We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,798)
Filter reviews
10,798 results
Traveller rating
6,920
2,476
848
346
208
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,920
2,476
848
346
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jambalaya la dorada cajun restaurant star friends specialty restaurants steak dominican republic main buffet swim up bar dressel divers star rock cafe other resorts bottled water seafood apple vacations got sick ate at the japanese
Filter
Updating list...
1,446 - 1,451 of 10,798 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

We saved for a year to take a winter getaway and had never been to Punta Cana. Iberostar was recommended by a friend and she was totally right.

Things we loved!
-we stayed in the junior suite (2501)and it was great, good space and the outdoor deck area was where we hung out anytime we were in our room
-food! Great variety in the buffet and all 3 a la cartes we went to were awesome (jambalaya, steakhouse and seafood restaurant) we also ordered room service a couple of evenings for late snacks and that was super too, the star cafe serves great coffee as well!
-beautiful gardens, landscaping, it is a beautiful resort
-THE BEACH- we went to the beach at some point everyday and could always find chairs and shade umbrellas, my son snorkelled everyday and always found fish to see in the water right off the beach
-golf! One of the reasons we picked this resort was because of the golf course and it was totally worth it, great course for 2 days of golfing
-the service, staff were so kind and would jump to help with anything you needed, and so friendly!

People we need to acknowledge!
-Juana took care of our room, she was lovely, always made sure we had extra towels and that our room was spic and span, she was just so sweet, especially to my son
- Wander was our concierge. So helpful with us with questions, provide directions and suggestions and booked all of our reservations for restaurants, we recommend him highly!
-Johann was our waiter at the el dorado (seafood restaurant) and was fantastic - so sweet! He was our favourite of all waiters!
-Hugo was also very helpful as a concierge, he assisted when Wander was not available so we always had help if needed

We also enjoyed the nightly entertainment and the pool. My son was a huge fan of the donut station and the ice cream bar too!

Overall I would recommend this resort highly for families,especially if you like to golf. It was a great mixture of quiet and activity and we felt spoiled for the entire 8 days! Thank you Iberostar Bavaro for a wonderful family trip that we will never forget!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Krista P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager DR. at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2016

Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting a review about your recent experience at IBEROSTAR Bavaro Suites.

OVER EXCEEDED ANY AND ALL EXPECTATIONS, this title has put me in a big challenge of what do I have to write back, believe me, it has left me speechless, nothing is more exciting than reading a review like this, it shows exactly that what we do every day is being noticed, this is the result of making a job with passion and committed to only one thing, YOU.

Please receive our most sincere gratitude for such a great review; we cannot thank you enough for bringing your recent experience to our attention.
I am sharing your comments with all the staff and management, so they can be aware that their job is giving positives results in our guest’s satisfaction.

We will remain at your disposal should you need further assistance for your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016

We've just returned from our stay in Iberostar Bavaro and we are very happy with our experience. We were first staying at Iberostar Punta Cana (just next to Bavaro) and were so unhappy with the experience we decided to move to Iberostar Bavaro.
Bavaro: The hotel grounds are beautiful, clean and well maintained, the staff is friendly and very helpful, the beach and the pool are clean and not too crowded (as for example in Iberostar Punta Cana), - our kids especially loved the pirate ship pool. The rooms are cosy and the maids do a great job at keeping them clean as well as leaving a small chocolate in the evening, which is nice. The food is great and plenty to choose from, we had no problems whatsoever with any of us getting sick. All in all it is a great, 5-star experience, and we would recommend it to families and travelers who are looking for a bit of pampering and relaxation.
As for Iberostar Punta Cana in which we were accommodated first- I must say we were very disappointed- having stayed in Iberostar 5-star hotel before, this was nothing like it, it was too crowded, the staff were not nearly as attentive as one would expect (my husband tried to arrange a bouquet of flowers for my birthday two days in advance and they didn't manage!), also what bothered us were other guests- it is fine if you don't mind loud and occasionally rude people, but if you are looking for peace and relaxation this is not the place to go. The rooms, hotel grounds and food are otherwise good.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager DR. at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience at Iberostar Bavaro Suites.

First of all we would like to thank you for the excellent rating you gave us, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about the hotel’s facilities, the pool, beach, gardens and immaculate rooms! It is a great pleasure to read your positive comments and we really appreciate your kind words.
On the other hand, may I take this opportunity to reassure you that IBEROSTAR the brand always strive to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service, and as a matter of fact, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and frustration you have experienced in IBEROSTAR Punta Cana. Please rest assured that I have also personally looked into all the areas and discussed your valuable feedback and concerns with the management team in order to apply the corrective measures that will avoid ever repeating this experience.

We will remain at your entire disposal should you need further assistance of any kind.
Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016

It feels like you are bothering the staff. They speak English when convenient for themselves but loose their skills when you ask a question. It all inclusive but they do have captain Morgan's spiced rum. The two bars at the pool ran out of vodka at 11:30am and we're not going to restock today. Rooms are clean but need updated. Not electrical outlets near the bed. The clock radio had a frayed cord partially taped together behind the mattress a definite fire hazard. We stayed at a great iberostar property in Mexico this one does not even come close. We won't be back.

Room tip: Go to Mexico
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jgc226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager DR. at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Bavaro Suites for your holidays. On behalf of Mr. Pedro Morales, Hotel Manager, we also thank you for taking time to post a review.

While I was reading your comment it seems like I was in the wrong hotel, the way you describe your stay is far from our principles and standards, we are sorry to hear that our staff service did not exceed your expectations, we are always willing to help and ensure an excellent service to all our guests, however, I will share your comments with our management so they can verify what went wrong that this service did not go beyond your expectations.

we hope that you can reconsider your thoughts about our hotel so you can be able to give us another try where we will show you the improvements, so please, should you decide to come back, we are at your entire disposal to assist, if this is so, do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely yours,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2016

This was our first time at iberostar bavaro, and we only had a few minor complaints this time. (If you want to read a horrible experience from a different resort, see one of my posts from last year....yikes!)
This resort was clean, the staff was happy and friendly, and the size of the resort was adequate. Keep in mind that there are 4 iberostar resorts, right next to each other. Iberostar bavaro suites is next to the top.
We checked in very late, and they got us to our room promptly. The safe was in working order, the mini fridge was stocked with beverages, and the room was clean and ready for us. Though, we were told we could order room service at that hour, but it never showed up. At that point, we were too exhausted to stay awake any longer, so we just went to bed.
We made dinner reservations the next day for the week. One of the restaurants that was in our resort was booked, so we took one in the lower resort, Dominicana. Don't bother with the seafood restaurant, it was quite disappointing, and we all went to bed hungry.
The food here is not gourmet, let's face it. It is not Paris or Florence, so if you want upscale, master chef prepared meals.....don't go to the Dominican.
However, this resort has a nice, friendly, happy spirited staff who say hello, greet you with a smile, and overall seem to like their jobs. The last resort we stayed at, you would have thought we were asking for an organ transplant!
The drinks were watered down, but I'm not the 21 year old that I used to be.
One complaint is the smoking....there were not many places designated for just smokers, which is concerning for us non-smokers. They should think about having more ashtrays, trash receptacles, and smoking signs in places, particularly on the beach and near the pool. It's really gross to keep walking in cigarette butts in the sand all day. People just seem to throw them in the sand, which is quite disgusting.
We would book here again because the service was good and the place was clean, and the food was better than other places, so you have to take what you can get.
The water is warm and lovely, the pool was kept clean, the kids were at a minimum, or at least they were not too overwhelming for us to tolerate. The wi-fi could be better, but it was free, and I was not on vacation to check my emails or Facebook every 5 minutes.
We travel quite a bit, and for me to acknowledge that we would rebook a resort says a lot for us.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josie1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager DR. at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Bavaro Suites for your deserved vacations and for reaching out to us posting a review.

I am positively shocked reading your outstanding comments about our property, we love hearing all of this positive feedback; it looks like the whole team was able to take care of you during your stay and was able to succeed in exceeding your expectation it so pleasant to hear when our team is able to go beyond expectations.

However, you have been very explicit in your comments and giving us the opportunity to take the weak points as learning experience to make improvements, and please accept our deepest apology for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you again for this outstanding review and the rating you give us.

We are looking forward to your next visit to our hotel, I will remain at your disposal should you need further assistance.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2016

We had a great vacation. Weather was perfect. Beach is gorgeous. Staff was great. Rooms were lovely. Lots of shaded areas at the beach and pool. Would not recommend beach for small children. Water gets deep really fast and very strong undertow. Food is a little bland. Could only get reservations at specialty restaurants 3 nights even though they were not even one quarter full. Buffets were very good. There is no adult only pool and floats were not provided.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank lesmoore15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager DR. at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel Manager, Mr. Pedro Morales, we would like thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for posting a review about your recent experience at IBEROSTAR Bavaro Suites

Thank you for your nice words about the beauty of our installations, comfortable rooms, premises and for highlights our gastronomy and overall service.

Thank you for your comments in regard of our wonderful staff, and how good our installations and premises are.

The reason why we leave a percent empty of the restaurants a la carte is because we keep these seating free for the next turn and do not need to annoy the other clients for finish their dinner. We are sorry this could be a problem during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you again really soon, once again THANK YOU!

Quality Manager.
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews