We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What should I say....?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campigny
Certificate of Excellence
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What should I say....?”
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Our first stay was during "la canicule" of early August 2003.

Beautiful surroundings and brilliant experience - (a swimming pool should be made a legal requirement in such conditions - no enforcement needed here).

Mme. Fabienne Desmonts and M. Jean-Marie Huard were / are fantastic hosts. Mme. Desmonts speaks faultless English and graciously allowed us to try our French (myself, wife and, then, 9 year-old daughter) without any sign of sniggering!

Food was superb using really fresh produce "du terroir". Even our daughter ate dishes that were free of fries or "chicken-based" fried products. On a more liquid front, for me, the zenith was my introduction to "Le Prestige" - if you know, you know!!

What should I say? Tempted to report that it wasn't worth the visit (hopefully to make sure that our favourite room is free for our next stay - not saying when) - but I can't - not sorry. M. KH

  • Liked — Setting, hosts, food, wine
  • Disliked — Some bits might need a little TLC to restore
  • Stayed August 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsieurFaucon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    117
    33
    15
    10
See reviews for
29
291
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Tend to agree with the earlier review.

An idyllic situation and very peaceful. There the pluses tend to dry up.

The room was small with no room for seating and the clothes cupboard smelt of damp. The bathromm had - curiously- two adjacent sinks but no means of inserting two people simultaneously. Common parts in need of a makeover with a depressing indoor garden and dark furniture-some of the armchairs too low to extracty yourself from, once inserted.

Pleasant dining room and OK cooking- though my partner's lamb had to visit the kitchen twice, really undercooked.

A pricey experience for a generally unmemorable night's stay.

  • Liked — peaceful environment
  • Disliked — undercapitalised and tired
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank morganman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2006

We really enjoyed our three night break in April. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful spot. Beautifully maintained gardens. Food and service both excellent. Very attentive and helpful staff. The reception and lounge/ bar area does need updating but the restaurant and rooms are very pretty and typically French. Excellent shower. A couple of well signposted country walks from the doorstep and excellent access to the attractions of Normandy.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 August 2005

Hmmmm. It looked great in the photos - picturesque and quaint - and on arrival we were impressed ...... until we looked closer. We only stayed one night but it was enough for us to decide never to return.

Good points: Quiet. Good, tasty food (but the service wasn't up to much). Pretty, 'picture postcard' appearance. Er .... that's about it.

Bad points: Closer inspection revealed a very jaded hotel that seems to be living on past glories. It really is in need of money being spent on a big refurbishment. The room looked OK but was cold and quite damp (and heating was refused because 'it isn't yet September'. Yes, really!). The extractor fans didn't work in the loo or bathroom (which had a twee, open window into the bedroom, causing additional dampness). The shower screen was expertly constructed to deliver copious quantities of water all over the floor - ten minute shower, twenty minute mopping up exercise. No tea-making facilities (although we now know that this is normal in France). Thoughtless, tired decor and a very odd mix of gloomy and 1950's glaring lighting. And DOGS IN THE RESTAURANT! For goodness sake! Are they kidding?

Worst point: Ridiculous cost of stay for what you actually get (both room and food). I honestly think that the owners must be laughing up their sleeves at how much money they are raking in, without feeling the need to spend any of it on providing their guests with either decent, well maintained surroundings or proper, friendly service (I accept that we are English and maybe are not treated with the same deference as other nationalities!).

One to avoid for a couple of years until they wake up and invest in an upgrade of both the building and their attitude to the people who give them a living.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campigny
3.7 km away
Belle Isle sur Risle
Belle Isle sur Risle
#1 of 2 in Pont-Audemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
32.7 km away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
33.6 km away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 km away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
23.7 km away
Le Clos des Fontaines
Le Clos des Fontaines
#1 of 1 in Jumieges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
25.3 km away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Coq aux Champs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Coq aux Champs

Property: Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Address: 400 Chemin du Petit Coq, 27500 Campigny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Campigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Petit Coq aux Champs 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Pont Audemer in Haute Normandie, the good life in normandie is not a myth. The Petit Coq aux Champs is nestled in the heart of the countryside between Deauville, Honfleur and Etretat. Let us share with you our vision of a relaxing stay in our privileged natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Petit Coq aux Champs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing