We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Still first rate Hotel

One of these days I's like to visit here without the fog and rain. The rooms are ars fresh and well... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Dan G
,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Do not miss this stop. Amaizing.

This place is really like they say. A castle in the clouds. Hiking trails and restaurant also... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Nomad20859587206
Read all 216 reviews
  
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
133
64
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
64
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small train mountain top scenic drive miniature golf course views are spectacular great hiking trails train ride tent camping queen wilhelmina mini train scenic overlooks winding road lovers leap beautiful area lodge restaurant vista arkansas
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 216 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

One of these days I's like to visit here without the fog and rain. The rooms are ars fresh and well done as when this place reopened a few years back. Friendly efficient front staff. Fun hiking on the Lovers Leap trail even though pretty wet and slippery. This place would get a 5 star if the resteraunt buffet was a little better (again good nice people, just not good food)

Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

This place is really like they say. A castle in the clouds. Hiking trails and restaurant also available. This is probably the ONLY place worth stopping at in the entire county. Late Oct-Mid Nov is the best time of yr. Book your rooms Jan 1st at midnight to get best days they fill rooms for those times very fast. Even in June is was fantastic but fall foliage is breathtaking. Take your camera.

Thank Nomad20859587206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spectacular drive on scenic 88. Rewly redone rooms and great view. Comfortable lodge with restaurant.

Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful fall colors abound. There are a few trails to hike. The lodge is fantastic with a picturesque view of the valley below. The scenic drive that runs through the park has many beautiful vistas.

Thank CarlosBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful park, great views, lots of vista points to stop at and admire the views. Took lovers leaps trail was a good walk through the woods, marked extremely well. The lodge was beautiful.

Thank cmjea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came in late after driving several hours. There was a ton of fog, could hardly see the winding road and everything on the way up there. Signs are not easy to see in the fog, so be careful with that. We went to the lodge to check-in for our camp-site (we had booked #30 for a tent because we needed electricity due to a medical need). Checked in - decided since it was dark and late that we would eat at the restaurant. Food was fine, service was good and very friendly. We went to get our tent set up - extremely foggy and drizzling, so it was hard to find out spot, but once we did - we realized that there is no room to even put a tent at that spot. We decided to head to Mena to rent a room for the night, come back in the morning to try again.

Came back the next morning early - the drive up was a lot nicer, there wasn't near as much fog and you could see more. We stopped at a couple of overlooks, very pretty. However, once we got up about 1/2 way to the top of the mountain, the fog was thick enough we couldn't see much again. Went to our site and there was no way a tent was going to work there. It's very close to the small train track that is on-site, hardly any grass and the sites are super close together. An RV or camper would have worked fine. There is a ton of grass across the road, but there are no sites set up there. There is a tent section further down the road, but it doesn't not offer water or electricity and the number of sites is minimal.

We were really looking forward to the hay ride that they were offering for the evening, but the options we had were not going to work. We ended up checking out early and heading to a different state park to stay.

It's a pretty place, the people are great, but they do not have many sites and they are mainly for RV/camper. If you're tent camping, you might want to look elsewhere.

Thank ToTheMoonAndBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADPT-Region-5, Administrative Specialist at Queen Wilhelmina State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are disappointed that the weather did not cooperate during your visit. Queen Wilhelmina is a spectacular mountaintop setting. Because of its elevation, clouds and fog sometimes shroud the park for extended periods. We are sorry that the campsite was not satisfactory. We hope you plan another visit, and contact the park staff who will do their best to find a better tent site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an old trek of ours that we make about twice a year, the people are friendly, and the scenery is fantastic.The restaurant is good also, it is a nice state park and we go there often.

Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This is the second time we have stayed in this park. We love it just as much this time as the first time. We are a retired, senior couple with 2 small/medium dogs. We drive a 30 foot RV we explored Mena, drove a scenic drive in the Jeep we’re towing and just enjoyed the scenery. We will probably come back here again. The lodge is beautiful and has a restaurant in it. The staff was very helpful.

Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We loved this place, and we highly recommend it. The views are incredible, and breathtaking. Just driving up through the mountains we stopped several times!

Thank Desiree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

This place is so beautiful and peaceful. All the people I met here are so friendly. I will be going back again soon.

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews