We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most excellent”

Review of The Sidings

Plockton Bay is a 10 minute walk from the Sidings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plockton Bay is a 10 minute walk from the Sidings
The Sidings Kitchen/dinning room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Plockton Bay is a 10 minute walk from the Sidings
The Sidings
Kitchen/dinning room
Welcome pack on arrival
Livingroom
Ground floor bedroom
Twin room upstairs
Double master bedroom
Bathroom with bath & shower
Open fire - warm and cosy
Plockton village
Our highland cattle
Boat trip
Plockton sunset over Skye
View from Plockton to the Isle of Skye
Plockton main street
Plockton bay
Plockton main street
Plockton beach near the sidings
Plockton regatta
Plockton bay
Plockton sailing
Plockton thatched cottage
Plockton street party
Plockton in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mike m
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most excellent”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in June. The cottage is a short walk from Plockton and close to some short walks to the various local coves. The owners have gone to a great deal of trouble to equip the cottage and we found that we needed nothing. A really useful pack of groceries was left for us, including some nice wine! Overall we had a brilliant week and my only negative was that the double bed was beginning to sag toward the middle. But then again I am fussy!
Compared with our previous stays in other Holiday Lettings properties, this one was by far the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The main bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thank you for your very kind message. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we try to make the cottage as comfortable as possible. We will be addressing the problem you mentioned about the mattress. It is important for us to get feed back so we can sort any problems.
Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuernseyT...
Guernsey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Sidings for only three days but wish it had been longer. The cottage is lovely, everything you need, can't think of anything that needs changing. The weather was a little unsettled while we were there but the cottage was well heated. Scotland is beautiful whatever the weather it makes no difference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restful week in Scotland”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have had a super week in this very comfortable house in Plockton. The house is very well appointed, very convenient for the village and a good central point for sightseeing in the area. The owners are extremely helpful and very pleasant.
This was indeed a home from home" with all mod cons (including a car parking space) and extremely comfortable beds.
We would definitely recommend this home to families or couples. and we do intend to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very comfortable relaxed atmosphere
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandy O
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous, relaxing, scenic, amazing!”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Sidings was excellent! Julie and Thomas made us very welcome indeed, with a welcome basket, clean linens and towels and a real home from home feel.
The working coal fire in the living room was a bonus, as was the ice-maker in the fridge/freezer.
We travelled all over Skye and around Plockton and the views and scenery were fabulous! We will definitely go back - and we will definitely stay at The Sidings again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coal fire & ice maker
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield...
Lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in lovely setting.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely part of Scotland. Comfortable house with everything you need for a holiday stay. Owners very helpful.
I would recommend without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable cottage.
Liked least: Could do with a better teapot!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah S
Cimarron, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Sidings was ideal!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Plockton and specifically The Sidings for a week long stay based on positive reviews. We were not disappointed! We were a 3 generation family of 6 and the Sidings provided us with a spotlessly clean, charming and comfortable place to base ourselves and explore the Highlands and Skye for a week. I was a little concerned about just one bathroom, but that proved not to be a problem. When we arrived, there was a welcome basket from our hosts, Thomas & Julie which we really enjoyed. The cottage was stocked with everything we needed. Thank you so much Thomas & Julie for helping to make our adventures in Scotland wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janemStoc...
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage in idyllic village”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The Sidings, as its name suggests is right next to Plockton railway station & line. The 6.38 train from Kyle of Lochalsh serves as an alarm clock, in a very good way. There is plenty to get up for in Plockton and the surrounding Lochalsh area.
The Sidings is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday cottage. It has everything needed for a family holiday.
It is a 15 minute walk down to the beautiful village and uphill on the way back, but that just helps to burn off the calories from the excellent food to be found in the 3 hotels/restaurants.
We would love to have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and well equipped cottage
Liked least: 15 min walk to the sea
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing