We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in all of Greece”
Review of Aetoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aetoma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Great location (once we found it) in Nafplion. Parking is a challenge, but once that was settled we were warmly welcomed and assisted with our luggage. Our room was off the lobby facing the street. It was small (we had to be creative in positioning our two suitcases on the floor) but clean and well appointed. The staff was exceptionally helpful with maps, restaurant recommendations, etc. The breakfast was the best we had touring around Greece in that there were several options, including some hot filled pastries. We would stay here again, but request a room in a different location. We noticed a number of stray cats just outside the front door during the day and sure enough, they fought and carried on during the night right outside our window. Our sleep was also interrupted by inconsiderate guests coming into the lobby area late at night (there is no lobby attendant at night).

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank SammyK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2008

We really enjoyed our stay in Nauplion. As suggested by the forums, we took the public bus and just walked to our hotel. Thanks for the tip. The owner carried our bags from the first floor to our room which was no easy task. She also was very helpful and seemed to enjoy talking to everyone. The breakfast is a riot as she keeps bringing more goodies, and more goodies. We had an early bus ride back to Athens, so she made us an excellent doggie bag. If you can get into this hotel, it is perfect and so reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crestwicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Okay, if we are being fussy; this isn't really a hotel, it's a very well equipped and superbly staffed bed & breakfast place. Right in the heart of the lovely little port of Nafplio, in a pretty square with a church, a big tree and a statue and some cats, sits this smashing little five room accomodation, the former family owner of the owner Panagiota. She is a truly welcoming host, and has a very hard working team with her, including her son at weekends. We had room 3, which was a very generous size with a balcony onto the square, which gets sunshine all day. Flatscreen TV, mini-bar, aircon and a bathroom with one of the best showers I've ever had - no contest. Everything is spotlessly clean. They serve breakfast until 12.30, which is almost lunchtime, and this kind of makes sense when you see the size of the breakfasts; there's a point when you think is she every going to stop bringing stuff out of the kitchen? What you can't eat she'll make up for a lunchtime doggy bag for you if you ask nicely. Lots of spot on tips for local restaurants, best beaches, historic sites. All for €100 per room per night, it's such good value I feel daft for telling people about it 'cos chances are we won't be able to get back in again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

The Hotel Aetoma is a charming Bed & Breakfast in the Historical part of Nafplion, arguably one of the most beautiful towns in Greece, in the Peloponnese, on the coast of the Ionian Sea. Our room was very comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The service was impeccable, and personal. The owner sees to it that she serves you breakfast herself at the time you desire to fit your own travel plans. At least that was the case with us. She then engages you, if you wish, in a very pleasant conversation just as if you were her own personal guest visiting her home. In fact, in this case, it is. The B&B is located in the house where she was born, we were told.

All in all, we could not find better lodging with the personal touch we had at Hotel Aetoma. It is our understanding that the name means "Eagle" in Greek. If you travel to Greece, do not miss Nafplion, or the Aetoma Hotel. We were glad we didn't.

Mohamed & Julianne
Skillman, NJ

mhkilany_2004@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skillmantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is an absolutely gorgeous little (5 rooms) B&B tucked away on a small square with big history. The room was very comfortable, with all the conveniences, and spacious and lovely decor too. The breakfast was excellent, service excellent, and location just right. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We loved our stay at the Hotel Aetoma last September. This is a cozy bed and breakfast right in the heart of the tourist pedestrian district of Nauplion, situated within short walking distance of the bus terminal, restaurants, stores and attractions. The owner, Panagiota (I hope I spelled her name right) was extremely welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable of Nauplion and its surroundings. The rooms were beautifully furnished and immaculately clean, in this classical original home dating from I believe the early 1800's. The breakfast is great. Nauplion is a fantastic must-see for visitors to Greece. It is conveniently located (one hour bus trip) nearby to the Mycenae ruins of Agamemnon's palace, and many other archeological sites. The city of Nauplion itself has a tremendous historical past, and the enormous Venetian fortifications towering over the City give it incredible panoramas on a 360 degree angle from any location whether up in the forts or down in the city. Nauplion is just 2 - 3 hours drive from Athens. We want to thank Panagiota for making our stay so enjoyable, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamilton044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We spent 4 days at the Aetoma Hotel in Naplion in late September 2007. I would call it more of a lovely bed and breakfast. There are 5 rooms available on two floors. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully decored. The bed, a king, was very comfortable. We had a shower/tub in our room and our relatives had a spacious shower.

All our encounters with the onwer, Panayiota, her son, Akis, and assisant, Kerri were extremely pleasant and they were very helpful in explaining how to get to places we wanted to visit. They went out of their way to help us at all times.

The morning breakfast was included in the daily rate of approximately $155. Words can't adequately express how abudant, fresh, and delicious everything was. From cereal, fruit, yogurt, tiropita (cheese pastry), a variety of breads and cakes, coffee, tea, and juice you were delightfully stuffed and graciously served each morning.

The parking is limited in front of the hotel, but parking is available nearby. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YiasasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
7.2 km away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 37 in Nafplio
447 reviews
0.1 km away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 37 in Nafplio
898 reviews
0.3 km away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
657 reviews
0.4 km away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#17 of 37 in Nafplio
302 reviews
0.4 km away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#16 of 37 in Nafplio
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aetoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aetoma Hotel

Address: 2 Plateia Agiou Spiridona, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $108 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aetoma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nafplion, a city of magical breeze and unique history, a revamped mansion of the 18th century combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of the present and creates the ideal environment for relaxation and exceptional holidays. The neoclassical luxury appears in each of the 5 hospitable rooms, one of which seems like it slipped silently and took its place in the loft. Visitors feel immediately that they have found both a familiar and unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Aetoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aetoma Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing