We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome at Orchha”
Review of Orchha Home-Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchha Home-Stay
Ranked #1 of 20 Orchha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at Orchha”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

After quite a long drive from Khajuraho, the cool, mud room at Orchha, behind the Orchha Laxmi Narayan temple at Ganj, was such a welcome. We had put up at Hari and Kusmi's house. The lady of the house was such a warm person, she took personal care while serving our food. The room was clean, the toilet though not attached to the room, was alright. The bed was also clean. The windows had secure mosquito nets and the room had a wonderful view of the Orchha fort complex. It was pleasant to see the sun come up above the temple and the greens in early morning.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipanwita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    27
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
60
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

After reading the reviews and viewing the pictures on TA we took the plunge and booked this homestay. An Autorickshaw collected us from the station and took us first to the homestay. We were pleasantly surprised and left our bags securely locked away and went to view the sites and have lunch.

Upon returning to the homestay in the early evening we played with the children from the village for an hour or so as they were doing their homework which was lovely. They really entertained us and it was a treat. When the sun went down the 'BUGS' came out to play which was annoying due to the sheer quanity of them, we were well protected so not being bitten just attacked!!!

Dinner was with the family in the yard/porch. The food was basic but nice. The bug attacks continued!!!

As it was pitch black we went to bed at about 8.30 and climbed into the bed which had a mosquito net which was effective at keeping the bugs out but not from keeping out the dirt that had fallen in from the ceiling.

This homestay was very close to perfect but for us it was just missing in a few minor areas. I would recommend going and if you love it stay for a while or just a night. If you hate it then appreciate the surroundings and the fact you are supporting a very poor family. After all it's only a night and one you won't forget!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardLovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betwa, Manager at Orchha Home-Stay, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Now that the monsoons are over, the bugs will disappear. We've repainted and spruced up the rooms after your visit, so even the faint hearted can take the plunge now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The families are truly hospitable and welcoming. And so are the hosts of the "Orchha homestay" organisation" which are very helpful with organising transport (specially from and to Jhansi but also to other destinations) and can give you lots of information about sightseeing etc. The facilities are surprisingly good and clean with large rooms. Don't expect too much regarding the meals (not included in the room rate but cheap - breakfast 40rupees, dinner 70rupees). They are pretty basic, not what you would get in a restaurant, but you can see how they are prepared and interact with the family members in the mean time which makes it special and memorable.
The homestays are located a little bit out of town (20min walk to the town centre) but it's a pleasant walk or the also rent out bicycles which is a good way of exploring Orchha. And Orchha is such a nice, relaxed village, you should absolutely go there!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wicked0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

For those who wish - and have the time - to delve into a lovely, non 'flash-in-the-pan' human experience in India, staying in any one of the four (now five) Orchha homestays will leave you with the sweetest memories. Not only are the rooms clean, spacious and basically appointed (sometimes with your very own miniature 'valets' - inquisitive but non-intrusive children at your door), the 'tucker' prepared by their families is well worth coming home to every night! The philosophy behind the homestays works: open your door to travellers, work for them in terms of spreading genuine rural Indian culture and make money for your own hardworking family. No handouts, human warmth on a daily basis and a genuine interchange of cultures (incidentally, for those insisting on hot and cold running water, this does not apply to you). I worked with all four homestay families for a month way back in January 2010 and the positive vibe still lingers: a 13 out of 10 life experience for those who wanna get off the beaten track and make lifelong connections.

Room Tip: All adorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieMarisainIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Warnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

What can you say about this? It is quite an experience, and very humbling, to share someone's home when they have, frankly, not very much to share in the first place. But anyone who uses this organisation can expect to make friends very quickly with the family they stay with, and to receive real warmth from people whose only real interest is in looking after you properly.

This is not for those who want hotel type accommodation or who want room service. You need to enter on a journey with the families who are in this scheme - play with their children, talk to them (pigeon English!) about their lives - and if you do so, it is incredibly eye opening and rewarding. You simply cannot buy an experience like this anywhere else.

The accommodation is simple, but clean. The scheme runs like this - you get the luxury part of the house (a separate building with a double bed and mosquito net, plus fan) and the family stay in their house next door. You all share a tap for water in the yard, and a dry toilet. It is close to back to basics, but I have to say it works.

The family provides food. This is one of the great surprises of the stay, because it is FANTASTIC! Watching puris, parathas and naans being cooked in and over the tandoor in the morning for breakfast is close to heaven, as is eating them fresh.

Go and try it. We will again if we go back there!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Hellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

If you are actually trying to live "the Indian way", this is the best way you will ever get to acheive this, I had the chance to stay 12 weeks with the home-stay families, and it was such a good experience; The famiies were so welcoming, as well as the people working in the NGO, they really made me fell part of the project....
I strongly recommend this experience, you will definitely not regret it, especially if you stay more than two or three days... go meet and get to know the samosa sellers, the shop keepers, the river, the random people that will come up and ask you where you come from, everything is worth discovering !!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manou7318731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2011

'Homestay at Orccha' was an extremely well organized and a passionate endeavor.
My husband and I will never forget orchha. We are thankful for the warm and generous hospitality we received. The food that was served to us was tastier than what we ate at home.
The rooms were extremely clean. All the rooms we saw were very very pretty. We would definitely go back to this place again.
We highly recommend Homestay for passionate travelers.
Families with children also stand to gain a lot by exposing their children to new people and societies.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paruvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orchha hotels
1.3 km away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
640 reviews
2.7 km away
Bundelkhand Riverside
2.4 km away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
JenJon Faagun Haveli Orchha
1.0 km away
Hotel Hare Krishna
Hotel Hare Krishna
#9 of 9 in Orchha
1 reviews
1.4 km away
The Orchha Resort
The Orchha Resort
#1 of 9 in Orchha
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchha Home-Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchha Home-Stay

Property: Orchha Home-Stay
Address: Lakshmi Mandir Road | Ganj Mohalla, Orchha 472246, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with a local family & discover India differently. Orchha is a great place to relax in and discover 16th century monuments. We offer clean and comfortable rooms, furnished in traditional style, built in the courtyard of the host family. The rooms have fans and mosquito nets and the bathroom & toilets are ecological. The family provides home-cooked food and kids have plenty of playmates. The home-stay is a 25 minute walk from the palace. We also have bicycles on rent. This is a social enterprise allowing poor families to benefit from tourism and visitors to see how most families in India live today. Call it responsible tourism or eco tourism - your visit will improve the lives of many and be an experience to remember. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing