We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Everything you want and expect in a luxury hotel is here. Do go there - the drive up is interesting but worth the effort and you will be amazed. Lots of little places and spaces where the staff turn up just as you need a drink. Food superb especially the risotto. Lovely romantic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcritic30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    27
    13
    12
    7
See reviews for
28
119
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We first came to Ca's Xorc about 3 years ago for dinner with friends. The restaurant (and hotel) is in a beautiful location looking out over Soller in the distance and beyond to the sea. We had such an enchanting evening that we promised ourselves that we would come back one day for a special occasion and stay for longer. That occasion presented itself in the form of our honeymoon and, in the spirit of 'saving the best 'til last', we decided to wrap up our three week around the world adventure with five nights at Ca's Xorc, relaxing in one of the most romantic locations we knew of. We couldnt wait!

Sadfly our stay proved to be a series of disappointments. The hotel room we had (number 2 in Roman numerals) was clean and quaint but in no way justified the 245 Euro per night price tag. The bathroom was very small and dated, although the shower was good. The bed was soft (although some may prefer this) and by the second night I had terrible back ache. Some of the room furnishings were strangely out of keeping with the overall aesthetic of the hotel and looked cheap and nasty, as though they had been chosen as an after thought. We didn't see any of the more expensive rooms so couldn't comment on their value for money or otherwise.

The restaurant too was a disappointment, which was especially sad for us as this was one of the main reasons for choosing to come back in the first place. Although it had been expensive 3 years ago when we came, it seemed reasonable value for money and the service had been good. This time though, the food (the lunches in particular) was mediocre and the service was indifferent and slow, although we noticed that friends and aquaintances of the manager and staff members received a noticeably more attentive level of service than we did.

Of all the hotels we stayed at on our honeymoon (8 in total) Ca's Xorc was, by some margin, both the worst value for money and the most disappointing. I say this based on a range of different experiences ranging from a $15 per night cabin in Cambodia to £350 per night in Raffles, Singapore (which was so wonderful it WAY surpassed our expectations, in spite of the cost). By this I mean that we're happy to go for the more basic and simple option if budget and circumstances dictate, and we're also happy to push the boat out sometimes for a special occasion and if budget allows. As long as we feel as though we're getting value for money.

When my husband was taken ill on the third day (to be fair, not related to Ca's Xorc's restaurant we don't think) the staff couldn't have cared less and I doubt that the manager was even made aware of the fact. I couldn't help feeling that it was a case of 'take the money and run'. We both strongly felt that Ca's Xorc is living on its past repuatation and no longer takes the time to ensure that guests' expectations are met. We weren't once asked whether we were enjoying our stay.

Finally - and this was our mistake, rather than the hotel's (as we should have remembered from our first visit) - it's worth bearing in mind that Ca's Xorc is situated at the top of a very windy and steep 1km long drive which is tricky to negiotiate in daylight, and more so in the dark. Because of this, there were some nights where we felt a bit cut off, not wanting to negotiate the trip in the car down to Deia or Soller to eat, but not wanting to eat in the hotel restaurant either for reasons already mentioned. In fairness though, this may not be an issue for those only staying a couple of nights.

Unlike other hotels on our trip, we will not be recommending Ca's Xorc to friends (nor will we be coming back in the future), although I hope that we will come back to this lovely island to sample the good things that it has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Readhead17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Majorque is more well known for its overcrowded "playas" than for its out of the beaten tracks hotels, this is a pity as some jewels are hidden in the north west coast. Ca's Xorc is one of this : wonderfull little boutique hotel with magnificent views, a first class restaurant and a first class service. This is a romantic hotel to spend a honeymoon, a paradise in a peacefull environement. If you want to discover the magnificent countryside, take a ride by foot to Deia, a good 2hours walk will bring you to a delightfull beach and a nice village. We spent 7 nights there and cannot wait to go back. Isabelle Maslard

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maslard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

It's a cultural thing I think. Overall we thought the hotel was lovely, but not without fairly serious reservations.

Ca's Xorc is German owned and run. While we were there, most of the guests were German too. And so if there was no staff member on hand (there usually wasn't) to offer a drink, help, or advice, the Germans didn't think twice about going and finding someone to give them what they wanted. Meanwhile, the English (including us at first) just sat quietly and wished someone would anticipate their needs and offer to help. So our advice is, overcome your British reserve and ask (particularly seek out Irene, who's lovely).

The location is great and the design of the public spaces (inside and out) is beautiful, though the bedrooms are pretty spartan and could do with the same treatment.

The big disapppointment was the restaurant. The menu is sub-Michelin in style and didn't change at all during the week we stayed (we ate there on our first and last nights). The presentation is modern and pretty, but dishes are sadly lacking in flavour. Oxtail was mushy and tasteless. Chocolate pudding tasted like school blancmange. There are no half bottles on the wine list, so it's wine by the glass if one of you is having fish. The restaurant was never full while we were there. Please just keep it simple guys and taste the food before you send it.

One last thing. Yes the constantly piped coma jazz is deeply irritating and it's just there for the staff. But if you're sneaky you can find the controls and turn it off. Good luck.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesAutres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We have just returned from Ca's Xorc after a week's stay. We could not fault the service, which was helpful and friendly, but discreet and unobtrusive. The food is stunning, quite expensive, but the chefs at Ca's Xorc really know their stuff. Breakfast was a lovely experience, sitting on the terrace in the warm sun in March with as much coffee and orange juice as required, and a great selection of cereals, fruit, cheese, meats, breads and pastries, all served with a smile. The property itself is beautifully designed with a Moroccan influence and lots of little nooks and crannies to relax in if its too cold to sit outside. Guests have the freedom of the place and can even put a match to the fire and light the candles and snuggle down next to the library or in the upstairs sitting area. All really cosy. The 'reception' desk is not manned but has a bell which, if rung, has someone running to help you. Our room was perfectly adequate, not hugely spacious but done in beautiful taste and with a stunning view over Soller port and the Mediterranean sea beyond. The room was serviced twice a day, the beds turned down in the evening and fresh fruit left out and we had air conditioning.
The pool area was really beautiful and well maintained but the pool was absolutely freezing but worth trying and thankfully the jacuzzi is warm. There are also loos nearby for a quick change into warm and dry clothes if you do have the courage to take a dip. The road up to the hotel is a typical mountain access road, very steep and winding but does not have the terrifying sheer drop to one side that some Spanish roads have and is not so challenging to prevent you from going exploring to Deia or Soller itself for a change of scene. We needed a complete break after a difficult year with family illness and other personal challenges and we were totally relaxed almost immediately on arrival. We felt completely at home and will definitely return. If we had one criticism, it would be that the drinks were overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highlandgirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

This review echoes what many others have said previously (just shows the hotel is not really listening). Location is sublime, high in the mountains (yes, navigating the surrounding roads takes some nerve and a strong stomach!). Garden areas are like paradise - lots of nooks, a riot of flowers, sounds of birds and the little bells of lambs - utterly romantic and breathtaking. Rooms are ok, but not amazing. TV looks very dated. Our bathroom was actually very small and just had a shower area with shower curtain. Overall ambiance of peace and tranquility. However, the service in no way matches the charm of the location - and why this review has 3 stars instead of what could be 4 or even 5 easily. As previous reviewers have said - it's indifferent and rather cold. Barely welcoming and certainly not gracious. Little help offered with bags (although lady who checked us in did then offer to carry my small suitcase to room). This place has tons of stairs and with heavy luggage, its a trek from carpark to room. Service at breakfast is poor - like they are doing you a favor by laying a place for you and bringing coffee. Apparently they make eggs to order - after 3 days, nobody even bothered to tell us. Frankly, nobody showed us around or told us anything apart from how to use the air con. A basic cheese baguette for 2 with diet cokes was almost E20 - food is certainly steep. It's such a shame. Such a beautiful place deserves to be filled with smiles and some soul - something it is currently lacking.

  • Disliked — poor service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Just came back to reality after spending 4 wonderful nights at Ca's Xorc. Loved the very nice, quiet and incredibly beautiful place, the gardens are magnificent and it is situated in the best part of Mallorca. Rooms are small, nothing special but nice atmosphere. What I liked the most was the atmosphere - made us reach 100% relaxation level in 5 minutes.
Only drawback (apart from the rather high price) was the food - menue was OK but not fantastic, presentations were good, but all in all the food lacked that little extra that would make it really worth wile. Breakfast howeverwas superb, and I can recommend anyone to spend a few nights here- we absolutely loved it!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, location
  • Disliked — food (dinner)
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soller
3.6 km away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
808 reviews
4.1 km away
Belmond La Residencia
2.9 km away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#10 of 37 in Soller
212 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
512 reviews
2.3 km away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc

Property: Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc
Address: Camino Can Deia Km 56. 1, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Soller
#12 Luxury Hotel in Soller
#12 Family Hotel in Soller
#16 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where old world charm meets modern day luxury Lying on a gentle slope between the picturesque towns of Soller and Deia, Ca's Xorc Boutique Hotel & Restaurant brings together two centuries old farmhouses to provide its guests with the perfect combination of old world charm and modern day luxury. Nestled between luscious olive groves and fragrant lemon trees, Ca's Xorc is the ideal locale to relax and enjoy the very best of Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Ca's Xorc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cas Xorc Hotel
Cas Xorc Soller

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing