We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda La Cienega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2017

On arrival, the hacienda was a welcome sight after a day of trekking in Cotopaxi. We decided to get out of the vehicle and walked down the tree lined drive to stretch our legs. At the end, several members of staff were waiting to greet us. The buildings and furniture are full of character and dripping with history, even a ghost was mentioned but we didn't encounter one. The grounds of the estate were well kept and quite beautiful.
We had dinner and lunch the next day, lovely food and professional service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AmyAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Classy South American setting. Beautiful grounds.... Different shopping. The restaurant is a unique experience. They play live, authentic folk music while you dine. The food is mediocre.... So don't come here expecting a great meal... However, the overall experience is worth the visit!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

The best service in Ecuador! Warm, welcoming, attentive and extremely professional. Our room was lovely: spacious, working fire place, large bathroom, great shower. The food was great and very reasonable. We highly recommend Cienega!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Already to the road to this mystic place is ... bumpy. And then when entering under the enormous trees and seeing the Hacienda at the far end of the alley, is a magic moment, like you only have a few in lifetime. We had a good lunch, on the high end of what you expect in ecuador, but the place itself, it's history, the free visit of the garden make it an unforgettable moment on your journey from Quito to wherever you are heading down south...

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sergeorban1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This was a truly unique and beautiful place to lay our heads after an exhausting and exhilarating trip up the nearby Cotopaxi volcano… A stunning approach up a long sweeping drive and you are greeted by four warm staff, wreathed in smiles and immediately taking our bags and showing us up to our wonderful (set of!) rooms. They also knew our names already which was a lovely touch - they'd taken the time to work out who was arriving. Our two rooms were incredible - we had the main suite with beautiful views on to the front and back of the hotel, with its blissfully laid out and well-kept gardens - complete with hummingbirds buzzing around which you could watch from the inside while sitting in front of the wood-burning stove and sipping a fennel tea. There are wonderful paintings and sculptures everywhere and the hacienda offers an immaculate restaurant with a delicious lunch, dinner and breakfast menu. My sister was unfortunately very ill the next morning with gastric issues and the wonderful staff didn't hesitate to organise a trip to the doctor and also loaded us up with oregano tea for our onward journey. Even poorliness didn't take the shine off our experience. Unforgettable!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

During a two week trip to Ecuador, we spent two separate nights at this great hotel. It positioned us well for treks up Cotapaxi and down Quilatoa. Both were amazing experiences. At the hacienda, we were treated to excellent service, great food, and on one of the evenings traditional live Andean music.

Room Tip: For family we found spacious adjoining rooms with fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We were here for lunch with our family and some friends. The Hacienda is really well maintained though some details need to be fixed. The food was good and the service excellent. The driveway is stunning and it seems to take you to another time.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
9.1 km away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#6 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
111 reviews
6 km away
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
30.6 km away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 31 in Cotopaxi Province
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hacienda Hato Verde
Hacienda Hato Verde
#1 of 1 in Mulalo
66 reviews
33.6 km away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#2 of 31 in Cotopaxi Province
100 reviews
4.9 km away
La Quinta Colorada
La Quinta Colorada
#3 of 3 in Lasso
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Cienega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Cienega

Address: Lasso Panamericana Sur Km 72, Lasso, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lasso
Price Range: $141 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Cienega 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest colonial properties in Ecuador, this 300 year old hacienda is located in the skirts of Cotopaxi, it's made of volcanic stone walls of two meters of thickness. Turned into a hotel in 1982, when it opened its doors to offer the visitor the poetry of a time and the nature of the zone, La Cienega is an unforgettable memory of The Andes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda La Cienega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cienega Hotel Cotopaxi Province
La Cienega Cotopaxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing