We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Dann Monasterio
Nearby Hotels
Le Soleil Hostel(Popayan)(Great Value!)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Caracol(Popayan)(Great Value!)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arte Hostel(Popayan)(Great Value!)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Popayan Inn(Popayan)(Great Value!)
US$19
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ParkLife Hostel Popayan(Popayan)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
HostelTrail Popayan(Popayan)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
66
95
42
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
95
42
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconyadjacent churchbreakfast terraceshaving kitvery nice hotelfirst morningswimming poolantique furnitureold stylegood sizeper nightold townmonasteryluxuryarchitecturebellclimate
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 231 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2016

I stayed in this hotel only two nights, in early August.
The hotel is very centrally located, walking distance to all attractions in Popayan. The room I stayed in was comfortable, if not a bit dated. It was clean, but the furniture was a bit run down. The bed was comfortable, linen clean.
The bathroom was clean, but again, it needs some renovation and the towels were not that great.
The breakfast was nice, but it took lots of time for me to order my tea and get some coffee. The staff was very kind and polite, but obviously not that well organized.
Overall, I recommend this hotel, because the service was very kind, because of its location and because of the wonderful building it is in.

Room Tip: ask for a hotel on upper floor
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mademmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.

Apreciado Huésped.

Agradecemos por su visita a nuestro Hotel, quiero comentarle que de acuerdo a sus comentarios, hemos tomado las acciones de mejora con el servicio del desayuno y esperamos que en sus próximas visitas atenderlo como usted se lo merece.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

A really nice experience. This former monastery is converted in a nice hotel. Great food and great service without any unnessesary luxury. Great location in the beautiful city center. Recommended for a familly trip or a business meeting.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Carolina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016
Google Translation

Señora Carolina.

El Hotel Dann Monasterio agradece por su comentario, es para nosotros un honor haberla tenido en nuestro Hotel.
Esperamos de su visita y poderla atender como usted se lo merece.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I was not expecting much from Popayan after staying at a mediocre hotel in Pasto. What a surprise hotel Dann Monasterio was for me and my daughter. The grounds of this hotel are just stunning. The antique furniture throughout the hotel had me wanting to open my check book and spend obscene amounts of money, fortunately for me nothing is for sale. The staff is superb and the dinner service was stylish with tasty local Colombian dishes. The rooms are huge! The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom had me wanting to restyle my own bath back home. Well done Hotel Dann Monasterio!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.
Señor Edward.
Agradecemos por su visita a nuestro Hotel, es para nosotros un honor poder atender a todos nuestros visitantes.
Esperamos de su próxima visita a nuestro Hotel.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The main attraction of this place is the wonderful architecture and the great location right in the center of town. The staff was generally friendly and helpful. We were lucky to be almost the only guests here and also so far have had no big events/weddings other travellers have complained about (this seems to be the hotels main source of income).
On the downside, breakfast is impressively poor for a place like this. We also had a major problem with hot water (none when we needed it in the morning) in spite of repeated complaints. They ve sent a plumber today so lets see if this works now.
All in all a pleasant experience though probably overpriced considering breakfast and other problems that should not be happening in a four star hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016
Google Translation

Buenos Días.

Señor René.

Reciba un cordial saludo, agradecemos por haber elegido el Hotel Dann Monasterio para su visita en la ciudad, de acuerdo a los aspectos negativos durante su estadía es de gran ayuda para nosotros para tomar acciones a emprender y mejorar el servicio. Ya las áreas involucradas conocen el caso.

Esperamos de su visita y poderlo atender con el mayor de los gustos.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Fantastic architecture and rooms! Clean, comfortable rooms, especially those with a spacious terrace. Good bathrooms, perfect parking and nice service. Water pressure is variable and the phone in our room didnt work. Breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Dear Mr. Sebastian.
Thank you very much for our experience at our Dann Monasterio Hotel.
For us it is very important to know each of your comments about our services, we ensure that we have taken special note of each of the observations that have not been mentioned to ensure that we will follow up closely and take action to improve.
We hope to have the opportunity soon to receive and offer the best of our services and products.

Cordially,
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews