We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Room was impeccable, comfortable, very clean, stylish, and functional. Restaurant was terrific. Staff could not have been more well trained. It was a terrific experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloopy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Sloopy65,

Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you had such remarkable stay with us. We value all feedback and are always delighted to know when we were able to put it “all together”.

We look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you to the Bay Area.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    430
    129
    61
    27
See reviews for
304
291
125
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The location of this hotel is terrific as it is a couple of blocks from the BART station and walking distance to UC-Berkeley and many great restaurants. I requested a quiet room and got one--not with a great view but excellent sleep quality. The room was fine, although the bathroom was a bit odd, as it was spacious, but there was not enough surfaces to place your cosmetics on. There is a gym at the hotel that is nothing fancy but certainly enough for my purposes with a few stair-masters, weights etc. The weakest link to me were some (by no means all!) staff at the reception and the bar: it seemed at times to take for ever to get anything done or to order a drink at the bar. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but heard other guests complain that they thought it was pricey. Overall, there were more pluses than minuses in my stay, so could see myself staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allforservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I am currently staying at the Shattuck which has delighted me at every turn. The rooms are beautifully redone with top-notch fixtures in both the bedrooms and the baths. Some rooms can run small - when I asked for a larger room and if I could check out additional rooms, the staff was totally accomondating. Daily the staff has been both speedy and responsive to any request. The bar is beautiful, light and airy - Kevin makes his bar sparkle with his wit and efficiency. The restaurant makes some of best pork sliders I have ever had. The Bailey's Chocolate Cheescake with sea salt caramel dessert is mouthwatering and something to return for. There is a homeless issue in the neighborhood which does slightly burst the special ambiance which the hotel guests feel from the moment they enter the hotel. This hotel is a gem.

Room Tip: Request a room on floor 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PManze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadeloupe
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Despite the promise of city or hill views, we got a room with a view over the roof and the extractor fans, which were niether of interest nor particulary quiet! Room fittings very scruffy. Key cards failed very frequently, which meant frequent trips back to the reception desk. Two days to get coffee maker in the room, despite a 15 minute promise from the front desk. Staff at the front desk cold and not very helpful, like we were doing them a favour! Overated and costly. No, we will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I was staying in a single room at the Hotel Shattuck for an academic conference in June 2012. Check-in was smooth and the room very clean and spacious with windows on two sides of the building. I didn't use the tv but a welcome facility was the mp3 player.

I didn't eat at the hotel but the bar service was excellent and all the staff that I met were courteous and professional.

Location-wise the nearest BART is 50 metres up the road giving rapid access to the airport and to San Francisco. The hotel is in the centre of Berkeley so a short stroll to the university campus, shops, bars (I recommend Jupiter on Shattuck for good beer and pizza) etc. Those looking for a bit of exercise can get up into the hills for a jog/hike.

Berkeley has a laid-back feel with a smattering of 'colourful' characters. Some people complained about the noise from the locals in the night but I was too bushed to notice it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffLevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I haven't been to this hotel since the 90's. It has been turned into a very nice boutique hotel. The first night I hardly slept with street noise since I'm a light sleeper. The staff was happy to accommodate me and moved me to an inside room. The card security system helped alleviate any concerns about the neighborhood. The room was pleasant and current. Basic internet is free. Definitely a major change from the old hotel!

Room Tip: If noise is a concern, ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbgDenver_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Oregon
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Nice, comfortable, quiet. Ideal location, yards away from BART. Staff was attentive to our needs. When I discovered that I had left two shirts behind, my wife called and they mailed them to us the next day. Will stay here for my next trip to Berkeley.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghotai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
2.5 km away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.0 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
770 reviews
4.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
256 reviews
1.2 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#11 of 20 in Berkeley
374 reviews
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Property: Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1430
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing