We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house”

Review of Edingtonhill House

kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
kitchen through to dining room lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
kitchen
kitchen through to dining room
lounge
lounge
master bedroom
master bedroom en suite
double bedroom
family room
upper lounge
pool and sauna
pool hall
balcony view
driveway and entrance
garden
patio
hot tub
kitchen at night
Northumberland coast
nearby bamburgh castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Chirnside, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tanyaweir
1 review
“Great house”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Went here for hen weekend and it was great. House was lovely. Great open kitchen. Everyone enjoyed pool and hot tub.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillandjo...
Stirling
1 review
“Amazing property”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with a group of 16 girls for a hen weekend. The house is amazing, big enough not to feel too crowded so we didn't feel like we were getting under each others feet. Facilities were brilliant, the hot tub and swimming pool were especially good! There was a big double BBQ we didn't use this though. We had to strip the beds before we left which wasn't a problem and put all used towels in the utility room - again wasn't an issue! They did ask to take our glass bottles and cans away with us, unfortunately we were picked up in a mini bus and couldn't do this as we had no room! This place would be great for couples and family's and I would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GH84_13
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous 3 night break at Edingtonhill House. 15 of us went to celebrate a few special birthdays & we like to all get together & go away for the weekend at least once a year.

Although it cost slightly more than what we usually pay, the house was worth it. You definatley get what u pay for.

The house is beautifully decorated & its so spacious. To be honest I dont think the pictures on the website so it justice.

Despite there being 15 of us we found we all had our own space for some "chill time" & when all together whether it be in the kitchen or living area there was still plenty space for us all to be in the one room.

The pool is fantastic as is the hot tub. The sauna is alot bigger than we expected & having these luxurious really made our weekend all the more better. Hours were spent in the pool playing volleyball which was alot of fun.

We had a slight problem with the hot tub on the Saturday as it needed topped up. A quick text to Alison & soon enough her husband was on hand to help us out. It turned out it had to be drained & re-filled but that wasnt an issue & after a few hours we were raring to go again.

Alison was really lovely & great in answering any questions we had- nothing was of any trouble for her.

We are already looking at booking a family trip to Edingtonhill early next year & i'm sure we will be back again soon with friends too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness in and around the house.
Liked least: Only 1 recycling bin.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lynsey M
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning House”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for my hen do and had an amazing time. The house is huge and beautifully decorated. Everyone fell in love and no-one wanted to leave. The pool is amazing as is the hot tub and sauna. The hot tub was topped up early on Saturday morning ready for another day of relaxing. There is nothing I would change about this property it was just superb. Only down side was that we all got lost :-( There is no sign at the turnoff to the properties and we all had to double back on ourselves. Some were lost for up to an hour! We tied a pink ribbon at the entrance to help others still to arrive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was my favorite room, my dream kitchen. Loved the pool too.
Liked least: Trying to find the place.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There were 16 of us who stayed at Edingtonhill house to celebrate my wife's 30th birthday. The house is a bit tricky to find, so pay close attention to Alison's directions. Advisable to arrive when it is daylight as most of our friends got lost trying to find the house. The house is fantastic- very large with plenty of space for everyone. The kitchen is well equipped and the living room is spacious, comfortable and there is Sky TV and plenty of DVDs to watch. The dining room is large enought to accomodate everyone. There is also mini table tennis in the utility room. The swimming pool and sauna were excellent and the hot tub is the biggest hot tub I have ever seen! There is a BBQ however we did not use it considering the time of year.

The swimming pool and the hot tub are attended to daily. The hot tub is topped up daily but on the Saturday of our stay it did not appear to have been topped up very much. I contacted Alison (the owner) by text about this and she replied promptly to let me know it had and if we needed it topped up further to let her know and she would arrange. Alison was very helpful about any queries we had about the house. There was a small hamper on our arrival with tea, wine, biscuits etc which was a nice touch.

Apparently there is a nice Thai restaurant (from trip advisor) that does takeaway. It is in Duns but unfortunately the chef was off sick when we were at the house. We ordered chinese takeaway from a takeaway in Duns- I cannot recall the name of the takeaway (there are a few chinese takeaways in Duns). The food was ok, but you do need to go and collect it yourself.

Overall the house is fantastic and the pool/sauna/hot tub add to the whole experience. The only negative is the late check in time of 4pm. Check out is 10am, however we paid an extra £50 to check out at 12 midday on the Sunday. There is the option to pay a further £50 to check in from 2pm. You need to strip the beds and put all dirty towels in the utility room which is fine if it helps turn around times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool/sauna/hot tub
Liked least: Late check in time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing