We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda La Cienega
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Endamo(Latacunga)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$36
US$35
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cuello de Luna(Cotopaxi Province)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa de Tacvnga(Latacunga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
168
137
61
22
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
137
61
22
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseucalyptus treescotopaxi volcanobeautiful hotelhot watermain buildinghistoric placeroom was largetour grouplong drivewaygrounds are beautifulantique furnituregate tourgreat lunchsitting areacentral gardentree lined drivepublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Old Spanish hacienda where the Colonial Spanish master lorded it over his poor peasants in the nearby village - and the photo's of his descendants and their families still adorn the walls of this creaking old mansion. The grounds are beautiful, the building is impressive, massive and stuffed full of old pictures and furniture. Our room was large with a real fire (maid came to light it at dusk) and a big en suite. This time of year it gets quite chilly on an evening so try the hot toddy they make with naranjilla juice, rum and other magic ingredients to warm you up.
All the staff are really friendly and welcoming and the food was pretty good by Ecuadorian standards.
Hotel was quite empty but we went off season. 20 - 30 minute drive to Cotopaxi.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FifiOfGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear guest, we are glad you had a pleasant stay! thank you for your review. The magical beverage is called "canelazo", typical Ecuadorian drink :) Please let us know if your overall experience could have been improved in any way. You can always contact us here or via mail at marketing@haciendalacienega.com. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The Hacienda is 300 years old and there are interesting artifacts throughout the hotel. The views of the area are magnificent. There is a nice chapel located in the hotel as well as a small store selling local artisan pieces. The staff were warm and friendly and the dinner in the restaurant was very nice. Would recommend to travellers who want a unique experience.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank 32724Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Hello Leslie! Thank you for your review. If you have any suggestions on how your overall experience could have improved, please let us know! Hope to have you back soon :) Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Hire some horses and take a guide it was a really wonderful way to see the surrounding countryside. The accommodation is very traditional and cosy atmosphere in the evenings. Food was very good and the staff pleasant and welcoming. Fortunate to find during our research pre trip.

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Hello Mark! Thank you for leaving your review! If you don't mind telling us, how did you find us on you pre-trip research? Please let us know how you think your stay could have been better! Any suggestion is more than welcome. You can always contact us here or to this mail: marketing@haciendalacienega.com. Hope to hear from you soon! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Immediately one is impressed as you enter this place, driving through a gate down a long drive lined with eucalyptus trees to a wonderful old, historic hacienda. The grounds were beautiful with lovely gardens and a view of the Cotopaxi volcano in the background. The hacienda is filled with antiques and charm. Our room was very large with a sitting area, a wood burning fireplace and views of the gardens. Old wooden floors and antiques added to the ambience. Our fire was lit by the staff, as much to keep us warm as there is no heating. We had a lovely dinner in the dining room. There was a chapel in the courtyard at the back and many birds to watch. What a beautiful place to stay! It was booked as part of a small group tour that we were on in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Dear Gloria, we thank you for your charming review! We are very happy you had a lovely time during your stay at La Ciénega, next time definitely stay a bit longer! From here you can do several day trips, so we will be waiting :) Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This was my first time staying in such a historic hotel. I loved the character and charm.
The room was large but the bathroom really small. The lighting was dim but it just added to the character of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaisyMay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Hello dear guest, thank you for leaving us your review! We are very glad you liked your stay. We would love to know if you have any suggestions that would have made your stay better, (for instance, a larger bathroom? ;) ) Any comment is more than welcome! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews