We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Downtown Berkeley Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$169
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkeley Rodeway Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
US$139
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
US$186
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
38
43
24
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
43
24
14
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 125 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Traveled up to the Bay area in Oct '07. Got a good deal so decided to stay for a couple of nights and used this place as a base to go to Oakland, SF, and Berkeley. The hotel is located a couple of blocks away from the downtown Berkeley BART station. It's right on a corner across from a school. Parking is on the premises but on the ground floor in a parking court. Building looked new and the reception is on the first floor at the front of the building and although it's small, it's easy to spot cause it was mostly glass.

The contemporary look on the exterior continued on the interior with splashes of color and chic furnishings. There was a nice big flat screen mounted on the wall in front of the king size bed. The bathroom was small but not tiny considering the corner room was quite large. All the linens and towels were clean and comfortable. Really only used this as a place to crash, but did get to watch a bit of TV in the morning and just relax for a couple of hours.

Considering the location and all the restaurants and even the movie theatre close-by, would definitely consider staying here again if I go back up to the Bay area.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, try to get a room facing the street and on the top floor. Sound from the parking court can be loud depending on the other guests.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Tried this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. Usually stay at the HI Express when in Berkeley, but wanted to be closer to downtown Berkeley. I don't know what I expected when a "boutique" hotel, turned out to be a painted over motel. Think 1950's three story motel with exterior hallways looking down on what was probably once a courtyard or pool, which is now a small cramped parking lot. You can park your car 1' from your door. I arrived late, and the tiny lobby was locked. All business was conducted through a slot in a window which faces the driveway. Odd! When you book online they require full payment in advance.

The room is small, with the sink & bathroom located by the front door. The decor looks like it was once attractive but of inferior quality, with various colors and knick knacks, but it's showing wear & tear. The bed was comfortable enough, sheets a little scratchy, but the two tiny little flat pillows were not a nice touch. The bathroom was clean however, but the grey carpet was well worn, with numerous stains. The room has a flat screen TV with Direct TV which was nice, but they have two remote controls...one for the TV one for Direct, and it can be a little confusing at first until you figure it out.

Having said that, the plus side would be that the room was only $89.00, and the parking (although limited) is free, which is a big plus in Berkeley. It's just a few blocks from the campus, hospital, shops and restaurants. Prior to arrival I had to make a reservation switch after the 24 hours deadline had passed, and the clerk was very nice and helpful in accomodating me.

The place isn't the Four Seasons to be sure, but for under $100 a night with free parking, it's a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingTGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Good price for a basic hotel. No frills, but very clean. Large TV on wall. Coffee maker, hair dryer.

My family of four shared a two queen room for just under $100 a night, including all taxes. A good deal. Cramped, but that was expected when we chose not to book two rooms. Certainly not the hotel's fault.

Location was great. Five minute walk to numerous restaurants, shops, bars, movie theaters, etc.

No view, no balcony, no morning breakfast included, but we knew this going in. It was a very clean, nice room for cheap, which was what we wanted. Free on site parking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Downtown Berkeley Inn works more like an improved motel than like a boutique hotel: no lounge, no bar, no restaurant, no breakfast on the premises, limited lobby amenities. Now you know the shortcomings you have to accept there. BUT, it's a great location to discover Berkeley on foot (while your car sits in the courtyard for free), 3 blocks from BART to go spend time in San Francisco, walking distance to dozens of cool restaurants, shopping stores for clothes, shoes, books, repertory cinemas, and any typical California paraphernalia. The vicinity is lively but safe. The staff goes a long way to try to oblige whatever requests. And, what seems paramount for a hotel, the rooms are clean, the beds comfy, bathrooms well-fitted, AC, TV and Wifi WORK good.
There are other places to stay in Berkeley that may be a few notches upper, but not in that price range, and not with such a strategic location. All in all, it's a very good choice.

Room Tip: If you're the kind to sleep in late in the morning, safer to ask for a room on the second or third floor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequent_dinerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed there during a conference and fellow colleagues stayed at Shattuck Plaza. We saved about 100/n. It's like a small motel, U-shaped, 3 levels, room access from outer walkways but the room decor was modern and fresh. Our stay was quiet and comfortable. Free parking and wifi. All the staff we dealt with we're very pleasant, & helpful. And the location is just off from Shattuck were all the action is. It's a short stroll to the Bart station which we used to get to SFO. Will return.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancityrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews