We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
220
88
49
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
88
49
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fully equipped kitchenette large wardrobe bedroom apartment swimming pool shuttle bus walk into town out of season modern hotel ski stuff kitchen equipment up hill steam room self cater nice pool view from the balcony a lovely stay underground parking
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 372 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Had high expectations after reading all the great reviews that unfortunately weren’t really met.

The lovely thing about this hotel is the pool & hot tub which are very welcome after a day on the slopes. Take flip flops though - the tiles around the pool are ridiculously slippery.

The rest of our experience was just OK really.

The apartments/rooms are very spacious but very ‘cold’ and clinical - nothing cosy whatsoever about them - no pictures or soft furnishings and bizarrely no curtains - just. vertical blinds which are WHITE so the room is basically never dark and as we were at the front of the hotel we constantly had vehicle lights flashing in. The whole hotel is uncarpeted and all ceramic floor tiles which is all very modern but means that it’s generally very noisy and echoey and you can hear people clumping around in the rooms above and around you and in the corridors.

The food is nothing to write home about. Breakfast was a struggle - there is no cold section on the buffet and for reasons that I can’t fathom the jugs of milk are placed on the buffet right under the hot lights and therefore the milk is warm and utterly rancid. No toaster - just bread which was rather dry, a reasonable selection of hot food other than that. Dinner was also rather dull - we were half board and given a set menu 3 nights on the trot which was an uninspiring selection of 4 main meals, then the following nights was a buffet but again, the selection was just OK.

The chap that drives the mini bus down to the gondala was lovely and really friendly, on the whole the rest of the staff were fairly pleasant but not exceptionally friendly - one receptionist in particular was totally unsmiling and very rude when we asked for assistance with something.

The final niggle was that I was awakened every other morning at 4am by the bin men - can’t understand why the bins have to be placed in front of the hotel and not moved further along onto the road where guests won’t be disturbed by the very early collection.

Might consider staying here again if I could be guaranteed a quiet room at the back of the hotel, but I’d just as likely consider somewhere else.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank cyclegirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGP_Bansko, Sales and Marketing Manager at Saint George Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear cyclegirl2016

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that we were not able to fully satisfy your expectations and your constructive comments are passed to our Management team. Kindly note that we are treating the swimming pool area with anti slip materials and clean the water all the time.
Please be aware that bins are located as per the municipal instructions and their place and collection is not under our control.
We appreciate your kindness regarding our Relax zone facilities and shuttle bus service.

We would be really happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Svetlana Dyulgerova
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Pleasantly surprised at how large and modern these apartments are. Looks just like the pictures. 2 bedroom apartment booked but had extra single bedroom of the main bedroom ( one with en suite) which would be good for a child. Apartment huge and kept very clean. For such a large living space, there was only one sofa which was fine for us (3) , but could probably do with another for a larger party.

Spa was really nice, sauna, steam room, hot stone beds, swimming pool and jacuzzi. Jacuzzi water not that fresh but I still got in it. All at no extra charge.

Location is 15 mins walk into town downhill, but allow 30 mins to walk back uphill! Free shuttle bus runs in the morning and afternoon which was great. Nice quiet area.

Restaurant food was really nice and priced well compared to the places in town.

Overall , great place and great value for money.

Room tip: Block D had good sun through the windows and view of the gondola and slopes.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0S1E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGP_Bansko, Sales and Marketing Manager at Saint George Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear R0S1E,

Thank you for your great feedback and for being our guest!
We will be happy to welcome you again at Saint George Palace Bansko!

Best regards
Svetlana Dyulgerova
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, room was nice as was the apartment as a whole.

Spa was really good and never felt too busy at any time.

Buffet food for breakfast and dinner was really good with plenty of choices, especially well cooked Bulgarian options.

Best thing about the hotel was definitely the staff, friendly, welcoming and always looking to help and provide service which definitely made all the difference.

Would definitely recommend to anyone planning to stay in Bansko.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 77scottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGP_Bansko, Sales and Marketing Manager at Saint George Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Scott M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Saint George Palace Bansko with us and other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay.

We will be pleased if you choose again Saint George Palace for your next visit in Bansko.

Best regards
Svetlana Dyulgerova
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We stayed for 4 nights to go skiing in March 2018. Our room had a kitchenette, great bathroom (one of the largest baths I have ever had), and walk in wardrobe. Decor was 'marble' and chrome.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room (and whole hotel) spotlessly clean at all times.

The spa complex was great, lovely large pool (fairly warm), sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, massages available. The restaurant was nice and food was good - buffet, always a good salad, other food was fine with a good choice, excellent breakfast. One evening we had a menu rather than buffet (not sure why), and the food was excellent (definitely try the country salad), which just shows maybe that it is hard to produce excellent food to sit out on a buffet. A few things could have been a little hotter. Bar was nice with a good choice.

Location is on the edge of town, with a shuttle in to the gondola for skiers. I think it would take 10-15 minutes to walk into town.

The best thing about the hotel though definitely was the staff, who were universally friendly, helpful and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 541chill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGP_Bansko, Sales and Marketing Manager at Saint George Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear 541chill,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Saint George Palace Bansko.
We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. It is especially rewarding to read that you particularly appreciated the excellent facilities, delicious food and helpful service.

We always look forward to welcoming you back at Saint George Palace Bansko!

Best regards
Svetlana Dyulgerova
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Hotel and roons was ok, but not more, we had a kitchen in our room but no fridge, and no settie. That was a little bit disappointing. Our other friends who also stayed in the hotel had that.
The breakfast was also OK, but not more. When you water out the juice so it just tast like a water with a bit of orange its not good.

Room tip: Walkable to get to city centre
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGP_Bansko, Sales and Marketing Manager at Saint George Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear Lasse R,

Thank you for being our guest!
Please note that Saint George Palace is Apart Hotel and rooms slightly vary by view and set-up. There was fridge in your Studio, but may be you needed some extra space - so it will be best if you had requested it before arrival.
We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest to make up for your first impressions.

Best regards
Svetlana Dyulgerova
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews