We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great meal”

The Belvedere in The Padre Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Belvedere in The Padre Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 960 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

At the end of a road trip, we decided to stay at the Padre and eat at the Belvedere. What a treat! The food was superb and the dining room has great decor. Our server advised us on food and wine selection and every part of the meal was delicious. Favorites included the carrot salad, pea risotto and veal chop. We will take a detour off 5 to eat there again, anytime.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank RWCFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 100 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018

We had a Sunday Brunch here. It was a little above average. We were there about thirty minutes after they opened, but a lot of their foods still weren’t out yet. What we did have was good, but I wouldn’t call it exceptional. If we go again, we will most likely eat in their bar restaurant . It has a great menu and the portions are more than ample.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Marla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

I really enjoyed my flat iron steak salad, it was cooked exactly as I asked, and all the elements were fresh and it was beautifully presented. Cannot complain at all. I ordered hot tea and got gourmet, very very nice herb tea, served with fresh lemons and honey on the side. First class all the way. The wine list is good considering how small the place is. I loved everything about it.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ItsMyScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Order rack of elk. The sauce was amazing. I ordered the meat medium rare. It came out old dirty boot well well well done. See picture attached. The service was lacking maybe short staffed. To get app took 30 minutes it was a beet salad. Once again Bakersfield is lacking a top notch restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank TommyL694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018

We broke up our trip on the way home with a stay at the Padre Hotel and a meal in their Belvedere Room. After a week and a half of fine dining (and maybe just a little bit of over-eating), we ordered only drinks and a few side orders. Each was excellent!

We have lived in Japan and eaten at many a Michelin-starred restaurant there. We are often disappointed in the US where umami is sometimes only an exotic term, but Chef Chris and his chefs at the Belvedere room get it!

Just the day before, we had eaten lunch at Ad Hoc, Thomas Keller's casual, "family-style" restaurant in Yountville. We only wish Mr. Keller could have delivered as Chef Chris did.

When heading south or north on 5 or 99, stop off and try for yourself!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CaliforniaDreaminMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Belvedere in The Padre Hotel also viewed

 
Bakersfield, CA
Bakersfield, CA
 

Been to The Belvedere in The Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing