We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, lots to do and would highly recommend”
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bavaro
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This was our first visit to Punta Cana and Ocean Blue, May 12 - 19. We were here for a friend’s wedding. Thanks to our agent, Christina at Apollo Tours for making sure that all the details, even the little ones were taken care of. Upon exiting the airport in Punta Cana we were directed to a tour bus that was dedicated to our group of over 40 wedding guests. The bus trip was informational and relaxing, the tour guide taking the time to point out relevant information needed for our stay.

Upon arrival we were directed to reception and while we were unable to check into our rooms, we arrived at 11 am and check in is 3pm, we were given pool towel key cards and wristbands to start enjoying the resort.

Now let me break down the features of this resort:

LOBBY
The lobby is large and airy, and of course comes equipped with over 30 grouped seating areas and a bar. Just off the lobby is the reception, currency exchange and a piano bar. This is a great place to curl up in the morning with an espresso (the bar serves coffee) and read a book. We also met our Transat rep here and we are so happy to have gotten Charleston as our rep. He made sure we were taken care of. He helped organize our excursions and even came on our last day to see us off (he was off this day, so extra awesome).

ROOM
After check in we went straight to our room and what a great surprise. It was perfect. The large king size bed and a roomy sitting area. Lots of storage, from the three ½ door closet (1/2 because the safe takes up some space) and the three built in drawers. My husband and I had room for everything. I especially liked the shelf located beneath the bathroom counter, this way none of our personal stuff got in the way of the cleaning staff. Our large balcony overlooked the well-kept grounds and view of the pools. Bonus for us, our room was located near the front of the resort (building 7) so we didn’t have far to walk to the restaurants, theatre or lobby. Each night we received turn down service which included: a quick room tidy, empty of the garbage and chocolates/flowers on the bed. NOTE: we never had an issue with water temperature or pressure, we showered many times a day, with no issues.

RESTAURANTS
We didn’t have time to go to all the restaurants, but we love the concept of no reservations (except at Sensai). It was a first come first serve and worked really well. Overall, the food is great here. See my specific reviews by restaurant below:

el Carey & la Tortuga, the main buffet, was surprisingly good. We have stayed in Jamaica, Cuba and DR (Puerto Plata), and this is by far the best buffet. You are greeted upon entrance and if you want, you can be directed to a section, we floated around the first couple of days until landing on once specific server: Richard, who took very good care of us. He ensured we had plenty of coffee and water. Over the course of the week we ate breakfast here every day and each time I was able to have something different. Made to order omelets, freshly prepared French toast/pancakes and the vast array of yogurt, fruit, pastries and meat selection, meant we never had a problem finding something we wanted. For lunch we alternated between the main buffet, the Marina buffet, Burger place and the poolside food service (random food offerings set up by the pools).

Marina Buffet was open for lunch and most dinners (unless reserved for private parties). It served a selection of finger foods and sandwiches, as well as many other buffet items. The staff here were attentive and it is situated right on the beach. Burger place is located just outside of the Marina buffet and serves French fries, hamburgers and hot dogs. Great for kids or a quick bite after coming in from the beach.

Margarita was very good. We both loved our appetizers (mine was the mozzarella and mushrooms) and main courses. The fish and the flank steak tacos are awesome.

IL Mascherati di Venezia was so good, we ate there twice. I had the same thing both visits because it was that good. I had an appetizer of sliced Mozzarella and tomatoes, drizzled with olive oil and herbs. YUM. Followed by the Chicken parmesan served with mashed potatoes and a tomato risotto, I suggested this to the others we dined with and many chose this dish with favorable reviews.

Steak House was alright. There was nothing really wrong with the steakhouse, through no fault of their own, but how can you really get medium rare from a ¼” thick steak?

Sensai, teppanyaki style, was amazing. We booked two separate parties, our reservation was for 19. They were able to accommodate us and we were so happy they did. Our breakfast server, Richard, was there and he gave us the best service. The show that the chef put on was entertaining and the food was delicious. Make sure you book a reservation here, you won’t be disappointed.

Best for last, Mike’s Coffee, this was by far our favourite place to hang out in between beach, dinner, entertainment and bedtime. We had the great fortune to be served by a wonderful lady, Argentina, she made sure my Caribbean coffee (mucha leche) was perfect EVERY time. There are several comfy chairs and tables, we would often meet up in groups of 2 to 20 in this cozy refuge. Other than coffee, there is a wide selection of frozen drinks, teas and plenty of delectable deserts. Five stars for this place.

ENTERTAINMENT
The nightly show was OK, it got a bit repetitive with the dancing/music, but still good. I would have liked more audience participation activities, since these parts of the show were the most fun. We didn’t bowl, but did go into the building to see friends, it was clean and bright. There were children playing shuffle board, pool and other games. We did have the opportunity to go the Sports bar, to play pool and grab a late night snacks (steak Panini and fries). The guys played pool and we didn’t get out of there until almost 2am. Fun night.

BEACH/POOL
OK, so I get that the beach isn’t perfect. Lots of weeds, but honestly, once you got out there it wasn’t that bad. The temperature was warm and there was always a place to lay down. The pool however was incredible. Loved the swim up bar, the gradual entry (for us that don’t like the ladder) and the water was perfect.

EXCURSIONS
We went on two excursions that were both a huge success. The first was a cultural tour, for the entire day, our tour guide was so knowledgeable about both the area and the medicinal use for native plants. We toured a local home/farm, cigar maker, sugar cane farm (which came with a great history lesson on Dominican Republic and Hati) and ended with a swim at the best beach. For our second trip, I helped organize a catamaran trip for 41 of us. How awesome is that? We went snorkeling and had a long leisurely swim in a shallow spot located in the ocean. The staff served drinks while we swam, danced on the boat and had a fantastic time.

WEDDING
The best part of this trip was our participation in my friend’s wedding. Rachel and Jon got married on the beach, followed by a private dinner at the Marina and spectacular entertainment. The bride arranged for dancers to show up after dinner and perform for us. It was wonderful. Best destination wedding EVER. The staff here really know how to work with the bride and pull off a seamless wedding party. From the rehearsal to the late night cake by the ocean, we had a blast.

TIPPING
We never felt that a tip was expected. Now saying that, we did recognize some specific tip courtesy: we always left a tip for the maid service in the morning, just a couple of US$. When getting drinks from the bar, we didn’t get just one drink, we would go with an order for several drinks and a small tip and we would take turns getting drink rounds. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, we would tip and tour guides i.e. excursions, would also get a tip, the amount depended on the service received.

WIFI
OK, so you will have two different camps on this one. 1. You’re on vacation, put your phone away and 2. I want to share everything with everyone. We were in the middle. Having a Facebook group with fellow travelers made getting together so much easier. The internet is good, better in some places i.e. Mikes, but you do have to re-connect often, get over this since you are on vacation.

STAFF
Richard (breakfast and dinner), Argentina (Mikes), Charleston (best Transat rep ever) and so many others made our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Large clean room. We never had an issue with water temperature or pressure. Building 7, would pref...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karenlee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Receive our most cordial greetings,

On behalf of our Hotel we thank you for choosing us, it is a pleasure to have had here in our property and that you enjoyed the most !!! Comments like this help us to get better and better every day. Knowing the level of satisfaction we have achieved in our guests motivates us to continue working and overcome every day our services.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,

Best regards

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13,275)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Blue & Sand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 13,276 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2016

I stayed for 5 days in building 3, my bed a pillow was hard. Only good perk about building 3 is sometimes the Wi-Fi works.
BEST PLACES TO EAT: Steakhouse, Japanese, Mike Coffee and the buffet close to the front of the resort.
My experience wasn't all bad, there are cats and dogs on the property walking near all the eating areas. They will try and talk you into a time share when they say they will invite you to breakfast. The beach is not as pretty as the professional pictures are shown. It was just an okay trip!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Guest!

From the Ocean Blue & Sand, we reiterate sincerely and while we welcome your feedback on your stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests as they help us to continue our philosophy of service and continuous improvement. Your feedback helps us improve our level of service with particular emphasis on these areas of opportunity you mentioned in your valuable comments.

Gladly I will share your comments with the rest of our partners.

Best regards,

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

***PLEASE READ! ABRAHAM IN A YELLOW SHIRT ASKED ME IF I WANTED HIM TO KILL THE KITTENS. Many people love the wild cats that are there and as I was trying to call one of the kittens (about 8 weeks old) Abraham rode by on a golf cart and yelled "WANT ME TO KILL THEM". He thought he was cute and funny. Tell that to one of the little boys that stopped there every morning to pet them.
First the room. Smelled of mildew. Safe did not work. One light had a short in it. My friends room the air conditioner did not work and neither did the fridge. My other friends toilet was replaced while there. Oh and the hair dryer caught on fire!
Second: Restaurants, If your not privileged you can't make reservations. One night one of the restaurants had 10 tables open and they said they were reserved. They force you to eat at the buffet. And the breakfast buffet sucked. At Route 66 we sat at the bar area and was not allowed to order food. What?
Third: Pool Area. The pool itself is great, however, people get up a 6am to put their towels down and think their seats should be reserved. Hotel should get a grip on that.
Fourth: 99% of the staff were awesome! If you tip (even a buck) their better.
.

Room Tip: do the up grade and get privileged
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016


Dear Guest!

First we want to thank you on behalf of Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 by the time it has taken you to share your comments with us about their past experiences here at the same time help us improve our level of service have been taken by special emphasis on these areas of opportunity you mentioned in your valuable comments.

We will be happy if you give us the opportunity to once again offer our services and to show them an unforgettable holiday.


Best regards,

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Really enjoying our vacation here at this resort. Awesome place to be in May! We met one of the entertainment guys right away during water aerobics name Gucci, this guy is a ball of energy! He embraced my family with a friendly, warm spirit EVERYDAY. This resort should be happy to have him as an employee. He's made our vacation very memorable

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Arnetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

The entertainment staff was excellent. They took care of us and make sure we was having fun. Jeany, Chocolate, Juan we're great also Ismael Pretty boy. But Francis wow. The best. Great cook. Wow again. We will continue to return every year because of staff like them

Charlie - los rusticos de PR

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chatram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016


Dear Guest!

Receive Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 cordial greetings and our sincere thanks for the positive comments made by tripadvisor.com regarding your stay.

Knowing the level of satisfaction we have achieved in our guests motivates us to continue working and get through each day, through our expectations. At the same time to each of the employees who work here will let you know the great work they are doing exhorting them to continue doing so,

We look forward to welcoming you very soon in this, his home.

Sincerely,

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort, not too big and not too small. One of our best vacations and we're already thinking about returning next year. The landscape is beautiful. The staff is friendly. The drinks are nice and the food is decent for all inclusive. Our favorite restaurant was Sensai ( Japanese) the hibachi chefs were very entertaining. The resort has two huge pools both with swim-up bars. There is a show each night in the theater area which first the most part is pretty cheesy but still entertaining. The beach area is absolutely beautiful. The erosion and sand bags do not take away from its beauty. There's plenty of sand for the kids to play in and miles of beach on either side of the resort. We walked the beach everyday. I will complain about the a/c the rooms need to be updated. It was kind of warm in the room at times thankfully there was a ceiling fan. The rooms are not luxurious but the are very clean. (privilege area) the housekeeper are friendly and our mini bar was also full. If you're looking for a reasonable price resort I would recommend this place. It's an older resort but it's fun, very clean, the staff is friendly and it's beautiful. Our concerige Yas and Anibal were very helpful.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vacay0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Receive our most cordial greetings,

On behalf of our Hotel we thank you for choosing us, it is a pleasure to have had here in our property and that you enjoyed the most !!! Comments like this help us to get better and better every day. Knowing the level of satisfaction we have achieved in our guests motivates us to continue working and overcome every day our services.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,

Best regards

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

So first we get here and the hotel is overbooked which is the worst thing you want to hear when you travel internationally so the entire first day was pretty much wasted trying to get us into another hotel then we eat at the steakhouse at the hotel and get food poisoning sick with diarrhea also the hotel has a constant whiff of feces smell every couple hours that blows through the outdoors

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank Samona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Manager at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016


Dear Guest!

From the Ocean Blue & Sand, we reiterate sincerely and while we welcome your feedback on your stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests as they help us to continue our philosophy of service and continuous improvement. Your feedback helps us improve our level of service with particular emphasis on these areas of opportunity you mentioned in your valuable comments.

Gladly I will share your comments with the rest of our partners.

Best regards,

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
17.3 km away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
5.6 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
4.8 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
3.8 km away
Sunscape Bavaro Beach Punta Cana
1.0 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range: $201 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free WiFi available in all the resort areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing