We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arte Hostel(Popayan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
73
103
43
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
103
43
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconyadjacent churchantique furniturebreakfast terraceshaving kitvery nice hotelfirst morningswimming poolthree blocksold styleper nightgood sizeold townmonasteryamenitiesbellmedicine
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 248 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2017

This hotel could be stunning but isn't. We arrived about 1.30 and was told that check was in 3 pm. We said ok and would have some lunch. About 10 minutes later we were shown to our room. The room was quite small and we had to move a table to create space. The bathroom was pokey and ill designed.
The hotel had lots of rooms and only a few were taken so why the fuss when we arrived after a long 5 hour bus journey. I am sure there were better rooms available.
Breakfast Ok.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Dear Mrs. Karina
We greatly appreciate your feedback and feedback on your experience at our Dann Monasterio hotel.
We will review the issue that you comment with due care in order to identify what could happen as our priority is always to meet the expectations of our clients and even more with any request that is made by you.
Madam Karina, we are very sorry that this time has not been presented in this way but we will take immediate action.
Your comments are of great value to us and help us improve on any aspect of service to continue fulfilling our commitment of excellence and quality.
We hope to have your visit back soon so we can provide the service you deserve.
Cordially.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2017

In spite of the really magnificent building and excellent location just on the edge of the historic quarter, this hotel does not live up to its 5 star rating. We were initially given a very large room looking onto a noisy street. They kindly agreed to move us to an apparently quieter room overlooking the restaurant patio area, where staff start working at 6.30 at the latest! The decor in the rooms is sad and tired but bedding was good. Towels are not luxurious either in quality or size, yet they are offered for sale at 120,000 pesos each! Moreover in spite of the hotel's response to an earlier review, they still charge extra for the toothbrush and shaving kit provided in the rooms. Breakfast was acceptable but jams and butter came in plastic packs. The swimming pool was out of action as it is currently being 'maintained'. Our biggest crib was with the poor and slow service. There is no shortage of staff but one gets the impression that no one is really taking the lead and showing them how to do things. The final straw came this morning when reception called to say our driver had arrived. No one offered to come and carry our bags (we had tipped generously on our arrival) and no one in the reception area responded when we said goodbye and have a good day.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the 1st floor (not ground floor) away from street
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2017

Dear Mrs. Jeniffer.
A warm welcome from the Hotel Dann Monasterio; We appreciate the time spent exposing your experience with us.
We will review the topics presented during your stay at our Dann Monasterio hotel to identify what could happen as our priority is always to meet the expectations of our customers and even more with any request that is made by you.
We are very sorry that this time it was not presented in this way but we will take immediate action with the processes involved.
Dear guest your comment is of great value to us and help us to improve in any aspect of service to continue fulfilling our commitment of excellence and quality.
We hope to have your visit back soon so we can provide the service you deserve.
Best regards.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

After a really low budget stay in Villavieja we decided to have a night at a fancy hotel with hot running water, a nice and good bed and some luxury.

It was a deception to say the least. By entering you could feel the grandeur and authenticity of the monastery which was stunning. The rooms however are not. The first room we were given was dark, mouldy and old. Of course it is a old monastery but the interior was very much outdated with furniture fit for an old castle or dungeon. It turned out to be above the kitchen so luckily I asked for another room (see previous comments on TripAdvisor).

The second room was at the courtyard on the first floor. Lighter but still old and outdated. However better than room 1. Once we installed I noticed something on the floor so apparently they didn't vacuum properly. I asked the cleaning lady and immediate she vacuumed the room. Perfect, I thought. Then I went into the bathroom and noticed hairs on the wall and the bathtub so I went down to complain at reception. For a 5 star hotel at least I expect a clean room. So once again they cleaned my room again.

I stayed only for one night so I didn't want to look for another room but I expect more, a lot more from a 5 star hotel, supposedly the best in town. Also very odd is the fact that amenities are free, except the shaving kit, toothbrush. 5 stars and then you pay for amenities???

Furthermore bear in mind that a room at or facing the courtyard means noise as you hear everything as soon as the hotel personnel starts to work.

Just my two cents. Beautiful site but the rooms simply don't add up to the standard.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SachsVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Appreciated guest.

A warm welcome from the Hotel Dann Monasterio; Thank you for having visited us and for your comments on the services and products that the hotel has; According to your comments we thank you for helping us to improve services; With regard to the type of rooms are colonial, however it is worrying the state of cleanliness of your room for which we apologize; And as you say, it is not for a five star hotel that this happens, so we have put the process managers to review their procedures so that these human errors do not revert to other opportunities, it was updated in their preferences of rooms, rooms Withdrawn from the noise for an upcoming opportunity; With respect to products such as dental kit; Shaving kit, we will be reviewing policies to improve services.

Once we thank you for your visit and we hope to have it soon and be able to serve you with the best of the services that characterize the Dann chain.

Cordially.
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Head of reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Hotel Dann Monasterio is the most expensive hotel in town and it certainly adds to the rumor that the city already has as the most church dense town in Colombia, as it's basically an old monastery. The building and the location in itself are beautiful and feel saturated with historical details. With this the only limit is your imagination.

Unfortunately history is a bit too dominating in a hotel like this. The rooms are a good size and comfortable but they are terribly out dated when it comes to decoration and furniture. The beds are comfortable and the best parties the shower that is both clean and delivers hot water. Hotel Dann Monasterio would gain so much by updating its interior design. Right now it feels old and dusty.

The other good part is the surrounding garden that although well taken care of, could be invested in more. There is a lot of "dead" space. The two mediocre things is the breakfasts that is a bit cheap with a limited selection and the service that is somewhat slow and inefficient.

All in all hotel dann Monasterio is expensively average.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2017
Google Translation

Estimado señor Daniel.
Agradecemos por escribir su experiencia en nuestro hotel Dann Monasterio.
Es un gusto saber que durante su estadía percibió instalaciones agradables, para nosotros es muy importante conocer la percepción de cada uno de nuestros huéspedes,
permitiéndonos implementar mejoras para satisfacer las expectativas de nuestros clientes.
Queremos ofrecer nuestras mas sinceras disculpas por la debilidad en la agilidad del servicio de restaurante, se han tomado los correctivos necesarios para evitar que este tipo de incidentes se presenten nuevamente.
Esperamos tenerlo pronto de regreso para brindarle una experiencia inolvidable.
Cordial saludo,
Victor Hugo Cortes Hernández.
Jefe de Gestión Humana y Calidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is a charming remodel of a Franciscan monastery that dates to 1570, with a peaceful inner courtyard & large fountain. Rooms are quiet, spacious, & well furnished. It's a short walk to the city square, Parque Caldas, as well as many downtown restaurants. Service was very friendly.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016
Google Translation

Apreciado huésped.

Agradecemos su valioso comentario, nos alegra saber que disfrutó de la atención de nuestro equipo de trabajo del hotel Dann Monasterio y que sintió el cariño que colocamos en cada una de nuestras funciones, gracias por el reconocimiento.
Esperamos de una próxima visita para que disfrute de los servicios que a diario fortalecemos.

Cordialmente.

Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de Recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews