We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value, but . . .”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Although this motel has good points (good price, apparently clean, good location, friendly staff), there was a suspicious musty smell that might have been mold. Those with respiratory issues might do well to stay away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramblingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presidioinn, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Since it has been since November that you stayed with us the issue of the musty smell can not be addressed. We do wish this would have been brought to the manager's attention upon your arrival so the problem could have been resolved. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    131
    67
    19
    17
See reviews for
91
63
55
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel is just okay overall. It's a good value and a good location.

The rooms are pretty small. I was alone with a king bed so it was okay. The bathroom is VERY small. The water pressure in the shower is awful. It does have a small fridge and microwave. Mine doesn't have a coffee machine but there is coffee in the lobby. The blanket on the bed is the worst fabric ever - not comfy or soft at all.

My room doesn't have a clock, which was odd for me. It's not a huge deal as my phone has an alarm; however, it's odd not to have one. But, the room was clean and totally suitable.

The location is convenient and there is a lot within walking distance. It's very close to UC Berkeley also.

I have to question how much remodeling really went on around here - doesn't look like much upgrading. I speculate that some crown molding and bathroom floor counts as "remodel."

But, overall it's fine for the price and I don't have any huge complaints. It served its purpose.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presidioinn, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We are pleased to hear that you found your room clean & "totally suitable" as well as the Berkeley Rodeway Inn a good value and location. We are sorry to hear the blanket on the bed was not comfy. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It's a very small motor inn that has been decently kept up. We had 4 people in a room (2 adults, 2 teenagers) and it was very crowded. The beds were full, not queens, and way too soft. Two people to a bed (and we're not large people) made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. The lobby is tiny (6 people is a crowd -- not kidding) and that's where the breakfast is served. Since it was drizzly outside the two picnic tables in the middle of the parking lot weren't an option. Breakfast was 3 different dry cereals, frozen french toast or waffles, apples, juice and coffee. The guy at the front counter never smiled or acted at all friendly. It is a short drive to campus and parking is free.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the Rodeway in Berkeley while attending a nursing education conference. It is an excellent value. The staff was pleasant and accommodating, the rooms clean and well kept (it was remodeled in 2007), comfortable, and quiet. Rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, great water pressure, the water tastes great. They also have a continental breakfast including yogurt (no eggs). The rooms and bath are a little small, but great anyway. And they have free internet!!!!! My rate (prepaid internet rate) was only $79/night after including taxes for a 2 queen non smoking room. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traceldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presidioinn, Manager at Berkeley Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
We are pleased that you found our staff pleasant and accommodating, and your room clean, comfortable and quiet during your 4 night stay at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn. Thank you for the wonderful review and hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I felt welcomed and after several stays, was recognized by the staff. The breakfasts are nice and internet was always avaialble and I felt safe there. It's also quiet!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stay here for a cheap, well located comfortable hotel in Berkeley

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnytft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at the Rodeway on seven different occasions between August and October 2011 and stayed in five different rooms during that period. My individual stays were from 3 to 4 nights each.
As others have noted the place is a good value for anyone wanting to stay in Berkeley for work or if you're visiting UC Berkeley. The rooms I stayed in were very good and varied little in quality/cleanliness and the beds seemed to all be decent and afforded me a good night's sleep. The staff was always helpful and attentive and I always felt personally secure and that my belongings were safe when I left the room for the day. The continental breakfast was average to very good (Starbucks coffee), although I always opted to carry my food back to the room because the little lobby sometimes filled up later in the morning.
I usually found a parking place in the parking lot, but on a couple of occasions after an eveing out I came back to a full lot. This was not a huge problem since there is plenty of on-street parking on University Ave that is free overnight until 9am.
I stayed at a couple of other comparable motels and I always gravitated back to the Rodeway because it fit my needs quite well.
I totally recommend this place for an economical (I always got the best deal through the Rodeway website), safe and clean place to stay in Berkeley.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms away from the street; they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oaklandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,246 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.4 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
771 reviews
1.2 km away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#16 of 20 in Berkeley
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Property: Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702-1508 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing