We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Lake District Hideaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Mill Cottage, Hartsop
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage, Hartsop
Hartsop Dodd with Mill Cottage in foreground Main Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Mill Cottage, Hartsop
Hartsop Dodd with Mill Cottage in foreground
Main Room
Main Room
Kitchen
Main bedroom with King size bed
Small bedroom
Entrance Hall
The Patio overlooking the Garden and Hayeswater Beck
Rear view of Mill Cottage and Patio area
Grey Crag with Mill Cottage in right foreground
Narrow Lane into Hartsop
Brotherswater and Dovedale
The Hartsop Valley.  Brotherswater and Dovedale with Hartsop in foreground
Brotherswater and High Hartsop Dodd
Ullswater at Glencoyne looking towards Hartsop Dodd and Caudale Moor
Ullswater at Glencoyne looking towards Howtown and Pooley Bridge
Angle Tarn, a popular walk from Mill Cottage
Aira Force
Red Squirrel at Dalemain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
xbluexski...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Lake District Hideaway!”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely 3 nights at Hartsop Mill Cottage. It was super cosy but the main living room still feels spacious. It also has a lovely word burner which means you can get yourself toasty then retiring to the downstairs bedroom is quite refreshing.
We loved the entrance hall and utility area downstairs - lots of room for get rid of wet clothes and dirty boots.
The location is to die for - situated in one of the little hamlets I have often walked through in the past and dreamed of how lovely it would be to wake up there. We did all our walking straight out of the door but other parts of the lakes are easily drive-able (we went to Grasmere on our final day).

Perfect pre-Christmas escape, exactly what we were looking for, will definitely try to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, cosy, location
Liked least: Slightly dated decor (but that's being very picky!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallylong...
Sandwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A really lovely place!”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for a week in Mill Cottage, walking in the local area. The cottage gave plenty of space, and was very well planned out - getting wet walking kit off and sorted was made easy with the hallway laid out for just that!
The location was quiet and peaceful, with great views from each window. Being an 'upside down' house suited us well - we were able to benefit from the wood burner's heat during the afternoon and evening, but go downstairs to a cooler room for sleep. There were plenty of heaters throughout the property which would keep it warm without the need for a fire though. The kitchen provided us with a choice of crockery, and although the cooker and pans were very dated, they were actually quite efficient and I found them part of the charm! Hair driers in both bedrooms, and towel rails in both bathrooms.
Mel & Hilary made us feel very welcome, and gave us an informative introduction to the cottage. After that they left us alone, apart from saying cheerio at the end of the week. Very pleasant people, willing to share their history of the cottage and how it all came about. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cooker!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpeedsPer...
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, warm welcome, delightful cottage”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mill Cottage is the perfect location for a Lake District holiday, with great walks from the door, good pub food nearby and central to most attractions. The cottage is well equipped, we were very comfortable. Whether you want a quiet retreat or an active excursion we would recommend Mill Cottage as the ideal place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, a babbling brook at the end of the garden, the welcome by Mel and Hilary.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2014Chris...
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful peaceful location”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a superb time at Mill Cottage. It was very homely and comfortable. We enjoyed being able to walk from the doorstep without having to use our car.

The owners Mel and Hilary were very informative and friendly but we did feel they were a little too attentive at times when we just wanted to have a chill out week away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the beauty of the area
Liked least: Nothing that we can think of.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh23
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Mill Cottage from 10-16 March this year and can honestly say it was heaven. If you are after a cottage in the middle of nowhere, with fantastic hill side views, walks-a-plenty and with character, you should stay here. I did a lot of research before booking and had a tick box of things I wanted which included, rural, views, bath, wood burner and character and Mill Cottage had it all.

The furnishings are a little dated but I felt this added to the feel of the cottage and was in keeping. I took a lot of home cooking with me as although there are pubs nearby, after a day of walking, the last thing we wanted to do was go out again. The fresh air zaps all your energy! The cottage was exceedingly clean and is well equipped and the only thing I can complain about was the garlic crusher which wasn't strong enough to crush my garlic as it was plastic! As you can see, I am literally scraping the barrel to find something to comment negatively on!

Mel and Hilary own the cottage next door too and they were both very friendly and welcoming.

I can highly recommend Ullswater, Aira Force, Hallin Fell, Buttermere and Grasmere although you must also do the local walk to Angletarn Pikes and Dovedale Waterfall as the views are stunning.

I fell in love with Hartsop and basically would've been happy to stay longer!

Note to ladies, there's a hairdryer there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely, cosy feel of the cottage, gorgeous!
Liked least: nothing to report
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views from the cottage
Liked least: It's a bit of a hike to the nearest shop
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing