We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bbq food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Everett & Jones Barbecue
Ranked #152 of 793 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Soups
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

Everett Jones has the best barbecue food ever the tri-tip is really great also the barbecue ribs and briskets are good and he would try some hot links potato salad is pretty good customer service is really great there's a definite place to try if you like barbecue food this is definitely the place you need to go. I just love the smoker they have those built in the wall

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank krysheila99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2018

First of all, hard to find a clean table. The brisket was cut parallel to the grain of the meat and was mostly fat. The ribs were over cooked and too dry. The chicken drumstick was over cooked but the thigh was tasty. Someone else got to eat that. The staff said the 4 course meal was not enough for three people and we should order more food. The 4 course meal was enough for 3 people and we ordered more food unnecessarily. I will
never go back here

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

OK, this is how I remember BBQ when I was growing up. Before the culinary explosion began, as far as BBQ joints were concerned, there was just Everett & Jones and Flints. Flints is gone now but Everett & Jones is still kicking and serving up some good old school BBQ. They have a few locations sprinkled around the East Bay. This location has a homey ambience and it's fun to read all the funny phrases posted all over this diner style establishment.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank branewash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Brisket sandwich was finger licking good and the service was fast and pleasant. Didn't know anything about the place before I went in, it was simply close to my hotel, and I got a pleasant surprise

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ngjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Visiting Berkeley and walking around to see what restaurants are near our hotel....we hadn't actually planned on barbecue, but stopped here because it smelled so good....sweet-tangy-smoky aroma wafting onto the street. We were not disappointed, the brisket is superb, slow cooked, tender, and lean, with an absolutely fantastic bbq sauce. I have sampled bbq brisket in many establishments in New York, Nashville, and New Orleans, and Everett & Jones is better. I had the sandwich plate, so only one side which was potato salad-- nice and fresh, not too much mayo, and delicately flavored with a hint of dill. Note from the more adventurous members of my family: if you ask for your sauce to be spicy, it will be!

We had the opportunity to chat with Mary the owner and she is a delight, and seems to know many of the customers and neighbors. Introduce yourself if she's there, you'll have a new friend!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Regardez403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Everett & Jones Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Everett & Jones Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing