We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dann Monasterio
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Popayan
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I stayed in this hotel only two nights, in early August.
The hotel is very centrally located, walking distance to all attractions in Popayan. The room I stayed in was comfortable, if not a bit dated. It was clean, but the furniture was a bit run down. The bed was comfortable, linen clean.
The bathroom was clean, but again, it needs some renovation and the towels were not that great.
The breakfast was nice, but it took lots of time for me to order my tea and get some coffee. The staff was very kind and polite, but obviously not that well organized.
Overall, I recommend this hotel, because the service was very kind, because of its location and because of the wonderful building it is in.

Room Tip: ask for a hotel on upper floor
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mademmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.

Apreciado Huésped.

Agradecemos por su visita a nuestro Hotel, quiero comentarle que de acuerdo a sus comentarios, hemos tomado las acciones de mejora con el servicio del desayuno y esperamos que en sus próximas visitas atenderlo como usted se lo merece.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dann Monasterio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

A really nice experience. This former monastery is converted in a nice hotel. Great food and great service without any unnessesary luxury. Great location in the beautiful city center. Recommended for a familly trip or a business meeting.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016
Google Translation

Señora Carolina.

El Hotel Dann Monasterio agradece por su comentario, es para nosotros un honor haberla tenido en nuestro Hotel.
Esperamos de su visita y poderla atender como usted se lo merece.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I was not expecting much from Popayan after staying at a mediocre hotel in Pasto. What a surprise hotel Dann Monasterio was for me and my daughter. The grounds of this hotel are just stunning. The antique furniture throughout the hotel had me wanting to open my check book and spend obscene amounts of money, fortunately for me nothing is for sale. The staff is superb and the dinner service was stylish with tasty local Colombian dishes. The rooms are huge! The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom had me wanting to restyle my own bath back home. Well done Hotel Dann Monasterio!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.
Señor Edward.
Agradecemos por su visita a nuestro Hotel, es para nosotros un honor poder atender a todos nuestros visitantes.
Esperamos de su próxima visita a nuestro Hotel.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The main attraction of this place is the wonderful architecture and the great location right in the center of town. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. We were lucky to be almost the only guests here and also so far have had no big events/weddings other travellers have complained about (this seems to be the hotels main source of income).
On the downside, breakfast is impressively poor for a place like this. We also had a major problem with hot water (none when we needed it in the morning) in spite of repeated complaints. They ve sent a plumber today so lets see if this works now.
All in all a pleasant experience though probably overpriced considering breakfast and other problems that should not be happening in a four star hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.

Señor René.

Reciba un cordial saludo, agradecemos por haber elegido el Hotel Dann Monasterio para su visita en la ciudad, de acuerdo a los aspectos negativos durante su estadía es de gran ayuda para nosotros para tomar acciones a emprender y mejorar el servicio. Ya las áreas involucradas conocen el caso.

Esperamos de su visita y poderlo atender con el mayor de los gustos.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Fantastic architecture and rooms! Clean, comfortable rooms, especially those with a spacious terrace. Good bathrooms, perfect parking and nice service. Water pressure is variable and the phone in our room didnt work. Breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Mr. Sebastian.
Thank you very much for our experience at our Dann Monasterio Hotel.
For us it is very important to know each of your comments about our services, we ensure that we have taken special note of each of the observations that have not been mentioned to ensure that we will follow up closely and take action to improve.
We hope to have the opportunity soon to receive and offer the best of our services and products.

Cordially,
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a beautiful building, very well located in the center of Popayan. The rooms need bathroom renovation, but they are comfortable enough for a good rest. The best thing is the location, you can visit museums and churches and come back easily.
Service personnel is kind and helpful.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Juliana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Mrs. Juliana.
We appreciate your valuable comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the attention of our work team and that you felt the affection that we place in each of our functions, thank you for the recognition, your comments have been shared; According to the renovation of the bathrooms; I would like to inform you that the hotel is renovating them.
We look forward to your visit to have the pleasure of serving you with our best services.
Cordially.
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Beautiful hotel very close to the center of the town. The room was very spacious, the breakfast buffet was nice. They have free wifi and parking. There is also a nice pool but it is behind the parking lot (weird location). For a weekend visit I think it is a great option.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ua12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Guest.
In advance receive our thanks for sharing your experience in our facilities, for us it is vital to receive comments from you, we hope to have you soon in our hotel Dann Monasterio.
Cordially.
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Popayan hotels
0.3 km away
La Plazuela Hotel
La Plazuela Hotel
#1 of 13 in Popayan
168 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Camino Real
Hotel Camino Real
#3 of 13 in Popayan
63 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel San Martin
Hotel San Martin
#4 of 13 in Popayan
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Boutique Confort Suites
2.4 km away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 13 in Popayan
16 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#6 of 13 in Popayan
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Monasterio

Address: Calle 4a No. 10-14, Popayan 190003, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Cauca Department > Popayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Popayan
Price Range: $94 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Monasterio 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
! Architectural Gem! The hotel is located in the middle of the Historic Center and just 5 minutes away from the airport. It is classified as the only hotel that combines the charm of the colonial era in its 47 rooms and 6 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi and capacity up to 1000 people with the most modern services. The outdoor swimming pool and the fountain located in the middle of the hotel are part of the architectural heritage that characterizes the White City, which guarantees to enjoy the best hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dann Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing