We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14,265)
Filter reviews
14,265 results
Traveller rating
7,681
3,795
1,539
690
560
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,681
3,795
1,539
690
560
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike's coffee super juan juan ramon bowling alley privilege section lobby bar punta cana entertainment staff time share main buffet honeymoon suite other resorts dominican republic buffet restaurant pool view steak guest services
Filter
Updating list...
2,591 - 2,596 of 14,265 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2015

We returned from Ocean Blue and Sand last week after getting married out there. And I have to say it was beyond our wildest dreams!!
Before going I had my reservations after reading some of the comments on here! So when we arrived at the airport we had no idea what to expect.
From the moment we got off the plane we were continuously wowed at every stop. We had a short coach journey to the resort where we were met with a welcome cocktail whilst checking into our rooms at reception. We were a group of 20 people ranging from infants to 70. When we were shown to our rooms there had been a bit of a mess up as in our childrens room only had 1 bed, whilst we had booked a twin room so we called at reception and without any fuss it was arranged that we would swap room the next day as well as ours.
Our first evening was spent unpacking and having a peek around the resort to see what was what. The one thing we noticed was how friendly and willing to go beyond their duties the staff were.
The next morning we met our Thompsons reps Monica and Julian where they gave us a pleasant chat about the resort and the different excursions on offer. They also warned us of the cocktails especially anything with coconut milk in as this can affect toilet habbits! So to all the complainers on here blaming the food! get real! if you don't listen then don't complain!
The resort was stunning 2 swimming pools one quieter than the other both with swim up bar. More than enough sunbeds for everyone unlike what people are saying on here. Everywhere was extremely clean especially the rooms! And as for the comment on here that block 9 was dirty and just for the british, what a loads of rubbish we were moved from block 9 to block 8 and both blocks were A1. The rooms were comfortable and simplistic but had everything that was needed. Surely when you go somewhere like this on vacation a room is to sleep, wash and relax in hence simple and clean is perfect. The cleaners were polite and did more than enough, whenever we required clean towels they were there. Our fridge was refilled regularily, what more could we want!
Our experience of the Buffets and restaurants were very enjoyable, the buffets had a great range of delicious foods that changed theme on a daily basis. There was something there for everyone. The restaraunts such as Steakhouse, Mexican, Italian, Route 66 and Japanese were open most nights, where although busy you just had a short wait for a table to become available. The steakhouse and Mexican were something special. Some of our guests had special dietary requirements and from day one were taken care of as VIPs being chaperoned around!
I was expecting to be harassed by staff in gold coats trying to talk us into upgrading or buying timeshares as so many have complained about on here, but in truth this is a myth.
We did take part in several excursions whilst we were here from Parasailing to Snuba diving, horseriding to the Outback Safari which I have to say if you get the opportunity to take part in and if your lucky enough to have George as your guide then your in for a awesome treat! This trip is a must! And huge value for money! And how can we forget the driver Yuma! A visit to Hard Rock Café and the local designer shops is a must also.
All in all the resort and the excursions helped make this a great holiday, but what was to come was even greater. Our wedding organiser Yinette sat down with us and talked us through our arrangements for our wedding in the Gazebo on the beach whilst Franklin our photographer also talked us through the order of the day. The day itself was mesmerizing, Yinette gave us the perfect day and as for Franklin wow his Photos blew us away. The place, the staff and the atmosphere gave us and our guests an unforgettable experience.
I could babble on for ever about how great this place is but I don't want to send you to sleep.

For all the poor comments ive read on here, I'm sure many are genuine as you cant please everyone however when you make a complaint and it is dealt with promptly then what more do you expect. If you want to walk round being miserable and constantly whinging and treating the staff like doormats then maybe you should have stayed home, and as for the Chavs that walked round as if they owned the place treating staff as servants maybe you got on the wrong plane you should have boarded the Magaluf plane or better still outermongolia! At times I was ashamed to be British the way some people behaved and talked down to staff.
Something that gets overlooked is the grooming of the gardens and the upkeep of the grounds, there are many workers that sweat all day to keep it this way I take my hat off to you all!
I would like to finish by saying the staff were the most amazing, kind hearted sincere people you could possible meet and to name a few Darling, Jose Luis, Gabriel, Domingo, Miguel, Elvin and many more, you will always be in our hearts. These people take pride in the service they give and love every breath of life.

I fell in love with the country and I fell in love with the people. Thank you Ocean Blue and Sand for giving my wife and I one of the greatest experiences of our lives! And also thankyou Julian from Thompsons, you are an amazing guy and i feel like i have a friend for life. We shall be back! xxx

Room Tip: Pool side room Great View!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank NickyFF2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2015

Dear Mr. / Mrs.

Thank you for choosing us! and for sharing those comments in regards to your stay with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our property and your comments about Darling, Jose Luis, Gabriel, Domingo, Miguel, Elvin will definitely will go to them.

You hope to see you soon in our Hotel.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Kudos to Reginaldo, I can't rave about him enough.. He was EXCELLENTE.. He educated my sisters and I about our safety, currency, and the legitimate excursions offered by Amstar.. He treated us like family.. We will return to vacation again soon in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic and hope he is our representative again..!!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2015

Dear Mr. / Mrs.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand. We are glad to hear that you spend such a good time in the Resort and that you like the service of our representative Reginaldo, we will let him know.

Will be a pleasure to receive you again.


Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2015

Unfortunately I would not class this resort as 4 star. We stayed in block 8 room 8122 bottom floor. The room smelled damp as soon as we entered it, clothes in wardrobe felt damp and had a damp smell on them, the settee was stained and the beds lumpy. I did read some reviews before travelling and don't always think too much of them. We paid over £1200 each for this holiday with First Chice and it was not worth the money. The jacuzzi bath was massive but unfortunately could not be used as the jets were not working properly and there was a smell of stale water when we tried it. The main buffet restaurant was in need of a complete refurbishment, the seating is stained and overall it was not a comfortable experience to eat your meals in. The beach area is untidy, the Privilege beds are all jumbled together and on top of each other and the other sun beds are not that far away and again so close together, there are steps down to the beach so no access for disabled. My husband and our friend said that the beach was very scruffy and they were really dissapointed with it, didn't look anything like the picture on First Choice website. The reception area furniture is uncomfortable and again could do with replacing. Check in was very slow and disorganised. There are trolley buses which run all day to get you around the resort if you have walking problems (which I do) but it was not too big a site and all very flat. The gardens are lovely and kept emmaculate. There are 2 very large pools and these were very welcoming as it was so hot and humid. The only problem is my husband had to get up between 7 - 7.30am every morning to get a bed with shade. It did say that they couldn't be reserved but everyone did this and nothing was done about it. Beware that the local Dominicans arrive every Friday till Sunday and we experienced shortage of food and crockery in the main restaurant, it became very noisy but they didn't seem to cause any problems, and the entertainment team had plenty of volunteers for their games during the day and dancing partners and karaoke volunteers. The speciality restaurants are quite good but they close 2 every night Sun to Thursday, the food comes from the main kitchens as they are the other side of the buffet restaurant. Mikes coffee shop was wonderful but very cold, after 20 mins it was a pleasure to go back into the heat outside. The main buffet was closed for 2 nights during our first week and we found it difficult to get a table and when we did the tablecloths were all creased, not set and there seemed to be a real shortage of waiters, we never ate in there again in the evening. There was a very good choice of food in the buffet and they did replace it often. The fresh pancakes, morning, noon and night were great, savoury and sweet. We went on a boat trip which was booked with the guys who constantly walk around the pool all day and it was a great trip, my husband went snorkelling and enjoyed it, he also went on a Thomson trip on boogey buggies which again he enjoyed. This was our 5th time in the Dominican and I have to say this was the most dissapointing resort we have stayed in. Majority of staff in restaurants and bars were pleasant and work really hard, also entertainment team are good and again work really hard. I would put 2 1/2 to 3 stars on this property.

Room Tip: Probably pay extra for Privelage rooms, honeymoon suites face the sea but are the other end of the resort. all buildings are 3 storeys.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2015

Dear Mrs. Jackie,

We want to thank you so much for your contribution in this review about your experience in your vacation, as well we will like to let you know that we are glad that you enjoyed the gardens, pool and the food; thanks to comments received from you we can keep working in our standards such as continue everyday advise all our guests not to reserve chairs / bed at the pool or beach, about the smell in the room and slow check in we wiil take in consideration in order to mantein our credibility as one of the most rated Resort in Punta Cana.

We most gladly will like to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2015

Ocean Blue & Sand in Playa Arena Gorda has very good service. Beautiful beach area and excellent service. My most memorable experience was in the buffet with Gabriel the manager of the Carey and La tortuga buffet. He made sure he greeted us with a smile everyday. Always asking how can he make our stay more pleasant. The staff was very friendly, especially the entertainment staff. "Willy wonka, Juan Ramon, Super Juan and Mini Me made the trip more memorable always making us laugh! I highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to relax and be treated with great service!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lareguetona00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Mr. / Mrs.,

Thank you for sharing your good comments about your stay with us! we are going to let our employees Know about your experience: Gabriel, Wiily, Juan, Super, Minimi will be happy to hear from you.

Thank you very much and we will be happy to receive you again.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2015

The 4th of february 2016 we will return to Ocean Blue and Sand for the third time. We love this place . Nice rooms, fantastic food, perfect weather and most of all your fantastic staff. We want to especially point out Jorgelina, Elvin and Hanser who took care of us during our meals.

We really look forward to seeing all of you again!!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ibe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2015

Dear Mr. / Mrs.,

Thank you for the positive review! it is a pleasure to know that you like the room, our food and that you are planning to come back to the Resort. We will send your regards to the employees Jorgelina, Hanser and Elvin and encourage them to keep up the good work, thanks again for your contribution on this page and for coming to our hotel Ocean Blue & Sand by H10.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews