We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
8
20
11
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
20
11
8
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2017

I stayed for 2 nights in Hotel La Herreria in July 2017. Immediately I was welcomed by the staff with a big smile! Hotel has a good location, rooms are great. But most impressive for me was the staff, especially Gilmer: his great smile made it a pleasure to pass the reception when you are leaving or entering the hotel. He is very nice, friendly and helpfull!
Hotel infrastructure is worth the price you pay, but even alone for the staff I would happily return to this great hotel!
Thank you for a great stay, and treasure your friendly staff! :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WimVangheluwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

It's always hard to write a bad review, but there are better options in Popayan. This place is noisy, old and poorly maintained and the beds are typically Colombian in their firmness. Our room had wiring for the bedside lamp that came out of the opposite wall beside the TV and ran over the door and around the skirting board and was bare and exposed in places. The bathroom was down two steps and the shower barely provided hot water from a little electric heater device above the shower rose. Odd and ineffective. Some people said their rooms smelled but ours had some lovely cinnamon incense sticks in it and was actually very nice smelling. We were kept up by music from the restaurant though. I wouldn't recommend any stays here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaHerreriaColonial, Gerente at Hotel La Herreria Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017
Google Translation

Dear Guest, in relation to your appreciations it is important to mention that this hotel is in a process of remodeling and changing those aspects that you mentioned, not all rooms have those conditions and we are working to improve the negative aspects that like all hotel we have.

Estimado huésped, con relación a sus apreciaciones es importante mencionar que este hotel está en un proceso de remodelación y cambio de esos aspectos que mencionó, no todas las habitaciones tienen esas condiciones y estamos trabajando para mejorar los aspectos negativos que como todo hotel tenemos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

This hotel was great! There were some obvious drawbacks like the poor WiFi connection and the language barrier between myself and the staff but they did everything that they could to accommodate my needs. There were times that staying in the hotel was difficult only because of the very weak WiFi and incredibly thin walls (I stayed in the back of the hotel and could still hear people talking at the front desk). The staff and the chefs were always willing to go the extra mile even when they did not have to. They are kind and polite and the maids were very thorough with their cleaning! I did notice that there was a mold problem but after talking to the manager he explained that this problem would be present even at a 5 star hotel because this is a humid environment. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Morinne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaHerreriaColonial, Gerente at Hotel La Herreria Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hello Mo, thanks for your coments, it´s great know about you, we hope your son return to our country and this city. We will always remember you with love, Best regards,

Leonardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2016

Good location in historic district within walking distance to the city. The staff was very ypersonable but quality of the rooms poor. No hot water. Very noisy location. You will awaken to rooster, barking dogs, and horses.

Room Tip: Our room did not have hot water.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank captcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

The small room was terribly humid, smelly and pieces of wall paint falling off, very old and very poor maintenance for a hotel. Service was fine and courteous... Would not recommend, for this price there many more far better around. Location was good near downtown... Thanks.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews