We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate refreshing experience!”
Review of Malwa Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malwa Retreat
Reviewed 5 December 2010

It was the great experience at Malwa Retreat. We stayed in the new tent which is facing the valley. Tents are ultramodern ( except TV - cable problem) We stayed for one day, one night but didnot get bored - a peaceful and refreshing exp. Food - limited choices, but preparation is good. Only problem we faced in tent - Because it is made with thick cloth - no sound proofing - person standing outside could hear what we are talking and vice versa. One must visit the place atleast once ! Thanks MPTDC.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaidehiamogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

The hotel is located very near to the legant imperial complex , but Mala resort is far away from this & there is also no conveyance. All the bus going to Dhar stop at Malwa retreat. The accommodation was very nice though for heavy rain the walls were damp. however I must say about the hotel manager, Singhji. His co-operation in the whole stay is not forgettable. he arranged our mandu trip & also made us complementary breakfast . the food was very nice at the restaurent & they are made just in front of yur eyes in a very clean kitchen. Malwa retreat has a breathtaking view at its backside lawn beside the tents.The reception counter is very well decorated with many brochures of MPTDC in english ( as in most of the places I find these in hindi) . Overall my stay was really memorable in Mandu not only for its beauty but also for this nice small hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

the rooms are a bit tired, the canteen is absic with limited menu. But there are some nice new tents with all mod cons, if you can afford the higher rate. But fo not very much more you could stay at the much superior malwa resort

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline.nixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I stayed there for 2 days with my parents. It was a awesome experience as the resort is located in a marvelous position and the design is perfect to enjoy the natural beauty from every corner of it. The cleanliness, the food and the room rents are the just above attractive. In the restaurant the foods are prepared in front of the visitors perhaps to show that they are using good kind of vegetable and other ingredients. Only the room service is not upto the mark.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsyntn_dtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Malwa Retreat has just 9 double-rooms on offer. They are a little old and need some updating, which seems to be underway. Our double-room was decently sized, had an updated bathroom and was quite comfortable with a color TV and ample closet space. It even had a small balcony, which looked out over a forested valley . The only problem was that we couldn’t close the windows completely because of an air-cooler that was installed in the center. Thankfully, there was at least a protective net, which ensured that no bugs or insects crawled into the room. However, they didn’t provide any weather or sound protection. Since the weather was mild when we got there, we didn’t have any trouble but in winters I’m sure it must get quite cold.

The worse problem, though, was the sound. When large, noisy families gathered in the backyard to drink and make merry, which happened twice during our stay, they ruined our evenings completely :). Since updates are ongoing, for the sake of future visitors, I hope the windows get fixed.

For a detailed review please check our blog @ http://10yearitch.com/?p=2443

Follow our 18 month journey through India @ http://10yearitch.com

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tenyearitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Me with my son and wife had an excellent time in M.P.Tourisms Malwa Retreat in Mandu, a vibrant hill area in Madhya Pradesh. We stayed there two days and one night. The location of the hotel is never forgettable. It's just in front of a deep valley and behind the awesome Jahaz Mahal, one of the most beautiful monument in Mandu. The rooms are nice,extremely neat and clean, the fittings are pretty costly. No different the bathrooms. The rooms are very airy and perfect for enjoy the natural beauty. The room services and the service boys are good too. The food in the restaurant is also nice. Overall cost is very affordable. The small garden is well decorated and every facilities e.g. car parking are available. The only thing to be cautious about is the deal among the local guides and the hotel guys. You may have to pay few extra money if you hire their guides.And the manager is a typical reluctant government employee. Overall it was an awesome experience in staying there. We enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SdattaKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The malwa retreat is a perfect economy hotel with well appointed boarding & lodging in a place that lacks any formal hotel services. Located at the entry of mandu town, in front of one of the heritage buildings & surrounded by sitafal orchards, the hotel is instantly likeable. The campus is well maintained with a small garden & adequate parking space. The rear of the hotel is a hillside with lush forest views.

Room service is good and food is quite likeable as an economical option. Most historical monuments are a walkable distance from the hotel & one can stroll about the place at ease.

As with other hotels, it is unsafe to stroll in Mandu from dusk to dawn, it being a tribal area.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank honshu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandu
28.6 km away
Hotel Shree Ram
Hotel Shree Ram
#2 of 3 in Dhar
6 reviews
27.9 km away
Hotel Sanginee
Hotel Sanginee
#2 of 2 in Maheshwar
8 reviews
0.0 km away
Kanchan Recreation
Kanchan Recreation
#1 of 15 in Maheshwar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Hotel Royal Residency Maheshwar
28.1 km away
Hotel Devraj Place
Hotel Devraj Place
#8 of 15 in Maheshwar
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malwa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malwa Retreat

Address: Madhya Pradesh Paryatan, Mandu 454010, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Dhar District > Mandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mandu
Price Range: $17 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing