We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday rental I have ever stayed in.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Number 4 Cottage, Mounthooly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Number 4 Cottage, Mounthooly
Cottage garden in full bloom Side Garden in full bloom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Front of Number 4 Cottage, Mounthooly
Cottage garden in full bloom
Side Garden in full bloom
Tea on the new deck
New deck to front of cottage
Cosy Cottage Living Room with Beams and Wood Burning Stove
Large modern dining kitchen with Smeg dishwasher
Large bathroom with bath and shower
Little red WC
Barn doors
Large double bedroom (ground floor)
Lamp in large double bedroom
Twin with upholstered headboard (ground floor)
Lamp in Twin (ground floor
Bedroom 2 - window
Twin bedroom (attic)
4 star graded by VisitScotland
The gate on Number 4
Walk to Kelso along the River Teviot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Jedburgh, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lynnmanx
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best holiday rental I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cottage is fabulous. Beautifully decorated, clean, well equipped and in a great location just outside Jedburgh. We only arrived home a couple of days ago and I'm already planning another trip. I can't speak highly enough of this place.

There was a major storm one night which took out the power for a couple of hours, but on each bedside table is a small torch provided in case of power cuts. I'm not even that organised at home - that is the level of provision in this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Hi there, thanks so much for doing a review so quickly! Sorry to hear about the power but, but yes, hence the torches! Doesn't happen too often but old power cables and high winds don't mix. So glad you were able to make use of the deck and the BBQ- you certainly hit a great week of weather. We would love to welcome you all back next year to explore the Borders again, and can be flexible with arrival/departure dates again. Next year, you'll be able to take a day trip to Edinburgh on our new train (from Sep 2015), with the station only a 15 minute drive from the cottage. Thanks again for your custom, kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyoso2
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a perfect cottage. Everything Was great. We enjoyed our stay in the perfect place. The place is only 5 mn from jedburgh center.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you so much for posting a review and so glad you enjoyed the cottage, which, as you say, really is close to Jedburgh, hope you can return to the Borders for longer next time, kind regards, Sarah and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ymcn110
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“thankyou for a lovely stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed at No 4 cottage, warm welcome, beautifully presented well equipped cottage with everything we needed and more (wine, milk and extras) ,we had a very relaxed break went some walks from the cottage and to Kelso race's on the Saturday 'fab' ideal location.The weather was a little chilly , nice to come back to a roaring wood burner, definitely would go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, warm welcome
Liked least: the cookers temperature , slippy shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thanks for posting such a lovely review. Glad you took advantage of the walks that you can do right from the door step. Kelso is also a lovely place with lots going on, and only 15mins by car, kind regards, Sarah and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage in an perfect location to explore the Scottish Borders”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We recently stayed at Number 4 and would thoroughly recommend it. The cottage was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. When we arrived (it's easy to find with the clear instructions) we were tired after a 400 mile trip so were delighted to find some treats like wine in the fridge! (and essentials like milk, eggs and tea bags). The cottage is very well equipped and clearly a lot of thought has gone into ensuring you have everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. We had a couple of cool evenings during our week so it was lovely to light the log burning stove. Number 4 is in an ideal location with Kelso, Jedburgh and Melrose within 15-20 mins and only 1 hour from Edinburgh. We all really enjoyed our stay and should we visit the Borders again, we would definitely stay at Number 4.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean, very well equipped and beautifully presented
Liked least: Master bedroom mattress was a bit firm for us but that's all
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Hi there, thanks so much for your kind review and delighted you enjoyed your time in the Borders, and found the cottage to be well located for exploring. Yes, love the wood burner too, and starting to really come into the season for it now! Hope we can welcome you and you family back some time soon, kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PFamily20...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Warm Welcome with little extra's ( milk, tea, wine etc ). Everything you could possibly need.
Large comfortable bedrooms. Well equipped kitchen. Patio furniture very useful on sunny evenings. Ideal location in the Borders...ideal for Edinburgh and Holy Island both within an hours drive. Would definitely return. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: adults - beds....kids - wifi
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your time in the cottage and took full advantage of the central Borders location! I also hope we might tempt you all back some time soon, and that the free wifi is enough of a draw for the teenagers! Also hope some of the walks were a success, even if the weather was a bit mixed- always the cosy wood burner to come back to. Kind regards and thanks again for taking the time to post the review, Sarah and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the kids did too. Lots to do in the area for kids in Jedburgh at at the nearby Harestanes visitor centre. We think the deck at the front is a real asset too, and yes, it's great to see the sun go down on it with a glass of wine. Hope we can welcome you back some time soon with the family, kindest regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OZ-FAMILY...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE HOME YOU WANT IN THE LOCATION YOU'LL LOVE.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house is well laid out, and well appointed. The surrounding countryside is just as you expect Scotland to be. Only a few minutes out of Jedburgh; which is filled with restaurants and several historical attractions. Many smaller villages in surrounding area. If you are looking for a comfortable cottage in the country, close to a good selection of restaurants, yet only an hour or so from Edinburgh - then this is the place. Our party of three adults and two children (both 11 year old boys) - enjoyed our stay and would certainly come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to list
Liked least: We only booked for a week.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review. It was lovely to meet you all and hope you enjoyed the Borders and your trips to Edinburgh. So sorry about the DVD player and hope our back up was okay. All now working again! Hope the rest of your tour was a success and that we might tempt you back to explore the Borders again, kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing