We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
12
8
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
8
6
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018

I was visiting Chiloe and this was my last stop. I was not sure if I would stay for the night in Ancud, but when I saw the little plaza I decided this hotel was perfect, right on the corner, close to everything. I really liked the decoration of the common area of the hotel, and the carved dining room table, plus a great handcraft collection form local artisans. My problem was the bedroom. The towels on top of the Queen bed had about three dead black beetles; the furnace was not working properly and I had to request to increase the heat level. The noise from people walking in the street was too much to sleep well, and the worst part, some young guys threw an object to the traffic light cables right out of one of my windows and the power went off. I could not read or watch TV, and the furnace was not working again. I ended up sleeping on top of the bed since the bedspread and pillows did not smell clean to me. The next morning I went to have breakfast in the dining room where they had a wooden stove that was not on yet. I asked why and one of the ladies told me because they did not have matches. So I had breakfast wearing my jacket and scarf. Other details were that the main ring bell was not working, so you had to wait for the receptionist to see you, since the door was kept locked. The hotel employees were very nice though... and I liked my breakfast too! Maybe I just had bad luck in this place?

Room tip: For NO reason pick the corner room facing the plaza, way too noisy at night!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erikafromreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio M, Gerente at Hotel Balai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Erika, first of all thank you for this detailed comment! I'm so sad you had a bad experience, we'd have loved if you've said your discomforts to us so we'd have helped you, maybe move you to another room, our priority is your confort. I believe that it was a day when we had electrical problems, our city suffers a lot from it and you had to pay the price. If you want to return, we promise to improve your experience by giving you the best room and of course a generous discount. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2015

Good service, clean rooms, and shower with hot water and steady pressure is all I can ask from a hotel. We liked the breakfast, although it was a very basic one, it was fresh and with some delicious homemade pastry.
Just below the hotel there is a restaurant with the same name, with really good chilean food.
Definitely will stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_potato_but_sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio M, Propietario at Hotel Balai, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

We appreciate your kind words. Hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2015

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the shower consistently hot, the wifi reliable. Our room overlooked the plaza de armas which always had things going on to see. Fantastic location. We utilised the parking but it was painful having to ask for the key to the parking lot and then go back and return it (it is two blocks away from the hotel) every time we wanted to head out.
As they don't man the front counter at all times you also have to ring the bell to get into the hotel - this is an annoying feature but not uncommon in parts of Chile it seems.
Apart from that everything else was great, the breakfast was ok, but for someone who is intollerant to gluten there wasn't much on offer.
If we return to Ancud we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BT780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio M, Propietario at Hotel Balai, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Thanks for all your comments, they help us a lot to keep improving our services every day. We hope you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Just across the atreet from Ancud's main square, hotel Balai just couln't be more downtown. Very well located, near mostly everything one could need, with affordable prices and clean rooms.
Breakfast is a very basic one, but for the price one couldn't ask for more.
Attention is good, the rooms ok (could be a little bit brighter) and the bathrooms could have more space.
For the money, it works fine.

Date of stay: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raimundohamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio M, Propietario at Hotel Balai, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Thanks for your comment! We will consider it for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monsalva, Gerente at Hotel Balai, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews