We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
275
199
68
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
199
68
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gil blas breakfast and dinner overlooking the square historic building old town period furnishings shuttered windows wooden floorboards historic feel junior suite charming village ferry port small balconies patio area dining room plaza mayor high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Poor room, no WiFi over priced, no window in first room, previous guest smoked in room. 7 euro car park charge applied on leaving. Expensive meals no atmosphere. Good posadas for us next time. Average website.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank jackos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jackos99

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our stay in Parador.

We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to your visit. Please know that we have taken note of each one of your suggestions in order to adopt the pertinent corrective measures in this regard.

We are sorry but we don't undertand about WIFI, becuse is free and all rooms have window.

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Our room was Parador large with comfortable beds, spotlessly clean bathrooms and even though it was semi-over the outdoor bar area, it was quiet. Outside the rooms on each floor is a comfortable, large sitting area. Desk personnel are very helpful and kind. This is a historic building right in the center of town and staying here is a very special experience. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Just stay here--all rooms are fabulous!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaViajera007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear LaViajera007
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment.

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Also this time in Santillana at Gil Blas: the location is excellent, all kind of services available (parking at other opposite Parador) and professional, welcoming staff. We had room 107, at the corner of the first floor with a nice view on the Plaza Mayor. Quality of sleep and shower both excellent. Breakfast buffet with many options, but a bit over priced if you are just a small eater at breakfast.
After visiting the Neocueva of Altamira, we had lunch in Comillas, recommended to us by the receptionist, and we were pleasantly surprised. This little gem by the sea was definitely worth a visit.
Conclusion: this Parador offers good value for money, so highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Dear Evi55:

Thank you very much for having spent a few minutes in valuing your stay in our Parador and in such a positive way.
For us it is a pleasure, because every day we strive to make our guests feel at home and enjoy their visit to this medieval Villa.
If someday you come back through these green lands, we hope we will choose again as a place of rest.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We found this to be very dark (depressingly so) after all our other hotel stays in this Green Spain region. Staff were kind and helpful but I would not wish to stay here again. The vanity mirror was broken in the bathroom and the lighting overall in our room (a standard one) was very poor.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Dear Christine P:

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our stay in Parador.

We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to your visit. Please know that we have taken note of each one of your suggestions in order to adopt the pertinent corrective measures in this regard.

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on our first night of a tour of Spain with friends. Short journey from ferry at Santander, with plenty of private parking- including little used secure underground car park.
Rooms were as usual up to normal high Parador standards and we had a lovely dinner in the restaurant.
Being centrally located means you can take an easy stroll around this historic town.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank RPHWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2018

Dear RPHWoking,



We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our coffe bar.


We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews