We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December is magic again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Vila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Vila
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“December is magic again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

In some respects the true measure of a hotel is how it fares out of season. We stayed mid-December 2011 and the service was excellent.

This is a very small but fabulous hotel in a very nice city. The romms are small by modern standards, but that is not to say they aren't sufficient. The front facing rooms have a small balcony allowing you to look over the square and the whole place has an excellent sense of history.

The food is excellent - no buffet breakfasts here. You get full service and the scrambled eggs alone are worth the visit. We also ate in the restaurant at night and the food was excellent.

We would totally recommend this hotel, Sóller and Northern Mallorca - specially in December.

Some photos of our three day trip are here:

http://www.pbase.com/arburdett/mallorca_spain_2011

Room Tip: If you're taking a car and using the hotel's car park, you'd be wise to get a small car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    73
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
207
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I recently spent eight days in Mallorca and stayed the entire time at the Hotel La Vila. I could not have made a better choice. The location is perfect, the staff friendly, the rooms nicely appointed, and the food is outstanding.

The breakfasts are served either in the dining room or on the square and are generous. Be sure to have at least one dinner in the hotel, if not more as the chef is excellent and the food some of the best I've had anywhere.

The town is charming and the square is a buzz of activity. It's a good base for visiting other parts of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square are "entertaining" as one can watch the activity from morning unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel has a lot of charm. It is a small perl and has the absolut best location in Sóller. The staff is very service minded and the restaurant in the coutryard is really god. Having breakfast on the town square just 10 meters from the hotel at the hotels own tables is a winner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford , Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I choose Soller, after sourcing a late tourist season bargain from Ryanair, and a quick recce on the internet of Mallorcan destinations. I combined the stay in Soller with an overnight in Palma, journeying up to Soller by a restored wooden early 20th century train, through the terraced landscape of olive, lemon and orange trees. I didn't know previously about the Miro and Picasso connection, so it was a pleasant surprise to come across the Miro and Picasso galleries within the delightful railway station building. (The Picasso collection is the best selection I"ve seen of his ceramics. And the galleries are free!)

As for my stay in La Vila: first, it's a small hotel, 6 to 8 rooms in total, described elsewhere as "boutique" and "art nouveau." In other words, a lovely holiday destination. It is perfectly located, overlooking the little town"s main plaza, with a restaurant that extends out into the square. That said: while there is a cheery buzz of conversation audible in the front rooms of the hotel, street noise is not excessive and finishes early in the night; Soller is a quiet holiday resort which attracts mainly walkers and otherwise settled and relaxed visitors, as well as day trippers from other Mallorcan resorts.

Hotel staff are typical of small, local, hotels anywhere: chatty, friendly, providing good service and helpful information.With a reasonable cooked to order breakfast included in the price; 80 euro per night seemed about right, though bear in mind hotel prices invariably change seasonally. There is a good selection of tapas bars, fast food and differently priced restaurants in Soller, all within walking distance.


I stayed in La Vila for 3 nights only: enough time to get a sense of Soller and environs - the upper half of the town, set in the cloud covered peaks of the Trasmuntana Mountains and the laid back Porl of Soller at sea level, connected by a pretty retro-fitted tram. It wasn't a long enough stay to fully enjoy the place. But it was a great find, and worth the trip. I will be back. And when I do, I would like to stay in La Vila, if I can get a room.

Room Tip: That there is no lift in this 3-4 story building may be a concern for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjmwaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Spent a week here and couldn't have asked for a friendlier welcome or more convenient location. Our room looked over the main square, which made for great views although I'll probably request a courtyard-facing room for my next visit for those all-important siestas. The breakfast selection was impressive and the food was always very good.

The spotlessly clean room was a reasonable size with a large bathroom and lots of storage - two of us on a walking holiday with lots of clothes and bags had no problems at all tidying everything away.

We only had one meal in the hotel's restaurant - there are so many places to eat within 2 minutes walk - but it was the best quality meal of the week. Not cheap, but a cut above everything else. Service throughout was excellent - friendly but professional... exactly what I like but so rarely get. The staff were also always very happy to help with our other random enquiries about bus times and other things.

Finally, a huge thanks to Toni - I contrived to leave my camera behind tucked away in a bedside cabinet... an e-mail later and it's winging its way back to me. I am very grateful indeed.

I really loved Soller and will definitely go back - I won't bother trailing through the booking sites again, I'll simply book this hotel.

Why 4 stars for some things: value - with the exchange rate right now, everywhere in Europe is relatively expensive; sleep quality - early morning noise of Soller waking up tended to wake me up, but bed very comfortable; rooms - poor picture quality on TV and limited channels (mostly German), and no room for a chair AND desk. Minor quibbles.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room not facing the square - views might be less interesting, but you might get mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We have just returned from a short break to Soller, and chose La Vila based on trip advisor reviews. We travelled with our 3 year old son, and wanted somewhere in the centre of the town. We couldn't have made a better choice! The hotel was beautiful, the town was so pretty, and the people couldn't have been friendlier. (Thank you to Sylvia, Tina, Cisca!!). We were a little worried that such a beautiful , boutique hotel would not cope with an energetic 3 year old, but everyone looked after us so well, and made us feel so welcome. If you are travelling with children under 5 , it is a lovely place, really safe, a great place for children to run around the square, and the tram running past every 30 mins. Soller is a lovely town, and the scenery is stunning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alih0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The rooms are very large by European standards, it is an old villa that has been converted into a hotel so that has it's own charm.

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend stay in Mallorca area in Spain. It was easy to get to from the airport, you can either use shuttle buses from the airport(costs about 7 euros) or cab it over (costs about 45-50 euros). It is very conveniently situated right in the heart of Soller and you can take the train or the bus to all the main attractions.

Breakfast is included in the cost of the hotel and is actually really nice. I particularly enjoyed the freshly squeezed orange juice. We did try the food at the hotel restaurant on our last night and it is actually pretty good. They were able to accommodate a vegetarian, were extremely friendly and attentive, we had some excellent wine to go with the food and although expensive, we felt the cost was worth it. The setting in the courtyard/garden is actually not bad except for the mosquitoes in the summer and it is nice to be outside but still away from the hustle bustle of the crowd in the square right outside the hotel.

Tip - if you have trouble with stairs, please don't stay at this hotel. There are no elevators and you would have to climb at least 2 flights to get to your room.

Would definitely recommend it as a great option to stay while in Soller.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
4.3 km away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
3.6 km away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.5 km away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 km away
Gran Hotel Soller
Gran Hotel Soller
#19 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vila

Property: Hotel La Vila
Address: Plaza Constitucio 14, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vila 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vila is a boutique hotel housed in a spectacular 19th-century art nouveau townhouse, completely refurbished in 2005. It offers all the elegance and decor of its original art nouveau glory. It has 8 double rooms, each with private bath and offering the latest modern conveniences. All rooms have quiet and efficient heating / air conditioning. A small sample of services are: welcome cocktail, daily room cleaning, morning newspaper, 24 h front desk, hiking excursions.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel La Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing