then, the singers continue and you can dance to the live music afterwards. Lots of fun!

During the day, there are all sorts of activities going on. There are tons of fitness classes, dance classes, etc. We took a Meringue dance class by the pool and an Aquafit aerobics class, and both were great! We also played bingo by the pool in the afternoons, and my husband won a shirt and a hat!!

You can also go to the other Iberostar properties for their shows, and one of the other properties has a Casino. We went over there and it wasn't very impressive. Our Apple vacations lady told us that the Casino isn't affiliated with Iberostar and actually warned us to stick to the slots, so we did. However, there was a live performance of the Lion King going on, and then there was Salsa and Meringue dancing, so it was worth the trip over there!

SPA--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had a massage on the beach by Reikki (?), the German guy who I think is in charge. It was awesome and it was reasonably priced, which you usually don't see in resorts.

Overall, this is the perfect place for a grown-ups only vacation. It's so relaxing and romantic!

Room tip: Higher floors are warmer; heat rises. But they have better views!
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexi62269
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

I've been to many places in the Caribbean this resort Does it right!! The staff the food the grounds were all very nice and exceeded my expectation. I would definitely go back. I spent eight nights ocean view room had no complaints whatsoever!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank markbO1403MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and the entire staff of IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bávaro we thank you for choosing us for your holidays.

Your kind words make us happy since we do all sorts of efforts to make our place be a beautiful paradise.

Once again, thank you and our entire time is waiting for your next visit. We remain at your disposal in case you need assistance with the next booking.

Best regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Loved out stay at Iberostar Bavaro Grand. Worth every penny!!! The buffet is as good as the alacarte. Don't drink too much mamajuana though! Beach staff are great as are the butlers. As a matter of fact, we had nothing but great service all week. Oh and not a drop of rain!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and the entire team of IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bávaro we thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant experience and the trip worthed the money you paid.

Once again, thanks for your valuable review and we all hope see you soon.

Warmest regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Simply the Best! I cannot say it any different. This is our second stay at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro. There are loads of excellent ratings and reports about the hotel and the beach area. But what would that all be without the people working here? It is that very special and unique joy of living of the Dominican people which makes a vacation so wonderful on this piece of earth paradise. This is our 7th trip to Bavaro Beach and as said our second time in the Iberostar Grand Hotel. And this time I want to point out the people, the people who made our stay unforgettable again. Thank you Melvin for your "check-in ceremony" finding the best room for us. Thank you to the complete service team in all the restaurants, who seems to be there "around the clock" - always smiling, always professional, always in the mood for personal interaction. Thank you Felima for "Senor Ralf"! Thank you Belkis for "Mi amor". Thank you Johnny for the "morning handshake" (is it too strong then you are too weak? Lol). Thank you Milciares for "our Champagne rosado"! Thank you to ALL of you in service, I could not remember all your names - please forgive me! Thank you to the team in the back, the kitchen, the chefs for the excellent food! I could definately taste the smile in the breakfast eggs and the morning pancakes! Thank you Boom-Boom, our personal butler, for being right there when we broke our key card! Thank you Carlos for bringing fresh drinking water for us to the beach endlessly! Thank you Lucy for the phantastic flower/towel arrangements in our room! Thank you Ladies in the Lobby Bar for remembering "dos Mama Juana con hielo a dos agua" right from the very first evening! Thank you Music Team, Band, Singers and Dancers for professional and amusing entertainment! Thank you Ariel, you are an awesome singer! Thank you Natasha for your very inspiring Yoga lessons! Thank you Towel HouseTeam for our daily "cuatro"! And Thank you to the Entertainment team: Maria, Lucero, Didi, Nyara, Ricardo, Henry, Armando, Jason, Mr Mambo! You are all special! Thanks for dancing with us, cheering us up, laughing with us and for our daily relaxation (massage from Nyara, Didi, Lucero - kisses!)! And lastly Thank you to the Guest Relation Team who made our 35th wedding anniversary day so special! Please forward these lines and our heartful thanks too all your staff! We will be back next year! But there is one more Thank you to say: Heidi and Rene, thank you for being with us again, for making our stay special and precious!
Brigitte and Ralf Eyertt, June 8 to 22, room 7209

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BiggiEyertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and the entire staff of IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bávaro we thank you for choosing us for your holidays.

We are so happy to know that we have ensured a wonderful and memorable 35th anniversary in our beautiful property.

Thank so much for your kindness to taking part of your time to sharing your thoughts, we have shared your comment with those you mentioned and congratulated them for their efforts to making the stay of our guests comfortable and memorable.

Once again, thank you for your valuable rating and our entire time hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews