We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$381
US$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-11
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$381
US$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-11
Booking.comUS$381
eDreamsUS$381
CheapTicketsUS$210
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
86
108
38
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
108
38
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 244 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

I've stayed at the Taikanso a dozen times over the years. Though it's showing its age, it is still a resort in the grand tradition. As it sits atop a hill, it has the best views of the islands. The Washitsu rooms are beautiful and restrained. Although the buffet restaurant is scaled down from its former bounty, it is still an excellent dinner choice. The public baths are great. If they only had in room WiFi and laundry service, I'd give it a 5-star rating without hesitation.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mmpaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taikanso, WEB担当 at Hotel Matsushima Taikanso, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear mmpaull
Thank you so much for always choosing Hotel Matsushima Taikanso.
We also would like to thank you for giving us opportunity to know the improvement which we need to work on to meet our guest’s expectations.
We are looking forward to your visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2018

Only came for a day visit and had the onsen to myself! Because the hotel is on the hill up from the coast, you get lovely views of the famous islands and bay from the outisde bath. Limited opening hours but for 800 yen you can also get a shuttle bus (which we managed to miss though!) and a little towel thrown in.

We also ate in one of the restaurants (the Japanese one) which featured a classic range of high quality ryokan dishes at prices that are to be expected at a hotel of this kind. Nice lounges to relax in.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is situated on the slope of the hill over viewing the Ocean and islands.
Very comfortable and equipped
The view took our breathe away !
Little town is just below so you can hear the Bell in the morning mist.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank pictureperfect2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

After a day touring Matsushima Bay we arrived at this beautiful hotel. Our room overlooked the bay and islands with large picture windows. I could not decide which was more wow the view or the very large well appointed room which was all updated. Even the hall carpets smelled new. This was the first rural hotel that could compare with the hotels in Tokyo or Kyoto. Compared to other Onsen hotels we stayed in this was indeed a palace. The sheer size of the room and bathroom was a wow factor for us after traveling 3 weeks in Japan. Food is very large buffet for breakfast and dinner with many choices. Inside and outside Onsen but the outside one has the best views in Japan. Very few non Japanese here. Not sure why this beauty is still a secret but we loved this stop and the hotel is the place to stay if you visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Japan's hotel onsens are a nice way to make your way across Japan. The Hotel Matsushima Taikanso sits on a hill overlooking Matsushima Bay, where in 2011, a tsunami destroyed the town and the surrounding areas. The hotel was fortunate because of its high location. Today, there is a rapid and progressive construction program that is returning Matsushima into its old self. The bay is beautiful with its many small islands and worth a boat ride. The hotel has a smaller bath area than others I've been to but it's outside bath has one of the most beautiful views you'll find at any onsen. For breakfast and dinner, the hotel goes all out to provide an incredible feast of diverse foods caterings to its universal audience: Korean, Chinese and western along with its regular Japanese guests. There is such a wide variety of delicious foods, you have to resign yourself to knowing you'll be taking a few extra pounds out the door. It is also one of the few onsens that caters to families with children.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank EmeryJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews