We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant at Hacienda (Didn't Stay at Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda La Cienega
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2017

My wife and I had lunch here one afternoon, as recommended by our tour guide, and the food was great. I had the palm heart ceviche (excellent), the avocado with tuna (wonderful dressing), and some ice cream for dessert (berry and ground cherry, more like sorbets and both really great). The service was friendly and helpful and overall a very nice place to have lunch. We also visited the grounds a bit after lunch - the chapel is really pretty and they have some very nice flowers. A wonderful place to stop for a bite!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

When you enter the compound, you will see vast landscape with towering eucalyptus on both left and right of the entrance. The ancient, mighty and historical building is nestled in the center where strength and power of the thick walls exudes. The walls can be as thick as one meter. No wonder, this building survived several earthquakes and sustained no damages throughout the past three hundred years. It is declared a historical site with its history told from warriors, patriots and academicians that has come and gone. It is now a hosteria and a restaurant. Take a tour before sitting down for lunch. The tour is free.
The restaurant is a sit down environment with table linens and fancy tableware. Servers wear uniforms. While we ate lunch, we were entertained by local musicians with Ecuadorian and Andean music. The prices of the lunch included the V.A.T. (tax). It was a good dining experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This is a very interesting place because of its history. A part of the hotel is from 1600 and has housed Von Humbold when he was observing the volcanoes. The hotel is nice and clean and the service is nice. However, it is also pretty outdated. The rooms are filled with all sorts off ancient portraits and artefacts. However, with that they also seem to miss some sort of cosiness, It’s as if you’re in your great aunt’s house and nothing may be touched. All the interior also looks like a real large collection of anything old.
The great thing with old places is that (many) rooms have a fire place. Around four (or espalier if it’s a dark cold day) the fire places are lit. And there you are in your own private ancient room with a fireplace burning. That is really nice.
The hotel has a restaurant where you can eat meals between 6.00 and 23.00. There is a broad variation of food to choose from. However, best is to keep it simple. The dishes we tried were spaghetti (good), cannelloni (not so good) and steak (so-so). It is however the only place in a the area so if you’re staying in the hotel, you will not have (a lot of) alternatives for dinner close by.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuidoReist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Truly amazing experience in this centuries old hacienda. Large comfortable rooms with fireplaces. Beautiful grounds and an interesting chapel form part of the complex. Very friendly hospitable staff and a fine selection of quality meals in the dining room.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We stopped here for lunch after visiting Rose Success a rose greenhouse plantation. The food was good and they had great entertainment for our tour group. The Hacienda is over 400 years old and I am sure it had a robust past. There photos of the owners in the 1930s driving their Auburn car. The architecture and landscaping was very nice. However it was very cool inside and I am sure it would be very cold at night. I believe my wife left her camera on the table. I tried to get in touch with them but no spoke English.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Rodger U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haciendalacienega, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your comment about Hacienda La Ciénega. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and service. We hope you visit us again in the area Lasso-Latacunga, we are waiting with pleasure. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We really wanted to stay in this oldest of haciendas and share in some historic ghosts and learn about the history. The building and grounds are indeed huge and impressive. We were welcomed and served dinner which was uninteresting and a wine that was not at all good - I give the staff a 100% for effort but the end result was not very good. Our room was enormous with 2 heaters and a fireplace and we still were very cold. The pillows were quite bad and the room had a smell from coming from the bathroom. We had to work on finding more about the history of the place as it was not offered though it was our reason for visiting. Wifi in the rooms is almost non existent - we found a signal by huddling up to the front door. The road into the place is in disrepair but I understand the last winter was harsh. This place has potential but our visit was only average at best.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank alajuelanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

On arrival, the hacienda was a welcome sight after a day of trekking in Cotopaxi. We decided to get out of the vehicle and walked down the tree lined drive to stretch our legs. At the end, several members of staff were waiting to greet us. The buildings and furniture are full of character and dripping with history, even a ghost was mentioned but we didn't encounter one. The grounds of the estate were well kept and quite beautiful.
We had dinner and lunch the next day, lovely food and professional service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AmyAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
9.1 km away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#6 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
111 reviews
6 km away
Hacienda San Agustin De Callo
30.6 km away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 31 in Cotopaxi Province
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hacienda Hato Verde
Hacienda Hato Verde
#1 of 1 in Mulalo
66 reviews
33.6 km away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#2 of 31 in Cotopaxi Province
100 reviews
4.9 km away
La Quinta Colorada
La Quinta Colorada
#3 of 3 in Lasso
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Cienega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Cienega

Address: Lasso Panamericana Sur Km 72, Lasso, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lasso
Price Range: $141 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Cienega 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest colonial properties in Ecuador, this 300 year old hacienda is located in the skirts of Cotopaxi, it's made of volcanic stone walls of two meters of thickness. Turned into a hotel in 1982, when it opened its doors to offer the visitor the poetry of a time and the nature of the zone, La Cienega is an unforgettable memory of The Andes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda La Cienega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cienega Hotel Cotopaxi Province
La Cienega Cotopaxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing