We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arte Hostel(Popayan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
68
101
42
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
101
42
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconyadjacent churchbreakfast terraceshaving kitvery nice hotelfirst morningswimming poolantique furnitureold stylegood sizeper nightold townmonasteryluxuryarchitecturebellclimate
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 239 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

A really nice experience. This former monastery is converted in a nice hotel. Great food and great service without any unnessesary luxury. Great location in the beautiful city center. Recommended for a familly trip or a business meeting.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016
Google Translation

Señora Carolina.

El Hotel Dann Monasterio agradece por su comentario, es para nosotros un honor haberla tenido en nuestro Hotel.
Esperamos de su visita y poderla atender como usted se lo merece.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I was not expecting much from Popayan after staying at a mediocre hotel in Pasto. What a surprise hotel Dann Monasterio was for me and my daughter. The grounds of this hotel are just stunning. The antique furniture throughout the hotel had me wanting to open my check book and spend obscene amounts of money, fortunately for me nothing is for sale. The staff is superb and the dinner service was stylish with tasty local Colombian dishes. The rooms are huge! The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom had me wanting to restyle my own bath back home. Well done Hotel Dann Monasterio!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.
Señor Edward.
Agradecemos por su visita a nuestro Hotel, es para nosotros un honor poder atender a todos nuestros visitantes.
Esperamos de su próxima visita a nuestro Hotel.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The main attraction of this place is the wonderful architecture and the great location right in the center of town. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. We were lucky to be almost the only guests here and also so far have had no big events/weddings other travellers have complained about (this seems to be the hotels main source of income).
On the downside, breakfast is impressively poor for a place like this. We also had a major problem with hot water (none when we needed it in the morning) in spite of repeated complaints. They ve sent a plumber today so lets see if this works now.
All in all a pleasant experience though probably overpriced considering breakfast and other problems that should not be happening in a four star hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.

Señor René.

Reciba un cordial saludo, agradecemos por haber elegido el Hotel Dann Monasterio para su visita en la ciudad, de acuerdo a los aspectos negativos durante su estadía es de gran ayuda para nosotros para tomar acciones a emprender y mejorar el servicio. Ya las áreas involucradas conocen el caso.

Esperamos de su visita y poderlo atender con el mayor de los gustos.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Fantastic architecture and rooms! Clean, comfortable rooms, especially those with a spacious terrace. Good bathrooms, perfect parking and nice service. Water pressure is variable and the phone in our room didnt work. Breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Dear Mr. Sebastian.
Thank you very much for our experience at our Dann Monasterio Hotel.
For us it is very important to know each of your comments about our services, we ensure that we have taken special note of each of the observations that have not been mentioned to ensure that we will follow up closely and take action to improve.
We hope to have the opportunity soon to receive and offer the best of our services and products.

Cordially,
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a beautiful building, very well located in the center of Popayan. The rooms need bathroom renovation, but they are comfortable enough for a good rest. The best thing is the location, you can visit museums and churches and come back easily.
Service personnel is kind and helpful.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Juliana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Dear Mrs. Juliana.
We appreciate your valuable comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the attention of our work team and that you felt the affection that we place in each of our functions, thank you for the recognition, your comments have been shared; According to the renovation of the bathrooms; I would like to inform you that the hotel is renovating them.
We look forward to your visit to have the pleasure of serving you with our best services.
Cordially.
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews