We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nice clean rooms. Grounds are really nice. Good pool and spa area.
Only complaints are loud ac/heat unit and lots of light coming through the bottom of the door. It is like a inch above the carpet and lightd up the whole room. Had to put a twel down. But other than that was eally nice for the $45.00 priceline name your own price deal

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rackman0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

This place was much cleaner and more attractive than the usual government accommodation. The room layout, amenities, and view were just excellent. The grounds are beautiful. The staff is good.

But then it got dark and I had to hear every word my neighbor spoke. Thank god he had a short spat with his partner on the phone, then went to sleep without much other disturbance. Hate to think what it would have been like if it had been a couple next door.

Breakfast was good but very, very slow. You can't get lunch in the restaurant within a one-hour lunch break, but there are many reasonably priced and fast lunch and dinner places within driving distance.

Wifi was available, but not fast enough to stream. Had to sign in again every day. Ran out of hot water on Friday morning--that was not pleasant. Pillows are flat.--everyone in my group complained about that. There are no elevators.

It was an odd, but acceptable stay. We certainly stay is worse places to save the tax dollars. Groan....

Manager responds to every post with promises, but the same complaints persist. Less talk and more action would be helpful. Once things are fixed there will be no need for excuses.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank 2manydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siefken, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thanks for your reply on Trip Advisor. I wanted to let you know of some improvements that we have made at our property since your last visit in hopes that you will choose us again. We have purchased new pillows. You are correct they were getting dated and needed to be replaced. We have solved our hot water heater problem. We also contacted our WIFI supllies and added an additional T1 line to the property. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do about the elevators due to the layout of the hotel but I am confident we can find you a downstairs room for your next visit. Last but not least, we are now sound proofing all of our rooms with adjoining doors. We did recognize this as a problem and we are working hard to get all of them done. Your comments did not go unnoticed and I truly thank you for bringing them to my attention.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The hotel is average but the staff is super nice! It's in a business park kind of area, nice enough. My biggest complaint was the thin walls. I had an end room and still the noise from rooms on one side and across the hall kept us from sleeping. You can hear every door shut, every shower, every TV. It didn't help that the people next door had an argument about midnight one night. if you are a heavy sleeper, not to worry.
As for Bakersfield, I couldn't find a single 5 star rated restaurant in Bakersfield and after visiting I know why. I don't mean fancy, I mean by satisfaction. Try Momma Roomba's "downtown."

Room Tip: Ask for an end room if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siefken, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you so much for your recent review of our property and the very nice comments regarding our service. We are diligently working on sound proofing our rooms to reduce the amount of noise and I am confident you will see a big difference next time you are in town. Also, please try our restaurant, The Bistro, as it is not your typical Hotel restaurant and it has a great reputation throughout the community as being one of the nicest in town. Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel is ranked by Tripadvisor as #10 of 58 hotels in Bakersfield. It is rated 3/5 stars by Priceline and would seem to deserve a higher rating. However, according to Priceline there is only one hotel with a higher rating in all of Bakersfield.
The location is excellent. It's in a newer part of Bakersfield, surrounded by good restaurants and shopping malls. There's an Arco nearby on California Avenue and pretty much everything else you would need. A park on the river is 2 blocks away, if you like walking or running.
The hotel design is quite unique. It's low rise with several separate buildings all surrounded by very nice gardens. The hotel's restaurant is a good one, -- we've eaten there on New Year's Eve and enjoyed ourselves very much.
The rooms are larger than average and extremely well equipped as far as desk space goes.
The staff is efficient and friendly and everything is clean and comfortable. Your will have a good, quiet sleep here.
The only reason I didn't give this hotel a rating of 5 (excellent) is because there was no fridge or microwave in the room and there is no complimentary breakfast. I'm not complaining, however, because at $58 (all fees and taxes included) on Priceline, the hotel was a bargain.

Room Tip: The quietest room are at the back corner farthest from California Avenue.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siefken, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. We appreciate your kind words as we are equally as proud of our property. When you are in the area again, we certainly hope that we will be your first choice in Hotels.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Bakersfield is about as far south as one can drive from my home town in Walnut Creek if leaving after work and heading to LA or Vegas, so I've stopped at a few hotels here through the years. This was my first stay here, and I must admit to being a bit surprised. First of all, it's one of the few chain hotels which is NOT near the intersection of CA-99 and CA-58, the major highway interchange in Bakersfield (the two highways run together for a couple of miles). Of course, that could make it a bit harder to find if you don't have a GPS, and I don't suppose they get a lot of people finding the place by accident as they drive down the freeway. The good part of this location is that you don't have to worry about being on the side opposite the freeway since it's far from the freeway in a quiet area.
We drove in here a week before Christmas, and they had parties going on in the ballroom. Being SPG Gold, we were given a room near the back, so it didn't affect us. A note in the room said all parties had to be over by midnight, so even those units near the ballroom should have been quiet by then.
The landscaping was surprisingly handsome, what with fake creeks running through the property, complete with mini-bridges and fountains. Having stayed at the Doubletree and Hilton Garden Inn, I was expecting more along those lines and was especially pleased by the grounds. The restaurant, although its entrance was a bit hard to find, and it's a bit of a trek from some of the rooms, also had surprisingly handsome (and modern) decor.
The rooms were fine, although I prefer the Doubletrees' or HGI's rooms. Some of the furniture was a bit scruffed up, and they had baskets instead of drawers. The free internet worked well, though. Two other dings for the room included some dried pee next to the toilet, and there were no bath towels when we came in (a phone call fixed that up pretty quickly, though). One needs a key to get into the corridors to the rooms. When choosing a room, bear in mind that the first floor rooms, but not the second floor rooms, have balconies with balcony furniture, so they might actually be a bit more desirable (although slightly less private).
Our rate came with breakfast, and it was fine, although not as nice as the Doubletree's or Hilton Garden Inn's (but the restaurant here is more attractive). We were the only guests at the restaurant, yet I had to interrupt one of the waiters in order to get his attention away from the TV. It wasn't such a big deal that he was watching TV, but couldn't he glance at his only table every minute or so? Unlike the other two places, the restaurant does serve three meals a day, though.
This hotel is a solid choice in the 3/3.5* category, along with the Doubletree and HGI. The landscaping, the restaurant, and the quieter location are pluses here. The other two have slightly more comfortable and modern rooms, and I have to give the other two the advantage for cleanliness and service. I don't see major distinctions among them, however, and would stay according to where you need hotel points and whoever offers better rates.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 500 wing are further away and quieter. Only ground floor rooms have balconies. The end...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siefken, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. We have made great strides in our cleanliness and service as well. I hope that you will come back soon and stay with us. We definitely value and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We arrived at 9 PM and checked in to the hotel. The room was nice, until you went to the bathroom. The bathroom looked horrible pipes showing everywhere and a cheap tile floor. It was worst than the bathroom at the Holiday Inn we stayed in the night before. The location was nice though, very convinent, not like St. Regis. The decorations were also nice. At dinner on the first day, one of the members of the family saw a guy that looked like a drug dealer or ganstar. He had a backard hat and looked like he was going to kill someone. they did give us a lot of things free. Over all the hotel is very nice, but the docaration in the room bring the stars down. The drawers which are not really drawers look like a shoebox.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afjsjsjsnsnhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siefken, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you so much for your most recent review of our property. I am very sorry you did not like the decor but overall enjoyed your stay. I realize you have many choices in hotels and we certainly hope that you will choose us again when visiting the Bakersfield area.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Booked through Priceline for under $50 a night, the hotel was nice enough. The rooms are somewhat updated, the pool and hot tub looked inviting, and parking is convenient and free. Location is good, the hotel is close to downtown and all the attractions and restaurants there (although this is Bakersfield, so entertainment is somewhat limited).

The one down-side we experienced were some noisy neighbors. Many of the rooms in our building (300, 1st floor) can be adjoined with doors between two rooms. This makes it easy for you to hear every sound in the room next door, including all conversations and activities. The staff switched us to a room with quieter neighbors without issue, but it still seems like they could use better soundproofing in the doors themselves.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool have mini-fridges and open to a small porch.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcnanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siefken, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you very much for filling out your review online about our property. I am very glad that we were able to accomodate you and that you were able to have a goods night rest. We are very close to finishing all of our sound proofing in the Hotel so your next stay should be even more pleasant.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
2.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
566 reviews
4.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
3.8 km away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
9.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield

Address: 5101 California Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93309-1623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $107 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield is located in the heart of the business district, with scenic sights and sounds and a short walk to corporate offices. 6,800 square feet of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
4 Points By Sheraton Bakersfield
Sheraton Bakersfield
Four Points Bakersfield
Bakersfield Sheraton
Bakersfield Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing