We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel”
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esplendido Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Lovely hotel right on Soller seafront. Very friendly staff, lovely food, great attention to detail throughout hotel - very nice

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

This place is special. Like other reviewers have said, it is a hotel I have, and will continue to, returned to year on year. Gorgeous rooms (I have stayed in 5 different types of room now, all good), amazing breakfast, fabulous staff, great bar and wonderful ambience. I have visited as a couple, and now as a family and it fulfilled both perfectly. We are booked in to stay again this May and I cannot wait.

Room Tip: Has to be a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CalooOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you are familiar with the Soho House chain of cool hotels and bars in the UK, then think no further; the Esplendido takes them on, and possibly beats them, at their own game. This Swedish-owned hotel, a £5M revamp of a fading 50s relic that opened its doors some five years ago, really delivers. Charming and impeccable service at every turn; great food at breakfast, lunch and dinner; places to chill out everywhere, whether by the pools (two), in the lounge, bar, front terrace or your own balcony; all encompassing views of the whole port and the opportunity to watch the world go by. What's more it's a good base for exploring, whether by car, train or foot, without being trapped in a mountain town like Deia where every outing requires the navigation of unspeakably twisty roads. At time of writing (April 2012), a beach is being created across the pedestrianised roadfront, hopefully it will survive the first winter gales! Finally, a tip: you can drive along the seafront to unload bags but otherwise not; don't risk it as there are frequent police patrols and you will get ticketed. It's about 100 yards to the free car park, so hardly a chore. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The sea front rooms clearly have the best views and you pay accordingly, but if you can only get, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have been to the Esplendido on two occasions. Both holidays were fantastic and it is an absolutely idyllic setting. The breakfasts are delicious and include the most delicious home made muffins.The hotel itself feels very chic especially the pool area and the great restaurant which spills out onto the terrace and overlooks the picturesque port.

On our last visit we rented a little motor boat from the beach which our then 4 year old son loved. We took the tram to both Soller and to Palma which was a great day trip. There are also lots of great restaurants to choose from in the Port if you like a bit of variety.

I hope to go back again and to try their sister hotel, the Portixol in Palma.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Good points about this hotel - location, the view -very special, breakfast, indoor pool/spa area and outdoor pool for that matter was small but beautiful. Communal areas all very nice and high spec. DVD library.

Downsides - Family hotel not really ideal for couples, but in hotels defence Soller is more of a sleepy family resort! Beach is more gravel leading out to sea - not what I expected. Whole place feels a bit uptight - needs to take itself a little less seriously.

Biggest problem we had was their Air Con policy. I was told it that for environmental reasons all AirCon in the hotel was set so that it couldn't go below 21c. This meant that in the height of summer you felt that you could never really cool down. Plus rooms are fitted with a sensor so that if there is no movement in the room, or window opened, the AirCon switches off and has to be reset at the wall. Every night it would switch off because the sensor didn't pick us up as we were sleeping. It was the worst few nights sleep I'd ever had but clearly for a lot of people this isn’t a problem. We were give a discount but I'd have preferred a cool nights sleep.

Room itself was ok but definitely underwhelming given cost, Sea View Standard, I think.

Overall it was nice but oddly disappointing and found the whole experience unexpectedly dull.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank slumbermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 after staying in Palma for a few days first. We got the "scenic" bus from Palma bus station rather than the direct bus. The scenic bus takes you up through the mountains and through all of the quaint little villages, whereas the direct bus takes you through the tunnel. The scenic route is really worth it and you see all of the great scenery en route to Soller. Our bus driver was a little erratic and the journey was a little hair raising at times, but the scenery really was worth the journey!!

So we arrived in Puerto De Soller and had a short walk from the bus stop to the hotel around the port. We arrived midday and it was fairly busy, but not too busy. When we got to the hotel, we received a very warm welcome from the front desk staff (a welcome breath of fresh air from the hotel we stayed in back in Palma - see our review for HM Jaime lll)! The lady who checked us in was very pleasant, informing us of the amenities that the hotel has and inviting us to enjoy a welcome drink of Cava or fresh orange juice from the bar when we were ready! Check in was quick, informative, efficient and welcoming! Really pleasant.

We arrived at our room (situated at the back of the hotel) and it was lovely. It was a good size with everything you needed, from a TV and DVD player, to water and complimentary "cerveza's" in the fridge to toothbrushes, toothpaste and razors in the bathroom! They really have thought of everything!!

We couldn't wait to explore the hotel as we had been really impressed so far, and the rest really did not disappoint! We started at the top and had a look around the spa and pool areas. The hotel boasts 3 separate areas for relaxing and sun bathing. It has two pools, one for families and children and a thermal infinity pool a bit further up, with no children allowed, and on the level in-between these two pools there is a lovely area for relaxing and sunbathing. There is also a bar area here that you can order food and drinks from! You have a fabulous view from all of the pool areas. We didn't use the spa whilst staying here, but we did have a look around and it looked very clean and great to relax in and they offered a range of treatments. The hotel also has a library where you can take books from or sit and read book there, whilst sitting next to a window with a fabulous view of the port!

The hotel is great at catering for families, but also at understanding that there are people holidaying there that may be on their own, or on a romantic break, etc, so not only does it have two pool areas, but it has two breakfast areas, one for families on the first floor, and one for those guests who would like to enjoy a quieter breakfast on the ground floor. The ground floor breakfast room is also a Bistro that is open throughout the day for lunch and dinner. We ate here for lunch when we arrived. We sat outside in the sun and enjoyed our complimentary welcome drink (Cava, which was very refreshing and very nice) and had lunch! The food was cooked to order and was so fresh and hot and delicious that we booked a table for the following evening to have dinner here! Plus the view across the port is stunning!!

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful! We asked about getting to Fornalutx on the bus and they provided a map with the bus stop marked on it and gave us the times that the bus left Soller and Fornalutx, they helped us with our pronunciation of places and restaurants, and they helped us choose places to eat on the evenings. After arriving back to the hotel early one evening, we decided to rent a DVD from the hotels extensive list, it was really easy to do. You just pop down to the front desk with the number of the rental (the list is in the welcome pack in the room) and you can rent a DVD. On that same evening, I called into the Bistro and asked for a cup of milk and a bowl and spoon so my partner could have a snack before bed. The waiter was so helpful and provided me with a flask of hot milk, a bowl and spoon and asked if I could manage or would I need some help back up to my room.

The front desk staff recommended a restaurant to us which was at one end of the bay, unfortunately I cannot recall the name of it now, however it was really great. We both ordered steak and it was brought to the table raw and in slices and we got to cook it ourselves at the table!! Really good fun!! When we got back to the hotel, the guy on the front desk asked if we enjoyed it! Again, another nice touch.

We had a drink in the bar and I ordered a hot chocolate, the barman explained that they did not have the facilities to make a hot chocolate, but he came to our table with a chocolate milkshake and said he could try to warm that up for me if I wanted him to do so, to see if that would be ok. He tried it and it was delicious.

The staff here are truly exceptional!! They simply cannot do enough for you!!

The food at this hotel is delicious! It is really fresh and tasty! The breakfasts are amazing!! There is a huge choice of fresh fruit, pastries, hams, cheeses, breads, cooked breakfast, eggs anyway you want them, local delicacies, cereals, yoghurts, juices, etc!! The serving hatch is full to capacity with the hot selection and there is a table in the centre of the room with everything else! We had lunch here one day and dinner here another! Dinner was as good as lunch! My partner ordered a burger and it was so tasty and delicious that we swapped meals half way through (which I was pleased with!)!!

The evening before we had to leave, I asked at the front if we could arrange for an early breakfast as we were leaving before the breakfast sitting would begin. The staff member was so helpful and informed me that the breakfast room on the first floor would have something arranged for us. He explained that it may only be cereal and fruit, but there would be something for us, and if this wasn't suitable, then we could arrange to have a take away breakfast, however, it would be something like a bottle of juice, a sandwich and a piece of fruit. There was another group staying in the hotel and they also required an early breakfast, so when we arrived at the breakfast room the following morning, we were astonished to find a full breakfast laid out, not just the fruit and cereal we were expecting!

This hotel has got it right! From the fabulous location, to the truly amazing view, to the fantastic staff and the gorgeous food - there is not one aspect that I can pick fault with!!

This is the only hotel that we have ever said that we will return to and I know that we will be back time and time again, and we cannot wait!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the amazing view of the port Rooms at the back of the hotel ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank foodytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We have been here for the last 4 years for a week and we love it. Great location, cool design and a real buzz about the place. The staff are amazing (especially the wonderful ladies who run the pool, pool bar and pool restaurant) - this is a real gem of a place. Can't wait until next Summer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HuwHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soller
1.1 km away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
872 reviews
0.5 km away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
839 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#23 of 37 in Soller
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
661 reviews
0.6 km away
Es Port Hotel
Es Port Hotel
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
708 reviews
6.2 km away
Belmond La Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Address: urbanizacion Es Traves 5, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range: $335 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esplendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller
Hotel Esplendido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing