We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,773)
Filter reviews
6,773 results
Traveller rating
2,020
2,358
1,410
574
411
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,020
2,358
1,410
574
411
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickenmontego bayswim up barasian restaurantevery other dayentertainment staffmichael jackson showjerk hutbuffet styleclose to the airportrose hallspecialty restaurantsmini barmain buffetpaddle boatsdunns riverfood was great
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 6,773 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2018

We travelled to Jamaica for a friend's wedding at the Riu. We opted to stay at Beaches a couple hours away because of the great experience we had there a few years ago. We are SO GLAD we didn't stay at the Riu. Here is why:

- Although the Wedding Ceremony was hosted at the end of the beach, it was not private: hotel guests gawked nearby, and one couple in particular had no shame in walking in their bathing suits behind the bridal party - to go where, I don't know, but the audacity and rudeness of it, with no hotel staff or wedding coordinator around to stop them....

- the cordless microphone used for the ceremony repeatedly and regularly chipped out, so we missed a lot of the vows and Minister's remarks

-friends and family, not the hotel staff, were the ones who ended up arranging the reception area

-Guests from outside the hotel were barred from dining at the restaurants, even though we each paid an unanticipated $50 guest fee, and the wedding host had arranged for dinner for all his guests

-The noise from the common entertainment area of the hotel all but drowned out the music and speeches at the wedding reception

- AND THE WEED! The smell of marijuana on the beach at the reception was overwhelming. Again, no attempt was made to keep the wedding private from other guests

-The hotel rooms are ridiculously small for such a large, big-name facility

-The campus is huge and impersonal: the guest room buildings are tricky to identify and the passageways between adjacent rooms are dark and narrow...and the rooms are unlocked with traditional keys, not key cards - it's 2018! What happens if a key is lost?

-Some of the cleaning staff were obnoxiously loud and crass with each other, showing no respect for guests in the area. Others were indifferent as we passed them - not friendly at all

There were a few redeeming observations:

-the front desk, bar and buffet restaurant staff were friendly and courteous, including two trainees, one named Rhianna

-the wedding reception finger food was well-presented, tasty and abundant

-the outdoor reception area was quite lovely with the lights and tulle

-the facility and rooms are clean

I hope my friend and his bride were reimbursed for some of their fees. They had a lovely day in the end, but not because of the venue. There are many other choices out there to consider for a destination wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LNC1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this unfortunate experience with us.

Our team takes great pride in providing all of our guests a restful and relaxing stay and we are very sorry that you didn’t get to experience the hospitality that all of our other reviews speak to

Please be assured, we will share these comments with our team and wish that your stay would have been more enjoyable. Thank you again for letting us know.

We sincerely hope that we will one day be able to welcome you back to our hotel and have a chance to demonstrate the high
standards of guest service that we are well known for.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Stayed for the night to attend a wedding.
Reception staff were not helpful and security were quite intimidating..

It’s had a refit so facilities are new...

Breakfast was mediocre... oats porridge was tasteless and water thin..
All restaurants close at 9.. not much to chose from.

Gym
Brand new fully equipped.. very impressive..
salon
The Bride booked a make up and hairstylist to do her hair for the wedding... I found them young inexperienced and somewhat nervous.
The style we wanted couldn’t be done and her makeup was very basic.

Room
Geneours size.. huge balcony

Overall I didnot ienjoy my stay.. as it’s close to the airport.. airplanes could be heard flying o er the hotel too often.

Negril and Ocho Rios are much better.. bigger. More places to eat and things to do.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank DanaMarie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Booked for a special family holiday (myself, hubby, son (21) & daughter (16) and I have to say it was an utterly enjoyable stay. The staff were fantastic & very professional (look out for Jamari for breakfast & Superman for dinner - without doubt they were the best). How the Entertainment Crew kept going from morning until night for the 7 days we were there, was unbelievable, (have to say that the "Michael Jackson" and "Jamaican Independence" nights were brilliant - (not forgetting the Pool & Beach Parties - Yeah Mon).

Tips:
3pm is definitely check-in time . We arrived about 2:30pm and only one room was ready but that was ok, as we could enjoy a drink (or two) whilst we waited.

There is plenty of loungers by the pool and beach, so no need to rush to reserve one, early morning (well we never had a problem and we went at all times of the day).

The TV in our room didn't work but that was not a problem, as we didn't stay in our rooms that long anyone (sleep shower change and out).

There are alcohol dispensers in the rooms, so if you have children beware!! (16 year olds are classed as children in the hotel for alcohol purposes).

Entertainment is provided during the day, so if you are looking for very laid back/very quiet stay, then either stay away from the Pool or try another hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view quiet
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsHaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic time at the Rui Montego Bay, exceeded our expectations after reading some of the reviews on here! Our room was great not that we spent much time there! Spotlessly clean everyday! Food was amazing, so much to choose from! All the staff were great from the restaurant staff,bar staff,reception and entertainment everyone was super friendly and helpful and just wanted to make sure you had the best holiday and enjoyed Jamaica to the fullest! The evening entertainment was by far the best we have ever seen very professional. Special thanks to Spice, Barbie, T-Pain and Styles who without doubt made our holiday the best! You guys are awesome and a real credit to the Rui Montego Bay! We’ll definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
8  Thank Laura H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

The hotel itself was pretty standard. The the rooms left much to be desired from faulty furniture and fixings to poorly flushing toilets.
The restaurants and buffet were quite good for choices. However the timings were quite restrictive and with no room service, it was difficult to get food without going out which defeated the point of the all inclusive.
The pool and beach were nice.
The bar, restaurant and entertainment staff were brilliant.
The cleaning was below standard and on one occasion when I went to the kids club, the play areas and kids pool had not been been cleaned it appeared for at least a couple of days. The kids club also only accepted 4yr old and over without their parent/guardian.
On arrival, reception was poorly organised. We didn't receive appropriate rooms and had to be changed the next day. Our luggage also took a very long time to get to our rooms. The reception staff seemed to be overwhelmed and we were in line a long time before we even got the keys to our rooms. Which is not ideal after a long flight. For the price, I have been to better hotels in the area.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Denise,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your valued feedback placed online via TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

On the one hand, we greatly apologize for any delays you may have experienced upon arrival, but unfortunately, during high season the waiting time at check-in may be longer, but our staff works hard to keep it to a minimum and that room requests are always subject to availability; we cannot guarantee a specific kind of bed or view, however, you can ask for it when doing your reservation and if it is available our staff would be glad to grant your request. On a positive note, we are pleased you were offered a solution by our Front Desk.

On the other hand, as a service-oriented hotel chain which is proud of its highly trained employees, we deeply appreciate your wonderful remarks on our waiting & entertainment staff and please be assured that we never stop renovating our hotels, so we can offer the most up-to-date facilities.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews