We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campigny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I went there for lunch with family and friends and we were terribly disappointed. This place is hell. After sitting one hour, close to neighbours in a room with no soul, we had finished our first bottle of wine without seeing any other food but cheap butter and pistachio...
After the delay, the worst was to come with our meal. A real disgrace. Nothing was worth a quarter of the price we had to pay. Food had no taste, was dry and we were still hungry after lunch. And needless to say, the service is worst than in a parisian café.
Avoid this place. There are good and honest restaurants around.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rudyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

We spent a very pleasant night in this small and attractive hotel with large restaurants, bars and sun lounges which look out on a well kept garden. We enjoyed the degustation menu which was competently cooked and served. The patronne was very charming and, when I rang to ask if I had mislaid an earring in the hotel, made great efforts to look for it, even taking the vacuum bag to pieces. She eventually rang and emailed me several days later to say that it had been found.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Our first stay was during "la canicule" of early August 2003.

Beautiful surroundings and brilliant experience - (a swimming pool should be made a legal requirement in such conditions - no enforcement needed here).

Mme. Fabienne Desmonts and M. Jean-Marie Huard were / are fantastic hosts. Mme. Desmonts speaks faultless English and graciously allowed us to try our French (myself, wife and, then, 9 year-old daughter) without any sign of sniggering!

Food was superb using really fresh produce "du terroir". Even our daughter ate dishes that were free of fries or "chicken-based" fried products. On a more liquid front, for me, the zenith was my introduction to "Le Prestige" - if you know, you know!!

What should I say? Tempted to report that it wasn't worth the visit (hopefully to make sure that our favourite room is free for our next stay - not saying when) - but I can't - not sorry. M. KH

  • Stayed: August 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonsieurFaucon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Tend to agree with the earlier review.

An idyllic situation and very peaceful. There the pluses tend to dry up.

The room was small with no room for seating and the clothes cupboard smelt of damp. The bathromm had - curiously- two adjacent sinks but no means of inserting two people simultaneously. Common parts in need of a makeover with a depressing indoor garden and dark furniture-some of the armchairs too low to extracty yourself from, once inserted.

Pleasant dining room and OK cooking- though my partner's lamb had to visit the kitchen twice, really undercooked.

A pricey experience for a generally unmemorable night's stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank morganman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2006

We really enjoyed our three night break in April. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful spot. Beautifully maintained gardens. Food and service both excellent. Very attentive and helpful staff. The reception and lounge/ bar area does need updating but the restaurant and rooms are very pretty and typically French. Excellent shower. A couple of well signposted country walks from the doorstep and excellent access to the attractions of Normandy.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kensworth, England
119
Reviewed 27 August 2005

Hmmmm. It looked great in the photos - picturesque and quaint - and on arrival we were impressed ...... until we looked closer. We only stayed one night but it was enough for us to decide never to return.

Good points: Quiet. Good, tasty food (but the service wasn't up to much). Pretty, 'picture postcard' appearance. Er .... that's about it.

Bad points: Closer inspection revealed a very jaded hotel that seems to be living on past glories. It really is in need of money being spent on a big refurbishment. The room looked OK but was cold and quite damp (and heating was refused because 'it isn't yet September'. Yes, really!). The extractor fans didn't work in the loo or bathroom (which had a twee, open window into the bedroom, causing additional dampness). The shower screen was expertly constructed to deliver copious quantities of water all over the floor - ten minute shower, twenty minute mopping up exercise. No tea-making facilities (although we now know that this is normal in France). Thoughtless, tired decor and a very odd mix of gloomy and 1950's glaring lighting. And DOGS IN THE RESTAURANT! For goodness sake! Are they kidding?

Worst point: Ridiculous cost of stay for what you actually get (both room and food). I honestly think that the owners must be laughing up their sleeves at how much money they are raking in, without feeling the need to spend any of it on providing their guests with either decent, well maintained surroundings or proper, friendly service (I accept that we are English and maybe are not treated with the same deference as other nationalities!).

One to avoid for a couple of years until they wake up and invest in an upgrade of both the building and their attitude to the people who give them a living.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre accès direct sur la piscine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campigny
3.6 km away
Belle Isle sur Risle
Belle Isle sur Risle
#1 of 2 in Pont-Audemer
577 reviews
32.9 km away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
820 reviews
25.9 km away
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 2 in Pont-L'Eveque
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
531 reviews
26.0 km away
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
33.8 km away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Coq aux Champs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Coq aux Champs

Address: 400 Chemin du Petit Coq, 27500 Campigny, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Campigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Campigny
Price Range: $197 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Petit Coq aux Champs 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Pont Audemer in Haute Normandie, the good life in normandie is not a myth. The Petit Coq aux Champs is nestled in the heart of the countryside between Deauville, Honfleur and Etretat. Let us share with you our vision of a relaxing stay in our privileged natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Petit Coq aux Champs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing