We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoriya Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Victoriya Palace
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Medan, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Beautiful Views...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is our first trip to Dharmsala, Himachal Pradesh, India, to attend His Holiness Dalai Lama 14th Teaching at Main Tibetan Temple. Stayed 4 days (March 2012) and it was wonderful...
Hotel was clean and the staffs was friendly & helpful.
Our room had amazing views and overlooked the beautiful of Glaciers Mountains & the Valley, and spacious balcony. There is a waterfall near hotel, too.
Highly recommend to people who like beauty of nature and would definately stay again.

Thank you so very much Mr. Deepak Kausal for your hospitality during our stay at your hotel.
Your sincerely, Henny Erna / Eddy Erna / Erik Surya from Medan - Indonesia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanny_Erna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Oh ! ...only if we could have had some basic hotel comfort...forget about staying in a VictoriaYan 'Palace' :(

Positives
- Location. Location... & only Location.

Negatives
- There was practically only 1 person for Housekeeping+ Restaurant+Room service.
He (keep counting)...helped get our luggage into rooms / who cleared the restaurant
tables / served us the frugal food available / brought tea to the rooms / got the beddings
done / got the towels for us. Seeing this One man Army.. we nicknamed him Rambo paaji

- The hotel has FAR TOO MANY STAIRS. People having problems related to knee/
legs, less stamina, obesity etc., should think thrice.

- There is practically NO HORIZONTAL SPACE. No lawns, No well prepared terrace, which
one may yearn for, just to sit there, listen to some soul searching music or just read a
book, or just meditate in front of the mighty Dhauladhars.

- There is no activity in the Hotel... more on the lines of Bed & Breakfast.

- The towels & linen were very dirty.

- When we asked for butter on the Roti, they said that the butter & ghee were finished.
Tea bags were not available.
Juice was not available.
Dessert was not available.
The breakfast inclusive in the package... included only Tea & veg sandwich (with an
option of parantha).....forget about Juice, Cornflakes, muesli, fruits, one Indian Dish etc.

So my verdict is that though the people over there are nice, but there is practically no management or manpower required to run a good (even a skeletal) hotel. If they take some lesson & focus on providing good comfort & food, then I would not mind paying $100 for a room per night for this location.

Room Tip: Front Rooms / Mountain facing Rooms WOULD BE THE ONLY criteria to choose this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r_jain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Victoriya palace is a excellent hotel placed in natural beauty having all facility,where dreams come true.i never forgate my hevenly trip.mantu

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

it was a bad experience to stay in this hotel at a high price.even there was no phone in the rooms.but the staff was very co-operative. the food was also very delicious. even then it is around 5 floor high from road level and there is no elevator in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lsmandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dharamsala hotels

new delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Our stay @ Hotel Victoriya, Naddi was a great one. Since I was on vacations after a long time, I was searching for a place calm and peaceful, and the stay here provided exactly that. The best feature was the views of the mountains here. Brilliant snow capped peaks can be viewed form the room window every morning which makes a perfect start of the day. The food was good too with nice on-time service. I suggest anyone going to Dharamshala to try out this hotel in Naddi.

Room Tip: Opt for Premium/Cottage Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhishake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jabalpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We arrived here on first week afer out hectic shedule of our daily life and had a good experience here with he friendy saff and he nice service. Te thing tht gives usthe relaxation is he view of valley from ou hotel room is ery beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khusynandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
2.8 km away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 km away
Bob's n Barley
Bob's n Barley
#15 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Anand Palace
Hotel Anand Palace
#38 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#16 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#9 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 km away
Gagan Resorts
Gagan Resorts
#52 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoriya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoriya Palace

Property: Hotel Victoriya Palace
Address: Naddi, Upper Dharamshala | Upper Dharamshala, Kangra District, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victoriya Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the lap of Dhauladhars lies Hotel Victoriya Palace, a luxury Hotel in Dharamshala with the calmness of nature along with the amenities of a city. Visitors are welcomed by a beautiful Reception which is designed to keep the Himachal look intact. The rooms are a blend contemporary comfort and traditional Pahari Hospitality. Presenting world-class standards of comfort and convenience and a professional quality of service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing