We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
18
6
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
6
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 25 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 2 weeks in Jamaica. We are not the all inclusive type so keep that in mind when reading the review.

We divided our time between Half Moon Beach and Negril to get a bit of both worlds in Jamaica. The busy beach strip and the wonderful seclusion that is Half Moon Beach. We found it by searching things like Secluded, Rustic, Private Beach etc.

First off. Half Moon Beach is also reviewed by many as a day trip. We actually stayed there for 8 nights. Tania and Andrew are the wonderful owners of this property and it is quite large. The Beach is private, so day trippers need to pay a couple of dollars to spend the day. This means no solicitations on the beach! yay!

We stayed in one of their cabins (I believe there are about 5). We picked Coconuts Cabin which has a beautiful grassy yard and sitting area, it's own hammock, and it is right on it's own little waterfront.

The Cabin: Was fantastic! A bedroom with large bathroom (with hot water!) as well as a mini fridge. A small balcony which we used to hang bathingsuits and towels on. Hummingbirds and butterflies were our daily visitors.

The Property: There is the beach and paths BUT there is also a small island that you can swim out to and snorkel around. We brought our own gear and went daily. There is a Catamaran trip that comes a couple of times a week but the stop is only for an hour or two and to be honest we usually went out snorkeling when they arrived so we never, ever had a problem. Even when we stayed the visitors were always pleasant.

The Dogs: We loved them! They slept on the sand in front of our cabin at night and followed us around in the day but were never annoying, always lovely. The eldest dog is indeed skinny but this is because she is actually sick. The owners care about their dogs a great deal and are in constant contact with the vet. When we left she was doing a bit better and we hope it continues!

Average Day: Woke up and swam, read and swam, ate and swam, snorkel, eat, lay out on the beach and look at the stars. Of course, all while enjoying the local plant life.

Tips: There is a restaurant that is open for guests all day and night long, they close when you go to bed! I would suggest the Jamaican Breakfast and yummy Conch Fritters. If you are planning on staying for a number of nights be aware that there is not much close by. You can easily take route taxis into nearby towns but nothing within walking distance. If you are planning on trying a ton of different restaurants have small Jamaican bills or rent a car or do what we did and mix your stay between here and Negril.

If you need to use a bank machine go to Negril rather than Green Island. Negril is further, but the bank machine in GI has been known to eat up foreign debit cards.

To save a bit of money remember that you have a mini fridge. We often drank at the bar but we had a good supply in our room as well.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lemonmerangue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Half Moon Beach is as close to Jamaican beach perfection as can be found. Away from the hustle and bustle of Negril, this protected cove with white sand beach, hammocks hanging, and chill vibe from the people really made for some memories we'll cherish forever. Great food from the restaurant including fresh lobster. The people running the place and living there were so cool and made us feel very welcome. We'd love to stay at the rustic cabins with our kids someday. This is how I envisioned laid back, One Love vibes. Truly incredible. Even if you don't stay here, it is a must day trip out of Negril. $20 bucks should get you a taxi to bring you and pick you up at a designated time. Our driver Al, will do just that. 876-826-1444. He also does airport pick-ups, countryside tours, and will give you the lowdown on what to do/not to do while visiting his beautiful country. Much love and respect to him, the friendly German grill mistress, the MSU grad who I think owns Half Moon Beach, and the good people that work/live/and relax there. Half Moon Beach should be a "must" to any travelers.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukeG003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from our trip to Jamaica where we stayed in the cabins at Half Moon Beach. It is very rustic, so if you are coming to Jamaica looking for a resort style stay and air conditioning, this isn't the place for you. The food here is AMAZING! I recommend the lobster, peppa shrimp wraps and kabobs! Best food I've ever had. The owners, Andrew and Tania are extremely nice and welcoming. They will help arrange anything you need. We felt safe staying there. They do have random security guards, who hang out around the property. Everyone who works here is so nice! The beach is very secluded too, which is a nice escape from anywhere on the seven mile strip. If you already arranged your accommodations in Negril, take time and visit half moon beach....you won't regret it!!

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckyerm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was our first trip to Negril area and by chance
before the trip I read about Half Moon Beach in the
Green Island area. On the second day of our vacation
we grabbed a cab to Half Moon.
What a wonderful day it was! Beautiful and peaceful are
two words to describe what Andrew and Tania have developed
for day trippers like my self and also for a longer say if
you rent their unique lodging.
Snorkeling is interesting and because it is sheltered bay
current is mostly non-existent. Lots of fish, urchins, starfish
etc.
A day tripper boat pulled up but was only there for a hour
and half and then we had the place mostly to ourselves again.
We stayed for a lobster meal at days end and it was the best
meal we had on the whole trip to Negril.
If you are thinking about going to Half Moon Beach like we
were, I would highly recommend it if you want to get away from
the hustle of the 7 mile beach area.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had heard Half Moon Beach was a nice change of pace from the craziness of seven mile beach in Negril so we followed some past reviews/advice and had a great day.

We hired a private cab in Negril. It was about a 10-15 minute drive and our arrangement was for him to come back to pick us up at 4pm and when were returned to our hotel he was paid for the round trip ($40 US).

Half moon beach is a small, quite secluded beach. We were there in mid-feb, high tourist season, and I'd be suprised if I saw more than about a dozen people all day. The beach has some palapa's, hammocks and lounge chairs for anyone to use. There is a small bar/cafe and some public washrooms that were clean as well. The food was decent enough and prices reasonable even better they brought our lunch to us down on the beach.

It was a nice quite day tanning, reading and doing some snorkeling. The snorkeling right off the beach out to small island about 50 yds was decent but not terrific. Definitely worth your time though, just stay in the water around the island except where it get real shallow, about 2 ft deep. The water had a lot of sea urchins and I'd encourage anyone snorkeling to wear appropriate footwear with your fins. We did see a fair amount of different fish and even a small octopus.

We felt very safe the entire time and with no beach vendors around it was a real nice change from Negril. Some small cabins are available for rent and I think they would be nice for a night or two but half moon beach is really off the beaten path and you are a cab ride away from anything else but this beach and the single cafe.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rustie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews