We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
74
104
43
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
104
43
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconyadjacent churchfranciscan monasteryantique furnitureimpressive architecturebreakfast terracevery nice hotelfirst morningswimming poolthree blocksold stylebeautiful cityper nightgood sizeold townamenitiesbell
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 252 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Dann Monasterio is a little more traditional and bigger than the boutique hotels we usually stay in, but we were encouraged to stay here by the folks who organized the tour. It s lovely restored monastery with a wonderful courtyard and breakfast terrace at the back of the property. We checked out the other options that we had considered while researching Popayan, and this is definitely the best. Rooms are large and comfortable. Do not miss the great breakfast on the terrace - very beautiful seating area and top notch egg station. Location is close to the main square and attractions. Rooms facing the street are a little noisy due to traffic. There is a very good restaurant on the next block - La Cosecha Parrilla Centro. Good stop on the way to San Agustin.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 28, 2017

Dear Sir,

Thanks for sharing with us the experience of your accommodation, it is a pleasure to know that we achieve our goal and provide memorable moments.
We are very happy to know that the restaurant exceeded your expectations.

We hope to visit again to enjoy the services we daily strengthen.

Best regard,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

It's the best choice to stay in the city. It has some issues, but one can't get better. The rooms are big enough,bathroom is smallish,but clean.The rooms looking at the street are noisy. Breakfast is very good. They have pool,but not in a good shape.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 502petles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 28, 2017

Dear guest,

We thank you for your time dedicated in allowing us to know how your experience was with us.

It is a pleasure knowt that during your stay at Hotel Dann Monasterio you were able to notice well-kept facilities and a good overall satisfactory service, however, we would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for the weakness´ in our internal communication with your order, the necessary and corrective measures have been taken in order to avoid this type of incident from occurring in the future.

We home to have you in house once again to offer you a truly unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is set in a beautiful old building with peaceful grounds. The location is great.
OK, this is not a five star, However, it is a very nice hotel with friendly (yet to be properly trained) staff.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful when needed. However, breakfast, for example was cleared by 10.03am without a word.
The beds were very comfortable and there was a nice deep bath.
I'd go back again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank sofib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 28, 2017

Dear Mrs. Sofia:

We thank you very much for your comments and feedback regarding your experience at our hotel.

We will be reviewing the mentioned with its appropriate carefulness in order to be able to pin point what may have happened keeping inming that our upmost priority is meeting our clients expectations, especially when requests that have been made directly on your behalf.
We regret very much that on this occasion you didn’t experienced that, but because of that we will be taking immediate action.

Your comments are of great value for us and allow for us to better in every aspect of service in order to continue meeting our commitment towards excellence and quality.
Best Regards,
Liliana Pachón
Gerente de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2017

The hotel itself is a well preserved monastery and a must visit in Popayan. The decoration like the chandlier and chairs along the corridor are charming. It's centrally located, just next to the church of San Francisco, with restaurants around. And it's just a few minutes walk to the main plaza. Breakfast is served in the backyard and it's excellent.
We stayed there during the Holy Week. We could stay in the hotel terrace which overlooks the Main Street watching the procession. There are cheaper options in Popayan, but Dann Monstario is worth it for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskabear2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Guest.
Many thanks for your comment and mainly for your visit to our Hotel Dann Monasterio, our priority is you and our mission is always to guarantee the best service. Your comment has been shared with our team.
We hope to have you soon back to our Hotel Dann Monasterio.

Best regard.
Jeferson Alvarado Daza
Jefe de recepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2017

well located in central Popayan
nice atmosphere, antique monastery, room furniture so-so
quite noisy due to absence of noise insulation
old style restaurant, quite attentive service, acceptable breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel D, Director de Recepción at Hotel Dann Monasterio, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Dear Guest.
A warm welcome and thanks from our team at the hotel Dann Monasterio, your comment is for us an aid to improve the services of the hotel, take corrective actions to implement and these skirts happen again at a next opportunity.
We hope to have you soon in our Hotel.
Best regard.
Jeferson Alvarado
Head of reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews