We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic hideaway, relaxing, great base for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
The view outside.
Follow the rainbow!
The White Horse at Kilburn. 14 miles approx.
Fairy Land! From where we are in Well.
Market town of Thirsk. 11 miles.
Amazing fountain in Hackfall woods. 5 miles. Lovely quiet woodland walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Well, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jestermoo...
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic hideaway, relaxing, great base for exploring area, perfect.”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A very friendly welcome, Rod is very amiable, the cottage is private and spacious, a perfect bolthole to explore the area, and there is a lot to do! The property is very clean, well maintained, with a sustainable ethos that is admirable and evidenced in creative ways. A realaxing and insipring place to be.
We had wi-fi connection, though if problematic Rod offered us use of the main house. The bed is so comfy and surrounding area is quiet, you will need an alarm!
There are many walks in the area if you can get past the markets, fresh produce, brewery visits (recommend Theakstons over Black Sheep, though both ales are great!) the great food, caves, cheese, the local pub in Well is fab, overall we wish we stayed longer and would definitely return to this freshly painted establishment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy and peacefulness of the location
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C B
Burton on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to hideaway”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed for two nights for the Masham Steamfair . The accomodation was surprisingly spacious , very clean and equipped with everything we needed .
Well is just a short drive from both Bedale and Masham and made a great base for visiting both places , combine this with an excellent local pub and this made a great base .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Space of our own”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2014

This little flat was just what we wanted for a short, romantic break in North Yorkshire. The location, Well, was a beautiful village, with a great real-ale pub and plenty of walking trails. The flat itself was divide into three main areas of living space - a living room/dining room/kitchenette (cosy, soft sofas and a cute oven and grill), a bedroom and also a wet room. The bed was comfy and we both enjoyed uninterrupted nights sleep, the wet room was ok - (shower pressure was a little off).

All in all, a great place for a break from the noise!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thanks for the kind revue.
Water pressure may have been a bit down back in march when you stayed; owing to on going improvements being carried by the water board.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keitc123
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“One Button Hideaway excellent relaxing retreat .”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recieved a warm welcome from Rod on our arrival.One button hideaway was a lovely holiday rental with everything you could possibly need to hand.It is set in beautifully tenered gardens , which made our stay very pleasent and relaxing would definately recommend for short or long stay , hope to go again , thank you Keith and Maria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gardens and the local area
Liked least: there was nothing that we didnt like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanetteh...
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“excellent, perfect in every way”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

excellent place to stay, would go back anytime, comfortable,with separate lounge and open plan kitchen, space to sit and eat, leads out to lovely garden,and a place to sit and relax, washing machine close by, separate bedroom and en suite shower and facilities,
parking inside property
Peaceful and private, lovely and quiet, this lovely cottage will spoil you for anything else,
The owner Ruth was there to meet us and Rod was on hand to help with anything we needed, definite must if you are staying in this area, had a great time in Thirsk, close by (about 20 to 25 mins by car) and York about 40mins also worth visiting, lots to see there, and the market in the old square in Masham is a must, as well as Theakston's brewery

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and garden was so comfortable, it was a holiday on its own
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I headed to North Yorkshire to cycle the Yorkshire Dales. We found the "One Button Hideaway" on tripadvisor. It was the perfect size for two people with all the amenities we needed. I wasn't able to hook into the internet in our building but we used the owner's wifi. It was a very quiet and private location within walking distance of Well and reasonable drive to Ripon/Masham for groceries/dinning etc. We'd go back in a heartbeat - the owners are great people.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape_co...
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Set in stunning scenery and with a excellent pub down the road, you are guaranteed a fabulous break! The cottage is well equipped and you feel quite at home relaxing on the large comfy chairs.We only managed to stay for two nights but we'll certainly go back, there is lots to do in the area and you could happily spend a week or two there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the sofa listening to the bird song!
Liked least: Step in to bedroom, be careful in the dark!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing