We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We recenty stayed at this hotel and honestly cannot fault it. The rooms were modern and spacious, the food was gorgeous and plenty of choice too. Staff were very friendly and especially with the children. I think this hotel is an ideal base for a great family ski holiday and we will definately be returning. Also you get free wine and local beer with evening meals!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank claire_hatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Must mention the dining room staff lead by Charlie and our waiter Lambert. They went beyond the call of duty in making our dining experience possibly just fine. Our infant boy was a little unwell during our stay but we managed perfectly with their assistance and I should also thank the staff at reception.
Otherwise had a great stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0312M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is our second trip to Austria and once again we found a lovely family hotel with friendly staff,excellent facilities and gourmet food.
The hotel is huge and yet it still feels very homely. It is typically Austrian which to some may seem old fashioned but we thought it was lovely.
LOCATION.
We went as a family of three with a 5 year old to ski. The hotel is 100 metres from both the nursery slopes and the ski bus which takes you on a 10 minute ride to either of the major ski areas.(We got our skis etc from Ski Set which is right next to the ski bus stop. Gary and his staff were fantastic and friendly, genuinely making a fuss of the kids.
ROOMS.
We had room 315 which was advertised as a suite. It was smaller than I expected but still very comfortable and quiet. We were offered an apartment but these are above the night club so it would have been to noisy.
FOOD.
Absolutely amazing !! Breakfast was a good choice although maybe an omelette chef or similar may have been good. We had a waiter called Kornel who was fab. Very attentive but not overbearing with a great sense of humour. A credit to the hotel .
The evening meal however was something else. 5 course gourmet quality food and I will defy anyone to not find something they liked on the menu. Unlimited wine,beer or soft drinks with the meal was an added bonus and this was a great saving throughout the week.
RELAXATION AREAS.
The pool and saunas etc were as you would expect in Austria. Clean, warm and very well maintained. My 5 yr old loved it and after skiing all day then swimming was flat out by 8pm.
I would return to this hotel without hesitation. Seefeld is a lovely little town with loads to do. It is a 30 minute transfer from Innsbruck( terrible airport by the way, unable to cope with the volume of holiday makers leaving on a Saturday. Thomson Holidays please sort this out!!).
Just as a footnote my wife left her very large makeup bag in the room when we left for the airport contining jewellery and goodness knows what else with a value of about £300. We rang the hotel on our return to England and within 4 days we had the bag with all its contents intact.
Very well done Hotel Kaltschmid

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alident5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Only moan was Room 412 which you should avoid at all costs. Whilst the size is good. The bath is tiny and if you are over 4ft tall you'll struggle to get out of it. Also the noise in this room throughout the night from the street and the bells at 7am are a major problem.
However the food in the restaurant was excellent and our waiter Lambert was also excellent. He made every effort to ensure that dining was a pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: Keep away from Room 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday in the Ferinhotel Kaltschmid - it’s superb!

This is one of a number of hotels in the same family chain in Seefeld - there are 3 others and includes Alpenpark which I stayed at 2 years ago. I’d recommend this hotel over Alphenpark, mainly due to it’s central location and proximity to the nursery slopes but we enjoyed our stay in both!

Pro’s:
- Central Location - less than 5 mins walk to Ski School, Nursery slopes, ski hire shop and ski bus stop.

- Food is superb. 5 course gourmet meals with a very good selection. There were also 2 special nights for seafood and all sorts of meat! If you are a foodie you won’t be disappointed. A selection of drinks are included if you are half board and include soft drinks like coke and sprite, water and house wine. Service is also excellent.

- Leisure facilities - the pool was very popular with families and young children until about 18:30 which is when we tended to visit. The main pool is not as large as you might imagine if you see some images of it but it’s big enough to get wet and have a dip. There is also an AMZAING outdoor hot tub on the 4th floor with a panoramic view of Seefeld and the slopes . It was the perfect location to relax in after a hard days skiing!

- Lots of evening entertainment in all of the various clubs/pub that are joined onto the hotel.

- Rooms were good - spacious, big flat screen TV with 200 odd channels (inc BBC1 and 2!), nice hot shower, safe etc! No kettle in our room so you may wish to bring your own!

Cons:
Very little as the hotel is superb!

- The hotel is made up of 4 or 5 separate buildings that are now joined together by walkways. If you do not end up in the main building there may be a short indoor walk between your bedroom and the pool/reception/dining room etc. We were on the 4th floor and had to go down 2 flights of stairs, along a corridor and then down another fight of stairs to reach the dinning room! Not a major issue really but it will take a day or 2 to find your bearings!

- You may hear some noise from the Britannia pub if your room is located within close proximity. We heard only a very small noise on a few occasions so no problem.

Non-hotel specific info that might be of interest:
You may be able to get a better deal booking your ski gear direct rather than via a tour operator:

- Ski / Board Gear - Skiset is opposite the nursery slopes and in the centre of town. There is a 10% online discount compared to store price: www.skirental.at

- Lift Passes - if you are a beginner and are likely to spend the majority of time on the nursery slope you might get more value out of a Happy Ski Points Lift Pass (pay as you go) rather than a standard lift pass (our tour operator did not even mention this type to us which cost a lot more!)

- The ski school we ended up at was excellent. We had a superb English beginners ski instructor called Mary . http://www.schi-seefeld.at/ .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anon1979AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed with young family over UK half term (2 adults, 6 year old and 4 year old) and had a very nice time. We booked an apartment so that we'd get 2 bedrooms - as a bonus meant we got a kitchen even though we were half board and it was handy to have a fridge and proper cooker for kids milk, cups of tea etc.

Room was traditional in style - very familiar style to anyone who has stayed in alpine areas before, not "designer" but certainly acceptable for what we needed. The pool was great for kids, and the adults only spa area was lovely and quiet for adults.

The thing which marked this hotel out was the service from the staff - absolutely faultless. The food (and good range of inclusive drinks on half board ) were extremely plentiful, and good quality. They looked after our family extremely well, and I would certainly recommend this hotel to a young family like ours.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Having spent the past 10 years almost going to Ischgl for our family ski holidays, we returned last week to an old favourit, the Kaltschmid in Seefeld. Only 40 mins out of Innsbruck, and therefore if the snow is good, it's a very convenient place for a shorter holiday, which ours was. Seefeld is the complete opposite of Ischgl, and the difference is very noticeable. Certainly it is a much more relaxing and nicer town. The Kaltschmid is quite well located for the nursery slopes, and for the bus station to either of the 2 main ski areas. It is well placed for wandering around town in the evening, and not too far from the station. Staff are generally good, food was good, pool and sauna areas outside jacuzzi are good. There are 2 parts to the hotel, and the main part is I think better than the annexe next door, which seems a bit dated and tired. I found the bed very uncomfortable. But overall very happy with our choice, and we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the main hotel are better than in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.3 km away
Seelos
Seelos
#23 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
166 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#30 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
88 reviews
0.3 km away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#4 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hochland Hotel Residenz
Hochland Hotel Residenz
#20 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
101 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Haymon
Hotel Haymon
#5 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
453 reviews
0.4 km away
Alpenpark Resort
Alpenpark Resort
#19 of 59 in Seefeld in Tirol
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienhotel Kaltschmid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienhotel Kaltschmid

Address: Olympiastrasse 101, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#19 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range: $131 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferienhotel Kaltschmid 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ferienhotel Kaltschmid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid Hotel Seefeld In Tirol
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid Seefeld
Kaltschmid Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing