We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight!”

The Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Lighthouse Café has a beautiful ambience; it is an inviting space, light & airy with a French Provençal and Coastal feel which makes one feel right at home.Together Brett and Heleen as owners, chef and hosts have truly created a “home from home” experience for their customers.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We had a celebratory birthday dinner here last night and it was amazing from the second we walked in. The restaurant was warm and cosy and we were welcomed by our amazing waitron who was attentive without hovering. The food was out of the world. I cannot think of a more delicious meal I've had in a very long time. It is obvious that attention has been paid to every detail and it is an amazing experience which you should definitely treat yourself too - we'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TabbyQ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Thank you Tabby for taking the time to write such a lovely review, what a great pleasure to have customers who notice the detail and good service...we certainly have the most wonderful staff and while we work at keeping those food standards up, feedback like this is always so encouraging, know we are getting it right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 778 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed lunch here with my daughter. Thoroughly deserved it’s excellent reputation.
...Apparently TripAdvisor demands a longer review so I will add that both specials of the day were terrific (Mauritian Bouillabaisse and Kingklip).

Thank AnthonyDWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

You said enough! Thank you for taking the time to write a good review, really happy that you had a good lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

My besty and I had an early morning appointment in Simon’s Town so decided to have a nice brekkie before. A quick Google search suggested The Lighthouse Cafe.

We had the delicious full house breakfast. Generous portions with creamy scrambled eggs. Yum.

The staff were friendly and very attentive.

Thank EllleBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

So happy you were directed to us by Google! Hope to see you for a good lunch or dinner too..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018 via mobile

From the welcome to the wonderful warm ambiance to the delicious food - this describes The Lighthouse Cafe as always.
The food is fresh, well presented, tastefully cooked and plentiful. The menu covers all plates and always offers daily specials.
We have eaten there regularly and have never been disappointed- it has always been a wonderful experience.
Service is great - the owner always present helping and engaging, Phillip was excellent.
The restaurant is beautifully kept, clean and welcoming- great ambiance for a great time.
Wine and beverages covers all palates - Durbanville hills is the house wine!
Prices are excellent - especially so for the wonderful food, service and environment.
We will be back again.

Thank mikeatitisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you so much taking the time to write such a comprehensive overview of our restaurant and for coming back to visit again, that is surely the greatest compliment to us. Will pass on good vibes to Philip he certainly is great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

We left CT over 3 years ago but when we needed a venue for my wife's 60th 'The Lighthouse' was our first choice. 25 people had a fab 3 course meal plus tea/coffee for R250 and EVERYONE raved about the food and decor!

Many thanks to Heleen, Brett and staff.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MGM1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thank you so much Mike & Hennette for choosing us to host your special day, it was SUCH a pleasure having you and your friends and as always we find it so gratifying that everyone was happy with their food and their experience in our cafe..will pass on to staff as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Scarborough, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to The Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing